We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent location close to airport, eating places, zoo, convenient to interstate, downtown Norfolk. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable. Free shuttle to light rail is a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Greetings Mel F.

Thanks so much for your recent review of our property! We pride ourselves on being close to what you need, but far away enough to let you relax.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Pros: The location of the hotel is great. Close to various restaurants and plenty of shopping. Also it was a fairly short distance to the popular attractions, i.e. beach, zoo, etc. The hotel was clean, although the shower in one of the rooms look dated.

Cons:
AC seemed to have a mind of its own, temp seemed to creep up overnight and I had to keep getting up to turn it down.

Breakfast was not what I expected. I stayed at another Holiday inn express in May of this year and the breakfast was great. This place... not so much. No waffles,no bacon, sausage. They served precooked omelets, cinnamon rolls, sausage gravy, biscuits, and fruit. They did have yogurt and instant oatmeal/grits and coffee. Not the best , but it was free.

When I arrived I found that the door on my room would not lock . If the dead bolt was not on, you could just push on the door and it would open, no key card needed. I reported this to the front desk. They sent the maintenance guy, but he could not fix the door. I had a double queen suite, with a pull out couch in living area. I was asked to move to a king suite, which had only 1 king bed and a pull out sofa, no bathtub for 4 small children...I had to request a cot to make sure we all had a place to sleep. (3 adults, 4 children). The room was very crowded with a cot in the middle of the floor., but at 11 pm we did not have a lot of options, as they were sold out. The next morning I asked to be moved back to a double suite. I was told that they had a room available. Long story short, went to the room, and it was still occupied. We did finally get another double suite later that morning after the rooms were cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hello T M,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are sorry that our breakfast is now what you had expected. I am also sorry to hear that you were moved into a room that did not exactly meet the needs of your family and that the engineer was unable to fix the door on your original room. I will make sure that this is addressed and looked into further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have chosen this hotel because of the excellent review published in booking.com. True enough the hotel is great and the staff service is excellent. It is very near to many restaurants and supermarket. The hotel offers free shuttle to many close places most especially to the light rail transit which will take you downtown. will definitely stay here again when I go back to Norfolk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeddahNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hello!

Thank you for that stellar review of our property and we are pleased that you found our location, amenities, and additional services to be useful while staying with us!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I read that the hotel is 4 years old. You wouldn't know it. Very attractive décor, and everything was sparkling clean. One of the nicest reasonably priced hotels we have stayed in. The suite arrangement made for a very comfortable stay. Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi, all pluses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hello Traveler!

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our property. It is our goal to provide you with the best experience possible when staying with us, as we are pleased to know that was done.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for a month for a business trip. There are many restaurants within walking distance or the van will take you if you dont feel like crossing the busy road. Walgreens in the same parking lot, and Food Lion and Target next door.
The van will also take you to the light rail station about 10 minutes from the hotel.
The rooms were okay, but I would not call them suites. They include a microwave and fridge, which is wonderful to have for extended stay. I did have a whirlpoool jacuzzi in my room.
The business center needs new equipment.
The pool was clean, but the patio could use a bit of decor.
The entire staff was pleasant and helpful.
All in all I was happy with the hotel for a 30 day stay, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodCaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Greeting Traveler!

Thank you so much for your review of the property! We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with our hotel. I am sorry that you didn’t get to experience one of our suites as it seems that you were in the Whirlpool room during your entire stay, which is different from our standard 2 room suites. Next time you are in the area, please let us know so you can experience the true “suites” experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Outward appearance was clean and neat. But that is where the similarities to a real Holiday Inn Express ended. I am paid to notice detail in my job, I do the same at the hotels I stay at. Below is what I found, in no particular order. Date of visit was August 6-8-2013.
1. Weight Scale was broken in Exercise Room
2. No sanitary solution to wipe down equipment in Exercise Room.
3. No coffee was available at 11:00 am. Had to wait until 12:00 pm
4. Regular Express breakfast last till 10:00, this place is 9:30 am.
5. The breakfast attendant was rude and did not have his shirt tucked in. Sloppy appearance
6. The food at breakfast were biscuits wrapped up in plastic. They looked like someone made them at home and brought them to work.
7. The sweet rolls were cut into quarters for some reason. Must have bought big ones and wanted to make appear to be smaller?
8. The breakfast appeared to outsourced or something.
9. Was presented with no Platinum gift at check in.
10. The printer in the business center was broken. Both days I was there.
11. TV reception was in and out. TV's keep freezing up for several seconds at a time.
12. No newspaper was delivered to room
13. The bill was not delivered to room as with real HI Express
14. The TV in the exercise room had a big black spot in it the size of a basketball.
15. The back door sign said door was locked at 11:00 pm. Was locked at 10:00 pm when I returned with arm full of groceries.

This is not a Holiday Inn Express. I hope HI takes a look at the facility soon. It may not be a bad hotel for the area, but it is not a HI Express. Save your 130$ or more and stay somewhere else until you don't mind the above. I t

Room Tip: It has a pool for the kids, children would not notice any of the things that I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FREQUENTFLYER12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Greeting Traveler,
Thank you so much for your detailed list of items that were not up to your standards and wanted to address them, as we pride ourselves as being the Top Hoilday Inn Property in Norfolk.

1. The weight scale issue has been reported to Engineering for follow up.
2. No solution being available has been reported to Housekeeping for follow up.
3. Coffee all day is not a brand requirement with Holiday Inn Express. Coffee is only required to be served during the breakfast hours, and anytime after that is at the hotel’s discretion.
4. Regular Express breakfast hours are Monday-Friday 6:00am-9:30am, Saturday-Sunday 7am-10am, per brand standards. If the breakfast was shut down early, please let us know so we can address that with the Supervisor.
5. Your assessment of the Supervisor being rude has been addressed.
6. Biscuits wrapped in plastic are for sanitary reasons and to keep them from getting hard under the heat lamps. The biscuits are made in the kitchen at the hotel.
7. You are correct about the cinnamon rolls, they were cut into quarters because they were so big and to prevent waste as their original size is often times too much for one person to eat and gets discarded. It is our way of assisting to eliminate as much food waste as possible.
8. Not sure what this issue is in regards to exactly.
9. Platinum members are to receive water and a cookie at check in. We apologize that this did not happen, and it has been brought to the Front Desk Manager’s attention.
10. The printer in the business center has been down for a few days while we await a repair piece. A note was placed on the printer stating it was Out of Order, however, it would appear that note was removed.
11. The TV issue your experienced has been reported to the cable provider.
12. News papers are not delivered to the room, they are available at the Front Desk.
13. The bills are not delivered to the room as the bottom of the doors are flush with the floor, so the bills can’t be slid under. For security and your safety, the bills are kept at the Front Desk to prevent an individual from getting your information.
14. The TV in the work out room has been looked at and no spot was found.
15. All doors to the hotel, with the exception of the front door, are locked at all times and require a key to access the hotel. This is for the security of the guest and the hotel.

It is our hope that you reported these issue while on property to the proper management so that an attempt to fix and explain would be made. As an experienced traveler, we know that staying in a hotel is what you know and appreciate your feedback. Hopefully, the above responses can assist in giving you a better idea of our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and invite any more suggestions/concerns that you may have.

Lewis Tedesco
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were just at this Hotel for a cheer competition. Being that our daughter is a competitive cheerleader - we have stayed in many hotels over the years. By far - this is the nicest and cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When our cheerleaders came back with 1st thru 4th place wins at Nationals - they let us have a ice cream social right in the breakfast area and even let us use the big screen tv so the girls could see the video of the competition! They are doing a great job and if Nationals are ever hosted in Virginia again - we will be sure to stay there!! Fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello Traveler!

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
4.6 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Address: 1157 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-2434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing