We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive Glass collection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chrysler Museum of Art

Chrysler Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive Glass collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The museum is free, wow!!! It is impressive, for one person's collection. There are so many gorgeous glass pieces, one of our favs was a chess set with the Catholic clergy on one side versus the rabbis and cantors on the other, the attention to detail was astounding. There were many different collections, some rooms are a bunch of different eras thrown together. But all in all, well worth popping in for a look.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jomomocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    106
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We traveled down o Norfolk to catch a special exhibition and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of artwork on display at this museum. The surrounding neighborhood of Ghent was a ne area to stroll after the museum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We especially enjoyed the glass exhibit and were sorry we ran out of time to see the glass Museum. We had a nice lunch

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Spectacular Glass Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Chrysler Museum has a wonderful collection of art, and some of the world's greatest artist's are represented in it. My favorites are the Richard Estes painting, the Mark Rothko, the Richard Diebenkorn, and the Picasso ceramics. But even with those standouts, the glass collection must be one of the best in the world. The whole glass exhibition space has recently been redesigned and the volume of works is almost overwhelming. This museum is well worth a visit while you're in Norfolk, a beautiful old building housing a world class collection of art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a fantastic place! We had severe traffic on the I 64, so were ready for lunch when we arrived. The Wisteria was excellent. On to the museum. We went upstairs and the first thing to catch my eye was a grand piano on display. I asked and was allowed to actually play it - first time ever this has happened to me in a public museum. An interesting instrument with a very powerful tone, with a very light touch. We then only had a couple of hours to see this magnificent display of art and we gobbled up as much as we could from Egyptian relics to modern art including the amazing 'Sound Suit'! We will be going back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chrysler Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Chrysler Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing