We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
354
293
144
70
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
293
144
70
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewchesapeake baybeach accesssmall kitchenfull kitchenclean roomsfamily vacationwould stay here againva beachthe breakfast areafree breakfaststaff was very friendly and helpfulgreat roomone night staynice staynorfolk areabalcony
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. It is extremely convenient to Norfolk and Virginia Beach and has a great beach of its own. My daughter lives a short drive away. On this trip the room I was given (222) had a very musty, stale cigarette smell. Also the controls on the HVAC were broken and it was hard to set them to either heating or cooling since the knobs did not match any of the control settings. This must have been known by the cleaning staff and obviously was either not reported or ignored. I gave this hotel a much better review last time. So a 50/50 chance of getting a good room so far.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We are sorry to hear that your stay this time was not as enjoyable as the last time. We are currently in the process of replacing the in room heating and cooling units, and hope you will give us another change to meet your lodging needs next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the cleaning crew. Very nice and helpful. The view was great. The beds are very comfortable and the shower has good pressure. Carpet could use updating but very pleased. Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tameka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHSIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. The staff here takes great pride in not only making sure the rooms and property looks it's best inside and out, but also making sure each and every one of our guest feel like they are at home and part of our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The front desk staff gave excellent Customer Service and even recommended a great near by dinner spot called Captain Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar. (I loved the she crab soup and steamed clams) We upgraded our room to a third floor ocean view which was definitely worth it. The sunrise was beautiful and we saw dolphins playing in the distance from our balcony. The breakfast was tasty and afterwards we took a walk on the beach and lounged on the well maintained patio to relax in the sun. The hotel was perfect for a quiet weekend get away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Camarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHSIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are glad to hear that you have had TWO enjoyable stays with us this year. While all of our rooms are nice, I do agree that getting up in the morning and being able to look out over the bay from one of our private balcony rooms and possibly catching a glimpse of dolphins playing nearby is a real added bonus, and who would not love a walk on the beach after a hearty breakfast. I am glad to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs, and “Groovie's” is definitely one of the local favorites in our area, next time you are with us, the desk staff will be more than happy to point out several other local favorites as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The staff was very friendly and the location is great. The room smelled kind of musty but other than that no complaints. Great value and the breakfast was very good. Nice private beach. For sure a great place for families on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank jakeduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHSIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay with us, we are glad to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay, and would like to apologize for the room having a musty smell. Our house keeping staff does take great pride in making sure all of our rooms are clean and fresh, sometimes room expectations are not exceeded. We always urge all of our guests that if our rooms do not meet their expectations to let us know immediately and we will do everything in our power to correct the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely room, top quality staff, clean pool, clean beach. Breakfast was always nice, room service was quick and efficient. Would definitely recommend and stay again! Loved how every morning the staff would really shine the exterior up and everyone smiled and said good morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHSIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff not only take great pride in the property's appearance inside and out, but they also take great pride in making all of our guest feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews