We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby and rooms but this place is not the place you want to go to if you are trying to get work done or relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice lobby and rooms but this place is not the place you want to go to if you are trying to get work done or relax.”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I won't be coming back to this hotel again. I came here for work and they have been renovating a room across the hall. It has been a week of loud hammering and electrical grinding. When I asked for this to stop or a different room I was told they were trying to resolve the problem and i could not have a different room. Only when I complained a second time did they stop. Very inhospitable and unpleasant customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are at the very end of an extensive room renovation. The final rooms are being completed and unfortunately we had to chip away concrete for about an hour and a half this week to finish a room. I’m really sorry that this wasn’t completed faster and that we did not get them to stop the first time you mentioned it. We tried to complete this during the middle of the day to have the least impact on our customers since the hotel is at its least capacity during this time. I can certainly understand why this was frustrating to you.

The renovation has turned out amazing. As you stated, the lobby and rooms are very nice. We now feature Courtyard’s Refreshing Business lobby concept (designed to give travelers the flexibility to work and socialize however they choose while on the road), and completely renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms, corridors, fitness center, and pool.

The open, bright and contemporary new Courtyard hotel lobby welcomes guests with vivid contrasting colors, including blue, green, orange and red. The traditional front desk is replaced with separate welcome pedestals to create more personal and private interactions when guests check in. This will allow staff to move about to show guests the lobby features and provide assistance. Flexible seating options range from a communal table in the middle of the action, to more private media booths with high-definition televisions, to a more intimate, semi-enclosed lounge area.

A signature element of the new lobby is the exclusive GoBoard technology, a 52-inch LCD touch screen packed with local information, maps, weather, and news, business and sports headlines. Guests can navigate using the touch screen to find restaurants, local attractions and directions.

Guests can connect to free WiFi, and there are ample electrical outlets throughout the lobby to power digital devices. The enlarged business library features several complimentary computer terminals along with a free printer and separate computer stations dedicated to printing airline boarding passes and checking flight status.

Dining has been completely redesigned with The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.; offering casual, flexible seating; easier access to food and higher quality, healthier menu options for breakfast; and light evening fare, including snacks, wine and beer so guests can unwind. The Market, a 24/7 shop for snacks, beverages and sundries, is always open for late-night cravings or the toothpaste you forgot to pack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    98
    67
    21
    11
See reviews for
70
64
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I hosted a meeting of 30 out-of-town managers for my company just last week at the hotel. Dawn, the director of sales, was outstanding. I have hosted at least a dozen events at hotels (this being the smallest), and Dawn was by far the easiest to work with and most flexible in my experience. The food they prepared was great, even when working off the menu to meet my desires. The three wait-staff they had working our small group were excellent. They had a positive attitude and were very attentive. We did suffer an air-condition outage during our meetings, however the engineer was right on top of the situation. Our only real issue was some of our lighter sleepers were bothered by the train noise in the morning, however they were able to request a free noise canceling machine if they wanted it. All-in-all, it was a great and easy experience for me as meeting host. I would have a meeting here again in a heartbeat! Oh, plus the location is fabulous with plenty to do right around town. An airport/oceanfront shuttle would be a great addition to the services provided, though! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhentJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hi Josh,
I am so glad that your meeting went so well! We were glad to have your business and look forward to the next one.

I am also pleased to say that we have added windows that block out the light rail noise in all the affected rooms. It has been very successful and everyone has been 100% satisfied with the results!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I am a frequent business traveler. My family and I stayed here in June 2010. The dowtown location is very convenient to Nauticus, the restaurants of nearby Granby Street, and Norfolk's Harbor Park, home of the AAA Norfolk Tides, the Baltimore Orioles' minor league affiliate. The rooms are clean but need some upgrading/updating. Indeed, during our stay, the hotel replaced all the window treatments on our floor. We noticed the change after we returned at the end of the day and saw that our suitcases and belongings had been moved. We would have appreciated being told this in advance. I have also seen other comments about the parking valet services. Everytime we came back to the hotel, the valet was unavailable so we parked ourselves, including upon arrival. The valet never parked our car. Breakfast is available from an on-site Starbucks. However, the restaurant is small so there can be a line waiting for service. Although this hotel does have plusses, its minuses merit second thoughts about returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruValM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for the feedback! I am glad that you noticed the upgrading that we are doing! I apologize that you were not alerted to the replacement of the drapes ahead of time. This is now complete along with the new beds, furniture, carpet and more! The restaurant is very popular and this does sometimes lead to short wait times but they are very efficient and we are usually able to get orders out within a few minutes which is must faster than most busy restaurants. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will try us out again for your next visit.

Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullowhee, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Everyone from the car valet to the housekeeping staff were very knowledgeable and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I recently conducted a 2 day meeting for my team and used the Norfolk Courtyard Marriott due to it's central location and outstanding facilities. The staff was very cordial and provided assistance every step of the way.

Additionally, Dawn Anderson was extremely helpful with some post meeting administrative tasks I needed quickly - she was great. If you're looking for a great meeting place, keep the Norfolk Courtyard Marriott at the top of your list.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stay at this location frequently on my way to the Outer Banks, as well as for business. The staff at this hotel is fantastic. Chris Parry really takes ownership of the property and goes the extra mile for each and every guest.

Plus - the hotel is shouting distance from the McArthur Mall (straight out the back door and there's the cross walk.) This is a plus makes the Courtyard a little bit too irresistible!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punkinpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My son needed a medical procedure in Norfolk at a Children's Hospital. The Courtyard Norfolk Downtown removed a lot of the stress during this period of time for our family. From the beginning with reservations through checkout, the entire staff and management at the Courtyard was just so helpful and caring. They felt like an extension of our family. The Courtyard was spotless in terms of cleanliness, and in the event of a need of any type, a solution was only a phone call away. The Assistant General Manager, Theresa Thompson, personally took the time to help me with some personal details regarding our stay and wanted to be there at checkout to be sure we were satisfied with the visit. In six months we travel again from Pennsylvania to Virginia for my son's check-up and I am certain we will be at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown once again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio deck are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
115 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing