We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures do NOT tell one thousand words”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 6 nights and it was not what I saw online. Walls had viable holes, outlets hanging off walls which prevented me from using the clock. The halls and elevators looked like they haven't been vacuumed in days. The sleep number beds were broken. The restaurant inside the hotel was awful. The staff was okay but limited. Overall, I would not stay ever again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

A Wonderful experience for my husband and I and our three kids:) the staff was very helpful and courteous! All special requests were met and in a timely manner. The suite was very spacious with a good size kitchenette. Thanks so much for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler0987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Customer service is horrible. The booking mistake that they made was a great inconvenience. They were unwilling to even fix the mistake let alone offer any other suggestion. The woman at the front desk was very sarcastic and unhelpful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Badu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. I have sent you a message on here so that I get get more information about your stay. Please contact me so I can resolve the issue you had and ensure that the same issue does not happen to other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel suited our needs while we looked around Norfolk. Some minor issues with our room which were rectified by staff upon our request. Rooms were comfortable and staff were friendly. Wouldn't want to stay there for more than two nights, due to lack of amenities and things to do.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank KurtG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this dump over the weekend while attending the jazz festival and all I can say is you're better off staying at Motel 6. First of all I love the view of public housing it was so scenic...not! The iron did not work so I called the front desk to request another one and they said they would send on right away.....30 minutes later when it arrived by someone blasting rap music thru her headphones, I just shook my head. Saturday the ice machines on all floors were broken. How? The only working one was in the lobby but the main thing was flushing the toilet. I had to fill the waste container with water to do so...I'm not lying and I called the front desk to complain and Charles reply was he had to speak to his Manager which was a run around. Let me give you some advice, do not do not stay here and shame on Booking.Com for listing this dump. Stay away from room 916!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza. We have taken efforts to ensure that other guests will not have to deal with the issues that you had during your stay.

I hope that you will give us another try. In the future, if you contact me directly, I will ensure that your stay will be beyond your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel for the Jazz Festival this weekend. I have to take my hat off to them. We really had an enjoyable stay. The lobby and the decor were great, and rooms very pleasant. The hotel location was ideal, because it was close to everything we needed (Food, Drinks, and the festival. however what really made it a great stay was the Front Desk staff, and housekeeping. They made you feel very welcomed, and made you feel like they truly appreciated your business. They met the needs of our special request, and even made my brother honorary guest of the day. They printed up a plaque for him at the front desk, gave him a really nice room with a card and gift bag. Housekeeping made the towels into swans kissing on the bed. Housekeeping was always nearby to take care of any concerns we had. To top it off we got the room at a really great price. Matter of fact we're going to VA Beach in a few weeks, and plan to stay here for the better price.
Now there were “some” cons so I wouldn’t call this a 5 star hotel, but at least for us the Staff made it easy to overlook the small things.
Over all great place to stay!

Cynthia Pegram

Room Tip: Room on the front side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Parker O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NP2, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Ms. Pegram,

I am happy to hear that your stay at the Norfolk Plaza was an enjoyable one. I sincerely hope that you will be staying with us again, when in Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel for a family reunion gathering. When I arrived they told me that they didn't have me down for a reserved room. My wife had made the reservation about two months before we arrived. So I then asked if I could get a room. They quoted $50 more than the reservation price. I told them that I was with the family reunion and could I get the family price they told me no. So I just stayed in my dad's room. The air conditioner didn't work, they sent a maintenance man and he flipped a breaker. The air conditioner kept shutting down, I flipped the breaker again and again. Finally it shut down permanently, hot the entire night. Moved to another room the next night, a little better but the room was dated small tv I think a 19 or 20 inch tv. Full sides bed with air queen mattress, didn't work. So many things wrong. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone $109.99 a night very disappointed. WILLIAM Jr

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_NP2, Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Norfolk Plaza hotel was not enjoyable. Staff in Front Desk, maintenance and housekeeping have been made aware of the issues faced by you during your stay and are working diligently to make sure that such issues are not repeated again.

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely apologize for the issues faced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Address: 700 Monticello Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-2517 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2010 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Chrysler Hall and Norfolk Scope Arena are across the street and walking distance! We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). All of our rooms are furnished with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and complimentary Wi-fi. Enjoy our outdoor seasonal pool, fitness center and convenient business/charging station as well. We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing