We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Where Do I Start!I was there for a family reunion and I wasn't happy about the hotel.The location isn't all that good at all. When you first came in the lobby was beautiful.I had used a charged card and they didn't let me know that they would be taken money out till you checked out.The pool was the most nasty thing i saw.The water was green and smelled nasty like it haven't been cleaned out in years.The rooms wasn't like on the website.The beds was very hard,the TV wasn't all that good it would go in and out.The room smelled so musty that I had to keep spraying.When I first saw about they accepted animals I had called and the people told me that the animals are in a different area well that was a LIE a dog a came out the room.Also it was Hot everywhere in that hotel but inside the rooms.I wouldn't come back to this Hotel there are to many problems that need to get fix.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLov3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    95
    64
    82
    65
See reviews for
152
71
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I don't know where to start. I should have gone with my gut on this but did not. One elevator worked out of 4, I would have walked it, but it was 10 floors up with luggage. The lounge was okay, one sserver/bartender so service was slow. Not sure as to why kids are allowed in the bar. My son slipped down the stairs outside and being a safety hazard I told the person at the desk, and received a "yea right" thype answer, then I showed his bruised armed with abrasions. Oh well their lawsuit when an older person falls down. At the same time a lady who appeared to be higher up the archy just stood there looking at her emails. Pool looked pretty gross and was out of commission. Do not plan to stay again even though I will be thre often as my son will be going to school in Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANNETTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. As the new General Manager of the hotel, we are working to improve the facilities in several areas. Though our pool is out of service at this time, we are working on repairs to try to have it open before the end of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The customer service was above average. They were concerned about our comfort and demonstrated that by replacing our room with a free upgrade and refunding a portion of the hotel fee. We had a loud continuous dripping sound coming from the air conditioning unit above us. The hotel's décor was very nice and felt elegant as you walked in. There was also a fitness and business center available. Unfortunately the hotel's pool was not open due to a malfunctioning water pump. To compensate us, they waived the $10 per night parking fee (but to be honest- they should not be charging the parking fee for a lot that is neither covered or under surveillance). The treadmills in the fitness center were not functioning. They have nice Sleep Number beds but some of them did not work :( Overall they still have some work to do to get the hotel up to par with what it could be, but it was a nice stay!

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate all of our guests and fare always looking for ways to improve. I will relay the good comments about our staff directly to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

12 floors of motor lodge
One elevator out of 4 operational for guests. Two elevators out of 4 reserved for staff and housekeeping, One simply non-operational. Rear Stairs under repair. Sidewalk approach to front lobby needing repair. Pool Out of Commission. Doors don't close properly in room, had to slam closed. Nothing to stop door from damaging wall (wall was damaged in my room) when opening door. Drawers in furniture tend to stay open, probably because they are not level. `Toilets flush poorly, having to hold lever until water eventually drains. Very limited and expensive menu from in house dining. No Curio/Souvenir shop in lobby area. Rate this one a 1 STAR...Advertised complimentary parking (as long as you are willing to pay $10 a night.) Friendly staff, but terrible management and dilapidated facilities. Avoid. Super 8 and Motel 6 have this one beat.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 2nd floor have terribly wi-fi connectivity. With only One elevator, first floor is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. As the newly appointed General Manger of the hotel, we are taking strides to improve all of the issues you have listed. There is one elevator door in our hotel that does not have an elevator associated with it, but is still visible for symmetry. We have two elevators for guests and only one for our staff to use. As for the comments about our staff being friendly, I wish to thank you, we are very proud of how our staff helps guests and we are elated that we have put together such a friendly staff. As far as your room, I would love for you to contact me directly and let me know what room you were in so I can have all of the issues you described corrected to avoid having any other guest have to deal with these same issues.

Again, Thank you so much for your feed back, I would love to have you contact me directly so I can assure you that the issues you had in with your stay are not the norm for this hotel and we are doing as much as possible to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I traveled to Norfolk for our annual Family reunion.( Torry) i was so excited about the trip. We were there 2 nights. The whole weekend there was only 1 elevator working out of 4. There was no ac in the lobby, elevator or areas where you could sit and socialize. The pool was out of order as well. Being there for a reunion of course we had lots of children in need of a place to blow off some energy. We were not told that the pool was inoperable. I know things happen in this industry because i was a GM of a hotel before, but that pool had been out for some time because there were not chairs around it and the bottom of the pool is one big black stain. We should have ben informed of this. The sleep number beds in my room did not work, so disappointed in that as well. The first night there was a loud party on one side of me that lasted until about 3am and on the other side a crazy man slamming his door open and close to get on our nerves. The one good thing that i can say is that the staff that i did come in contact with where very nice and friendly. Sheena at the front desk, Eugene in security, and Charles. Not sure what department he worked in but he helped us with things we needed fir our hospitality room on Friday night and he was in the breakfast room each morning. There was also another guy that kept checking on us Friday night but I did not get his name. I think that the GM has a great staff but he needs to get on the ball with repairs. I would like a response from the GM on this. I was in room 1202 the weekend of June 29th

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel.

As far as your individual concerns over the weekend with the hotel, there are several issues that our staff could not deal with such as the area loosing power on Friday several times that did cause power surges and outages in the area that caused one of our elevators to go out at the end of the weekend. The additional two elevator doors that you see from our elevator lobbies are our freight and service elevators.
We did see a large group of your family reunion people enjoying the lobby and with external doors and people coming in and out, the temperature did spike up in the lobby. That is the reason we opened our small meeting room off the lobby up to your family on Saturday at no charge so you could be cooler.
Unfortunately, our pool is out of order at this time. A pipe has ruptured underground and until that can be replaced we are unable to open the pool for health code reasons. We did contact the head of your group prior to anyone from your group checking in to see if we could do anything for your group to make up for the lack of a pool and we were told that they had activities already planned without the pool.
Overall, I do hope you still enjoyed your weekend with us and we would love to host your family here again and thank you again for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

It started with our reservation. We needed to make a nine hour trip the next day to visit a relative at Sentara Hospital. Patricia asked the right questions regarding our reservation and gave us a great rate. Upon arrival, Xander and Yolanda suggested they would add a day to our reservation just in case our relative was not out of ICU. We ended up needing that extra day. They also printed directions to the hospital as well as to the nearest grocery store. Michael has a great crew at the Black Tuna Grill. Sean and Niyma provided great service. They were friendly and professional making a stressful time, for us, less stressful. Great location. The Norfolk Plaza is only about a mile and a half from Sentara Hospital. Too bad there is no plan to open the pool this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently had a family event at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel with 40+ guests. This event was planned in stages. First was booking the rooms. LynLy, one of the hotel managers made this process for all of us pleasant and simple. She handled each reservation with professionalism and was able to accomodate special needs of a few guests. Angelo, the Director of Catering helped plan the party. He was great to work with and took care of even the smallest of details that I would not have thought of without his input and guidance. He made the planning process an enjoyable experience. There were a few minor issues upon check-in with 2 guests. Once brought to the attention of the night manager, Zander, he immediately remedied the situation. He was extremely accomodating and professional. The rooms were updated, clean and comfortable. We hosted a special party and the meal was prepared by Chef Charles and his staff. The food was delicious and rivaled some of the areas top restaurants.. The room set up and presentation was impeccable thanks to the catering staff , especially Michael. He catered to our every need during the event.
I have heard comments, both good and not so good, about this hotel in the past, but from my recent experience, I would not hesitate to stay and/or host additional events at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. Not only do you get the personal attention many major chains lack, the hotel offers many of the same amenities as the large chains and the staff are definitely there to provide exceptional customer service. I was told that the hotel recently added a new General Manager. It was very obvious that the new General Manager, Larry is the force behind many of the recent improvements and upgrades. Thank you to the entire staff for a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
154 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Property: Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Address: 700 Monticello Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-2517 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2008 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). Our rooms are newly furnished with refrigerators and microwaves in every room! We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us or if you have already stayed with our property, we invite you to tell us about your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing