We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Roanoke
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed here June 23rd and had a very good time. The hotel staff members both Thursday evening and Friday morning were polite and courteous. A lot of construction was going on right across the street from our hotel, so there were a lot of detour signs around which, combined with the traffic, made looking for parking outside of the hotel seem like a lost cause (so come prepared to pay $18.00 to park). The beds were comfortable, the only thing I noticed was there was a strand of somewhere's hair in the shower before I got in....that was minor, however, considering the overall quality of my stay. I would stay there again. Excellent location - within walking distance of MacArthur Center and the NORVA.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    97
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
63
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I tend to like Courtyard Marriotts and this one was nice as well. I think the best thing was the location in Downtown Norfolk. You could walk to many locations including all of the restaurants on nearby Granby Street. There is valet parking only at $18.00 per day which seemed steep in Norfolk. As we were there on a weekend, we opted for the on the street parking which was available right by the hotel. The hotel was pleasant and comfortable, we had a good stay--nothing super special though.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel offers only valet parking
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel while traveling for business. The front desk staff was friendly and made recommendations for places to eat within walking distance. It's also located across the street from the shopping mall, which was a nice plus. Although the hotel did appear to have been recently remodeled, there was some strange leak going on in the corner of my ceiling, which was a bit disconcerting. Overall, it was a perfectly good hotel for my purposes (i.e., a quick overnight trip), but I would not recommend it for a vacation or extended stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The lack of amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MelBelle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed 2 nights here. Location was perfect for us.
Check in/out was quick and easy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Gave recommendations for nearby restaurants.
Rooms were clean and housekeeping did a good job.
The buffet breakfast was reasonable....$3.95 for kids and $9.95 for adults. It included made to order eggs. As with most hotel buffets, this one was also understaffed.
The kids used the pool and found it to be highly chlorinated.
No problem using the wired internet in the room.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joisey - the Corruption State
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I have stayed at this property 4 times (My mother lives in Norfolk and my company has an important office downtown) and I will stay here again.
.
Rates are more than fair if one considers that one doesn't need a car at this perfectly located property (on the Eastern edge of downtown Norfolk, by the Civic Center Plaza and the big shopping center) and the internet is free. Parking is onsite if one needs it although street parking in the evening is plentiful.

Staff is helpful and upbeat. Room appointments and housekeeping is great. Room service is surprisingly good (no ridiculous service charges) as well and they have the typical Courtyard "market" with snacks and such.
.
I have stayed at the full-service Marriott in Norfolk and it's good too, just different. Sheraton isn't worth it unless you need to be by the water . . .

  • Liked — Location, amenities, value
  • Disliked — It's certainly not a destination unto itself. But it is convenient to Norfolk!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriott_Devotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

My husband stayed in this hotel from a Sunday to Friday for a business trip. The hotel was convenient to tourist attractions, restaurants, the ball park and shopping. However, the company that hosted the trip offered shuttle service to the location of the meetings since that was outside of the city. The hotel offered parking.

  • Liked — The Courtyard consistency in amenities and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Size of room - the room could have been larger.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I chose the Courtyard instead of the nearby Sheraton because of Marriott rewards.

The Courtyard rooms are standard in size and have all the standard amenities, so it's OK - just OK. It was close to the water, but not RIGHT ON the water like the Sheraton. The on-site dining was sub-par. The view is of other buildings. It was noisy. The windows were secured shut, but not well enough as they could be partly removed from the inside. My carpet was shampood one day while I was there, and I had to wear shoes
for the next two days to keep from soaking my socks! Ugh.

The desk staff and the valet parking attendants were very nice and timely. The wake-up calls were on time, and the car was brought around very quickly. The internet service was free and fast, but suffered short disconnections a few times a day.

The people in the room next door (which had an adjoining door) started smoking one night. I called down to the desk, and I heard someone come up to talk to them within a few minutes. Good job!

Next time, I'll choose the Sheraton, even though they charge for internet connection.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Renaissance_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing