We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henrico, United States
1 review
“Great get away”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were there just for one night & room was very clean. We had everything we needed. If staying more than one night & your are a coffee drinker bring your own coffee pot. The coffee pot that is in room only makes one cup at a time & when there's more than one person drinking coffee you need bigger pot. Other than that this hotel was great! Plenty of towels, great breakfast & good price for the size of the room. We had extra bedroom wish was nice not to be in same room with others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. For many hotels now, single serve coffee makers, and K-cup coffee makers have become the standard, but for die hard coffee drinkers, rest assure that our lobby always has fresh coffee available to our guests 24 hours a day, and if even one of our guests do not think it is fresh or hot to their liking, we do not hesitate to make a new pot and have it ready in minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    258
    122
    65
    52
See reviews for
377
187
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 October 2013

When staying at this hotel, it was nice to be able to get a balcony ocean view room, but for the price of $160.00 for off season was a bit high being that the bathrooms was small and the breakfast was not at all a good selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. While the end of September/beginning of October is not as busy as mid-July or August, we are not yet into our slow season. In our area, due to different events and festivals that draw large crowds in the fall, our off-season does not begin until late October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I are in the process of moving to the area so we needed a place to stay while house hunting. We have our two cats with us, so my husband informed the woman at the front desk (Michelle) at check-in about the cats. We paid the pet deposit and signed the appropriate paperwork, but the next day Michelle called our room and informed my husband that we would have to leave the hotel because someone saw a cat in our window and they don't allow cats. When my husband told her that just the day before she had said our cats were okay to stay there, she told him that he had said we had dogs not cats and basically accused him of lying! He even had "cat" written down on the paperwork for our pets! My husband informed her that he had written cat on the paperwork but even after seeing that he was telling the truth, still insisted at some point he had said we had dogs. Michelle then said she was getting the general manager (Chad) and would call my husband when he got there. After waiting almost three hours for the manager to get to the hotel, Chad didn't even talk to my husband in person and only called our room phone! We waited all that time just to get a phone call. He was also rude to my husband and didn't even apologize for any of the inconviences or the fact that my husband had been called a liar. We did get told we could stay there for our second night of our reservation but we chose not to. Instead we went to a completely pet friendly hotel. It's a shame because the room was nice and it was a wonderful location. But the staff need to learn how to treat their customers. I was very disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhendew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I am disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, however hotel policies must be upheld so that all guest whether first time, or dedicated repeat guest all have an enjoyable stay. Although we are a pet friendly hotel, like a lot of pet friendly hotels, we only accept dogs, and they are limited to certain rooms on the property so people with pet allergies can have as an enjoyable stay as the people traveling with their four legged canine companions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst Va
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This a very good hotel for the money. As we have stayed there many times before because of the price and most of all because of the staff. The view is very nice and the beds are great. We always get a great nights sleep. Breakfast is not the best is just ok. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I am so happy to hear that you have come back and have had yet another Great Stay with us. It's great to hear that my staff is one of the reasons that you keep coming back, they do take great pride in treating our guests like family and trying to make them feel at home. Breakfast can sometimes be a challenge, while we are always trying new products to see what will knock people's socks off, we also love suggestions from our guests from what they would like to see us try on our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nv4i73
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites...it is right on the beach and was a very enjoyable place to stay. Very nice suite with plenty of room, 2 flat panel tv's...a comfortable king size bed and a pretty good complementary breakfast. The only complaint was the very weak wfi signal...it was really horrible just about unusable. If you are going to offer wifi make it where you can actually use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nv4i73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I am so glad to hear that you have had not one but two enjoyable stays with us. Maintaining a strong WIFI signal is sometimes a tricky thing to for a concrete building like ours, but we are researching different options such as power boosters, repeaters, and even more router points to help strengthen the WIFI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. It is extremely convenient to Norfolk and Virginia Beach and has a great beach of its own. My daughter lives a short drive away. On this trip the room I was given (222) had a very musty, stale cigarette smell. Also the controls on the HVAC were broken and it was hard to set them to either heating or cooling since the knobs did not match any of the control settings. This must have been known by the cleaning staff and obviously was either not reported or ignored. I gave this hotel a much better review last time. So a 50/50 chance of getting a good room so far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay this time was not as enjoyable as the last time. We are currently in the process of replacing the in room heating and cooling units, and hope you will give us another change to meet your lodging needs next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the cleaning crew. Very nice and helpful. The view was great. The beds are very comfortable and the shower has good pressure. Carpet could use updating but very pleased. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tameka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHSIS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. The staff here takes great pride in not only making sure the rooms and property looks it's best inside and out, but also making sure each and every one of our guest feel like they are at home and part of our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing