We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHTMARE FROM H!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Norfolk
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE FROM H!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I had a recent stay at motel 6 norfolk,va #1076. Oh my god was it a nightmare. What ever you do do'nt stay there if you don't have too please. Fisrt I had a reservation and requested a ground floor room due to my health didn't get that ok. went in to the room it smelled like bodies, the tub was a hot mess something was around the drain that was hard hair in the tub, carpet was stained so bad I made sure not to walk around without any shoes, some of the towels had bad stains good thing i always carry my own towels with me when I travel. THE DOOR TO THE ROOM DID NOT CLOSE ALL THE WAY YOU COULD SEE THE OUTSIDE. I HAD TO PUT A CHAIR UP TO THE DOOR TO FEEL SAFE. I didn't get any sleep at all had to keep spraying anything I had for the room to smell better. OH MY GOD THE SMELL! I was told that I could not change rooms because they were sold out really. This dump had the never to be sold out. They should be a shame to have the name motel 6. 1 person check you in and the lobby was pack.
DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF
STAY SOME WHERE ELSE PAY THE EXTRA MONEY IF YOU HAVE TOO!
DON'T DO IT!
They had the nerve to give me half back.
I SHOULD HAVE GOT ALL MY MONEY BACK NOT HALF.
I informed the clerk at the front desk at check out about all the problems and she looked at me as to say and so ok!
Really again don't stay there if you don't have too or you will be sorry you did like me.
I WILL NEVER NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bealleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear bealleyne - We sincerely apologize for the odor, room conditions and service issues you encountered during your recent stay. These issues are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    5
    12
    30
See reviews for
25
6
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When I got to the motel the lobby had a lot of people trying to check in and check out. They only had one person at the front desk. When I got to my room it smelled like smoke and musk. The carpet was dirty the comforter on the bed was dirty the kitchen floor was dirty the room had dead bugs all over the room including the bathroom. The bath tub was dirty. I would not recommend this motel to anyone until it is total cleaned up. The Health Department need to pay this motel a visit.

Room Tip: Choose another motel not motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeym1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear mickeym1968 - Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The cleanliness, odor and pest issues you encountered are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

If I could I would smack my husband for booking this room, I could care less if it is one night. The room smells like someone peed on the carpet, it is musty and the bed is gross. It looks like either or all, someone gave birth on the bed, got murder on the bed or forgot to wear a pad or tampon to bed. Last time I check that is a health issue, how about you throw away the mattress and buy a new one. I am going to take a chance and sleep in my car tonight, at least I know my seat is clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil2eo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel Six N, Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
I apologize that your last visit was not enjoyable. We have renovated all the rooms here at Motel 6 Norfolk and hope that you will return for another stay to show you how we have improved.
Call us at 757-461-2380 to make your reservation.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I had to call for a taxi 3 times before being picked up to go here. On the way the driver mentions that he never takes jobs in this area, this should have been enough to ward me off because the rest of my stay at motel 6 was generally awful. I walked down the street to get food. It wasn't bad but on the way back the creeps were out. I stopped in the gas station to find a transvestite and the area just did not feel safe. I considered checking out in the morning after 1 night instead of spending both nights here. I already planned to stop for sheets as I did not feel safe with the ones already on my bed.

I stopped at the front desk and as I gazed from the floor up I thought the woman in front of me had disgustingly tight spandex on but as my gaze continued up I had to double take as I realized she was only wearing a too small unzipped zip up hoodie. Needless to say there wasn't much I couldn't see. I asked if she was okay and if she needed help. She told me and the desk clerk (who btw was behind what resembled a bank teller window with bullet proof glass) that she and her bf had a fight and he kicked her out. She then requested that I go to her room and get her clothes for her. I abruptly refused and luckily the police were already there. I got my sheets and left. I later called the front desk to ask if the lady was helped which I was told she was and the I notified the front desk lady I would be checking out early.

The lady at the desk was very nice but this area is not a place anyone wants to be.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel Six N, Manager at Motel 6 Norfolk, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
I apologize that your previous experience was not pleasant. Motel 6 Norfolk has renovated all the rooms. Please come back and let us make your next experience better than the last.
Give us a call at 757-461-2380 to make your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

First of all. Police in parking lot when we arrived. Checked in. Front desk very nice. Got to room. Wow. Room oder so bad my youngest had difficult time breathing. Afraid to leave door open. Looked like drug dealers looking to make sales. Next no toilet paper or towels. Went to front desk for both. Half roll of toilet paper and 2 hand towels for 4 people. Really. They were just out of towels. Come back later they said. I was not willing to risk my life for towels. Didn't see bugs. But I have my suspicions. Is short. THIS PLACE NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vschandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was cheap and basic; at times, less than basic. It was right after the Fourth of July, so the staff was stressed. Front desk crew was polite, but as for the maid service, we never got any for the two nights we were there, and we had to ask for towels. We checked for bed bugs, found none (maybe because the mattresses were covered in plastic?) Not dirty, but not the cleanest place I've stayed either. Bedside lighting seemed flourescent. Stayed in non-smoking room, but there were cigarrette burn marks on the edge of the tub. Outdoor railing on the second floor is rickety. Police were there both nights, for...? I'm rating it as "average" on several points, simply because it was so cheap, so you shouldn't expect much if you don't want to spend more money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I picked this room because it was the cheapest and BOY did I pay for it!! I went inside to check in and the lobby was SUPER SMALL. All of the sudden there was a crowd in there and ONE person checking people in! I had a group of hood rats cut in front of me when the receptionist CLEARLY saw me standing there for at least 5 minutes. I got 1 key with a sticky note on it telling me what room I was in. She didn't say ANYTHING else to me. She could have at least told me what room I was in! She ASKED if I wanted a receipt, of course I do! Didn't say ANYTHING about breakfast, internet, checkout time etc..RUDE! I find out that my room is right beside the office -oh great!--I slide my key in the door and it wouldn't open! It blinked green but apparently the door was kicked in and they never repaired it..I had my hands full and I'm trying to slide the key in the door AND jimmy the door handle so it would open!! What a piece of junk!! Walking into the room, it STUNK!!! Like MUSTY carpet..The a/c was running and did not look "Refreshed" as their website states at all. The bed was big but HARD. The TV was SUPER small..The pillows smelled like must and my socks were black from the carpet. I left around 1am because I couldn't sleep on that rock hard bed. Neighbors next door had 2 annoying kids and a damn dog...Walls are thin so you hear EVERYTHING!! Would NOT stay here or recommend...Pay 20 bucks more and get a nicer room or bring earplugs and air freshener!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEG757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
4.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 37 in Norfolk
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Riverwalk Inn & Suites Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Norfolk

Property: Motel 6 Norfolk
Address: 853 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-3626
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Norfolk 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Norfolk provides modern smoking, non-smoking rooms with king or queen beds. We also offer kitchenettes with microwaves and mini-refrigerators and a 2 burner cook-top range. *Free - coffee *Free parking *Free Truck Parking *Seasonal Outdoor Pool *Pet Friendly *Kids(17 & under) free with parent *Free Long Distance *Free local Calls *Wi-Fi (surcharge) *Faxes (surcharge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Norfolk
Norfolk Motel Six
Norfolk Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing