We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient in VB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I were recent guests of the SpringHill Suites on Newtown Road this Spring. We were in need of a quick place to stay near family in the area and this hotel was in a perfect location, being right off the highway within 20 minutes of downtown Norfolk and the VB Oceanfront. Check-in was a breeze and the associates were all friendly and helpful in answering questions about our stay and the general area. The hotel itself was newly upgraded. It is conveniently located across the street from a Ruby Tuesday's that delivered food, right next to several banks, and within minutes of fast food places, Wal-Mart, Rite-Aid, and CVS. The lobby was very nice with a fountain and plenty of seating which gave a nice appeal whenever entering. The room itself was kept nicely. The furniture and decor were new and the television was HD including all the regular cable channels. There was complimentary breakfast every morning including hot foods and fresh fruit. I really enjoyed my stay. I was so grateful to find this place with such short notice. This hotel will definitely be one that I refer travelers for the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank SarahJill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Good Morning SarahJill1,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear your last minute trip to Norfolk/Va Beach was a great experience. We have lots to do around the hotel and glad you were able to enjoy the attractions. I will share all of your feedback with the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly from the moment we checked in. The room was spacious and clean, and we loved that the windows opened to let in a little fresh air. The hot breakfast every morning was delicious! The best part was the hotel staff letting us know about the courtesy shuttle within a 5 mile radius. We were in town for a wedding, and they were able to drop us off and pick us back up! Not having to spend the extra money on cab fare was very appreciated.

The day we left I realized an hour into our trip home that I had left my tablet in the room. I called and Nina was very helpful and understanding. She immediately started the process to have it shipped to me via FedEx. It was sent next day with no hassle. The entire staff has been very helpful and responsive every time I've called with questions or concerns about the transit of my device.

Overall this was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time. The location is convenient, the staff was incredible, and the food and service were outstanding. I don't think I can say enough wonderful things about our experience!

Room Tip: We liked having a room between two storage areas ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamasmrf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello Mamasmrf22,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience. The shuttle is definitely a big amenity that our guests love when coming in to town. I hope the wedding was a great time and we hope to see you again!

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. The staff was friendly, my daughter loved the indoor pool, the room was comfortable and breakfast was included. We will definitely be back. Dawn was especially helpful to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shannon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! It was my pleasure to assist you! I am glad that you and your daughter enjoyed the pool and were able to relax.

We certainly hope to have you stay with us again when in the area!

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Springhill suites Memorial day weekend for a national wrestling duals at the Va beach Convention center.. Our families Loved the Springhill suites, The rooms were very spacious, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was always clean. The breakfast was awesome

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

HI Thomas,

Thank you for your review! I am happy you enjoyed your room and the staff made you feel at home. We strive to provide the best product and service in the Norfolk/Va. Beach area.

Hope to see you soon!

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Being a previous Marriott employee, I expect nothing but the best. I stayed at this location for my travel business as a property to send my clients. When I arrived I was greeted by "Marion" who wore a big smile on his face. As I waited, I checked the decor in the lobby. As always, it was too be expected from Marriott. I received the keys and headed to my room. I arrived at room 313 which the keys didn't work. I returned downstairs to "Marion" who was ready to help me. He apologized. I went back and opened the door, there were people already in the room. I am glad no one was showering or enjoying themselves (lol). Now I'm back at the counter again with "Marion". This time he changes the room to 618. The room had minor flaws such as the security lock (deadbolt), and parts to the tub sitting on the side. The air when on is very noisy. Otherwise, the room was room enough for a family of 4 comfortably. Breakfast is free with your stay. It included waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, cereal, juice, cake, fruit and other options. Breakfast may vary daily. I can not remember the names of the employees in this area. However, I can say they were what Customer service is all about. This was a great location. I ventured around to the Walmart, Dollar tree, Farm fresh etc. All within a short drive. It took me approximately 10-15 minutes to the Oceanfront. Overall, I will definitely recommend my clients to stay here.

Room Tip: I suggest the rooms facing the lovely green field in the back. The front of the hotel faces the Navy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poohpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello Poohpaige,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am so sorry the first set of keys didnt work and Marlon was able to be of assistance to you. I am happy to hear you will be referring guests our way.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon!

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Dawn was great help with booking my reservation for my families vacation at Virginia Beach! The team atmosphere was great at this location. Very friendly and inviting staff! Great place to stay, Springhill Suites is a great brand for traveling with families!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Janine,

It was my pleasure to book you and your family's reservation! I am so happy to hear you all had a great time in Virginia Beach.

Thank you for posting a review, and we hope to see you again in Norfolk / Virginia Beach soon!

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I shopped around a few places for my team to stay in Virginia Beach before settling on the Springhill Suites. Everyone loved it. We were comfortable and well fed at breakfast. The staff is super friendly and went above and beyond as we took care of scanning tests we proctored for our students so we could send them back to professors in Santa Barbara. That's just one example but it's certainly a full service effort at this hotel.

Room Tip: They were all good but if you like to look out on grass ask for a room on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ev00rams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Coach,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am happy to hear everyone had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast!

We certainly hope to see you next year!!

All the best,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
5.8 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach

Address: 6350 Newtown Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-4801
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £68 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites by Marriott Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a centrally located all suites hotel near Virginia Beach, VA. Only minutes from Virginia Beach Town Center and the Virginia Beach Oceanfront activities. Farm Bureau live is only a short drive from our Spring Hill Suites Norfolk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing