We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in Norfolk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I tend to like Courtyard Marriotts and this one was nice as well. I think the best thing was the location in Downtown Norfolk. You could walk to many locations including all of the restaurants on nearby Granby Street. There is valet parking only at $18.00 per day which seemed steep in Norfolk. As we were there on a weekend, we opted for the on the street parking which was available right by the hotel. The hotel was pleasant and comfortable, we had a good stay--nothing super special though.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel while traveling for business. The front desk staff was friendly and made recommendations for places to eat within walking distance. It's also located across the street from the shopping mall, which was a nice plus. Although the hotel did appear to have been recently remodeled, there was some strange leak going on in the corner of my ceiling, which was a bit disconcerting. Overall, it was a perfectly good hotel for my purposes (i.e., a quick overnight trip), but I would not recommend it for a vacation or extended stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelBelle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed 2 nights here. Location was perfect for us.
Check in/out was quick and easy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Gave recommendations for nearby restaurants.
Rooms were clean and housekeeping did a good job.
The buffet breakfast was reasonable....$3.95 for kids and $9.95 for adults. It included made to order eggs. As with most hotel buffets, this one was also understaffed.
The kids used the pool and found it to be highly chlorinated.
No problem using the wired internet in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I have stayed at this property 4 times (My mother lives in Norfolk and my company has an important office downtown) and I will stay here again.
.
Rates are more than fair if one considers that one doesn't need a car at this perfectly located property (on the Eastern edge of downtown Norfolk, by the Civic Center Plaza and the big shopping center) and the internet is free. Parking is onsite if one needs it although street parking in the evening is plentiful.

Staff is helpful and upbeat. Room appointments and housekeeping is great. Room service is surprisingly good (no ridiculous service charges) as well and they have the typical Courtyard "market" with snacks and such.
.
I have stayed at the full-service Marriott in Norfolk and it's good too, just different. Sheraton isn't worth it unless you need to be by the water . . .

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marriott_Devotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

My husband stayed in this hotel from a Sunday to Friday for a business trip. The hotel was convenient to tourist attractions, restaurants, the ball park and shopping. However, the company that hosted the trip offered shuttle service to the location of the meetings since that was outside of the city. The hotel offered parking.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I chose the Courtyard instead of the nearby Sheraton because of Marriott rewards.

The Courtyard rooms are standard in size and have all the standard amenities, so it's OK - just OK. It was close to the water, but not RIGHT ON the water like the Sheraton. The on-site dining was sub-par. The view is of other buildings. It was noisy. The windows were secured shut, but not well enough as they could be partly removed from the inside. My carpet was shampood one day while I was there, and I had to wear shoes
for the next two days to keep from soaking my socks! Ugh.

The desk staff and the valet parking attendants were very nice and timely. The wake-up calls were on time, and the car was brought around very quickly. The internet service was free and fast, but suffered short disconnections a few times a day.

The people in the room next door (which had an adjoining door) started smoking one night. I called down to the desk, and I heard someone come up to talk to them within a few minutes. Good job!

Next time, I'll choose the Sheraton, even though they charge for internet connection.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Renaissance_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Had 2 rooms on a recent Saturday night. Both rooms were nice with excellent bedding on king-size beds. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Sunday morning buffet was reasonably priced at $8.95 but was mixed as to quality (e.g. bacon was fantastic while the eggs were terrible). Service staff in the buffet area were excellent.

My only complaint about the hotel was that the indoor pool is only heated to 71 degrees. (As a reference point - compare to Disney which claims to heat its pools to 82 degrees). Seventy-one is much too cold for comfortable swimming. We were looking forward to having our kids swim but the cold temperatures made them shiver within minutes.

If you're looking for a hotel where your kids can swim, this is not the hotel for you. If you don't care about the pool, then this is a great hotel with a good location: walking distance to Nauticus, a mall with restaurants and the ferry to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £77 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing