We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FASCINATING Glass Studio”

Chrysler Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Johnson City
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“FASCINATING Glass Studio”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

On a cold-snap day in March, my older children and I were lucky enough to visit the glass studio opposite the (closed) Museum of Art. It was free, and we felt so fortunate. We spent almost a full morning there, watching several extremely talented glass artists create big glass fish for a commission from the children's hospital. We had warm, cozy front row seats to every stage of the amazing process. We even got to catch the noon guided demonstration of glassworking, which added detail to what we'd already seen with the fish-creation, and showed us several other properties of molten glass that my children and I had never seen before. Amazing and such fun!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    115
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing glass”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is such a beautiful little gem located in the heart of downtown Norfolk. I am always surprised by the exhibits here, from beautiful paintings to one of the best live action glass studios. The gift shop is full of wonderful little treasures. A great way to spend an afternoon and experience a little artistic culture.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is a very good Museum”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was actually a wonderful surprise in the small lovely city of Norfolk. It is a Museum very complet, with wide historic periods covered. I would say: Don´t miss it. Some very important art pieces and artists represented there.
I was teher in September 2012 and not 2013, but the site does not have data foe 2012

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia_Jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
838 reviews
321 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Great Glass Studio”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Chrysler museum is currently closed for renovation, but the glass studio across the street is still open. It's a large open studio where you can see visiting glass artists blowing elegant pieces and demonstrations of basic glassblowing principles. Cases along the back of the studio illustrate some of the techniques used in glassblowing, lamp-working, and fusing. There are also some small examples created by visiting artists. Check the schedules to make sure a demonstration is happening when you will be there. Admission to the studio is free. There is some wonderful glass art in the Chrysler Museum collection which will definitely be worth seeing when the museum reopens in May 2014.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best art museums n the South”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This great museum is a gem. While it has a sizable collection of a wide variety of art, it's glass collection alone is a great reason to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing