We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing ship” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of USS Wisconsin

USS Wisconsin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.00*
and up
Norfolk Passport to Fun
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Berthed at Nauticus, the Battleship Wisconsin is one of the largest and last battleships ever built by the U.S. Navy. Explore its deck through a self-guided tour or, with an additional charge, one of our guided tours that will take you back in time to experience this majestic ship that earned five battle stars during WW II.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing ship”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

It was great to walk around such an amazing ship with so much history, spanning such a wide range in modern warfare history. We did the self guided tour and it took maybe 2 hours to walk around and see everything. It looks like the organized tours take you more places. Some of the stairways up and down the interior of the ship were very steep and difficult for small children, but possible with close supervision.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AParlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    209
    38
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
352 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pretty amesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here right after a work appointment near by. The ship is truly impressive and a wonderful piece of history. Used since 1943, it was also the first ship to fire Tomahawk missiles in the first war in Iraq. Gained a newfound appreciation for our military as I walked through the ship.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I go to Norfolk every year to go to harbor fest and I make it a point to always go on a tour of the uss Wisconsin. That ship is so cool it really gives you a up close and personal experience of what the crew went through. You wouldnt believe how big it is it has everything from a dentist office to a operating area to treat the sick and hurt it has a really neat officer quarters. You should definitely go on a tour but be very careful stepping over the doors thresholds they will bang your shins up.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank darthvader0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FAMILY VISIT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This world war 2 battleship is really something to see they have some navy vets that serviced on the ship from time to time and have so much info about the ship,great visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WVUFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“USS Wisconsin: Should Visit it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was a nice surprise! I was never been in a War boat before, so I was not aware of what I should expect. Some cabins of the boat were closed when I visit it, still it was a nice surprise, as I could get in touch with this kind of experience. I thought it was rather interesting, as it is part of history and american culture. Visit it!
P.s - I visit it Septem2012

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnolia_Jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed USS Wisconsin also viewed

 

Been to USS Wisconsin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing