We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean/quiet/updated suite!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
MO
1 review
“Clean/quiet/updated suite!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Enjoyed our stay at the motel....very nice checkin and out experience....clean and comfortable suite....would stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    258
    122
    65
    52
See reviews for
377
187
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We arrived the day after a storm had visited the hotel, so the carpet in the room was wet, because water had found it's way in through the A/C unit. Besides that the room was clean and spacious. The view from our window was breathtaking. We looked directly on the ocean. The staff was really nice and friendly. The breakfast was something else. The supplies for the breakfast hadn't arrived due to the storm, so the staff had brought food from thier home to the hotel. And the breakfast was really great. The location of the hotel is perfect. We got up in the morning had breakfast and walked onto the beach and in the ocean. What more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Our experience was unique- the room was very clean we had a suite & the service was great. However when we got there we notice the guest hanging out in front of the rooms.

Their was one room that had there curtain & door open where you can see maybe 7 males with bandanas & a beer in there hand talking loud as well as partying.

We had left for the night & return to cops & a fight on the stairs of the hotel. Not to mention the broken beer bottles on the stairs. I hesitated to leave but it was 2am and I was exhausted. I asked the police man if it was safe? He said everything is okay we are good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler125Pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOORESVILLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This place was part of the wedding info as places to stay. We called the hotel and we had our room. Our room was ready , fresh and clean. The place is clean and a fresh REDO and nice. Our party had 4 or 5 rooms and all of us are happy with everything.
Breakfast was great and the gal takes care of the place.
I stay in hotels all over the USA and for the money you spend the Value you get is GREAT.
We had a great time here and the people are great too.
Fun Peaceful and relaxing with a view and a beach and a pool.
I will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INDY_JACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I was quite impressed with the quality of this hotel, especially for the price. The location on the beach is great, and the location is decent. There's probably 4 7-11s within walking distance :) There are two restaurants just down the street called Mick's (one's a pancake house I believe, not sure what the other was). Rooms were just remodeled a year or 2 ago. Room was very clean. Unfortunately I didn't get a balcony, just a window looking onto the beach. There are rooms with balconies, I'm not sure what price level those are or if it just depends on whether you're lucky. I didn't see any information about the free breakfast when I got there, but I didn't ask either. I did have problems with the wireless internet connection, couldn't connect from my room (only once for a few minutes), and the wired connection didn't work either. I heard other complaints about this also, but apparently outside the rooms it worked better (I didn't try). I had no problem with parking, there's two parking lots and apparently an overflow/RV lot across the street that's grass. If you want to stay near the Norfolk area on a budget, this is a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottcp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The inside and outside of the hotel decor was horrible. Our room smelt musty all the time. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is so loud that you sound like you are in a wind tunnel. The air conditioner leaked on the rug everyday and nothing was done about it even after it was reported. You can hear everything that goes on in other rooms, we coud hear what our neighbors were watching on TV. We went to eat in the room where the continetal breakfast is held and you couldn't even eat your food because there were flies all over the room landing on the food, (how appetizing is that?). Being on the beach is beautiful, but that does not make up for the rest of what this hotel is lacking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationer015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

don't stay here. my son is in the Navy, we visited him from Ohio. made reservations with a confirmation #. this was not honored. we paid for ocean front and got stuck in a very small room. when we arrived in our room the room had not been cleaned with dirty towels and wash-rags in bathroom and a unmade bed. what a terrible disappointment. there is no good parking unless you want to park on the oher side of the street in a unpaved-ungraveled parking lot. save your money and pride-don't stay in this dump.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navyarmymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing