We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY STAY ON DEC 2-3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
1 review
“MY STAY ON DEC 2-3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great room for the price and one of the nicest Residence Inn properties in 2013. What gave it a missed perfect rating was the fact that non guests were able to use the business center and come in the back door for breakfast. Management offered me the office computer to print a few colored pages for a presentation which was unexpected.
Been spoiled as an Elite Platinum member this year with the offer of points and/or free drink or snack. Was not offered that but OK with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Dan C

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review of your last stay at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport!. We want to continue to keep getting better for you, our valued guest! We strive to be your ONLY choice for lodging while in our area. I am happy to hear that we ensured your printing needs were met. I have spoken with all Management to be more visible in all areas so we know what is happening on property. Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you again when you visit the Norfolk area.

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    84
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
118
38
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The worker at the front dest Denzel was very helpful and always smiling. The breakfast buffet was good and hot and more than enough. We enjoyed the billiards room and the out door fireplace. It was nice to check our email with the computers they had and print out a map. We really enjoyed ourself and plan to make that one of our get away places even though we are local.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Patricia O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have celebrated your comments with Denzel as you have graciously highlighted. We strive to ensure that our guests are comfortable in our "HOME" for the time they are away from theirs. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Billiards room, the warmth from the outdoor fireplace, the business center and most of all the breakfast was enjoyable.

Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to see you soon when you travel to the Nofolk area.

At your service,
Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was with a group for training. Our company uses the facility all the time, I thought we might have been treated poorly if others before us had misbehaved. Cheryl at the front desk was very friendly,she asked how our day was at the end of a long hard day. She can write backwards and gave me a welcome to the marriott note written backwards. She visited with me about shopping and nearby restaurants. I was pleased that she had the time for me. I liked that, we were away from our families for a week and missed home. Cheryl is a gem, I hope you know her value to the customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aircrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear aircrew22,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have celebrated your comments with Cheryl as you have graciously highlighted. Cheryl is a GEM and is a Great Associate. I am so happy to hear that she was there for you and made your long day end with pleasant thoughts.

We strive to ensure that our guests are comfortable in our "HOME" for the time they are away from theirs. I am so happy she made your stay so memorable.

Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to see you soon when you travel to the Nofolk area.

At your service,
Rachel Cadet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Fawn, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great rooms, wonderful front desk personnel. Cheryl and Denzel were always friendly and always solicitous of our needs. Housekeeping was on top of whatever we asked for, everyone was friendly and smiling, whether they knew us or not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheB864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear SheB864,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have celebrated your comments with Cheryl, Denzel and our Housekeeping staff. It is great to know that your experience with us was a great one as we strive to be your only choice for lodging while in the Norfolk Area and we look forward to having you come back "HOME',

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn during a business trip, and I had a very enjoyable stay. The large one-room suites are perfect for longer stays, with a huge kitchen, two TVs, two tables, etc. There is a billiards room, an indoor pool and spa, and a workout room (although it has just cardio equipment - no weights). Like many longer-term hotels, it does not have the thing I enjoy the most: a hotel bar, and it is definitely not luxury, but as noted it was more than comfortable and I was very happy with the service of the staff. The breakfast staff cheerily greeted me every day, the GM helped me arrange a location for a business teleconference, and Denzel graciously helped me to change hotel rooms, as well as get a bunch of chairs delivered to my room VERY last minute!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Caitlin2121,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have celebrated your comments our Associates that you have so graciously highlighted. We strive to ensure that our guests are comfortable in our "HOME" for the time they are away from theirs. We are presently enhancing all areas of the hotel to include all public spaces, guest rooms, pool and fitness areas. We hope to have you back so you can enjoy the new and exciting things we are doing.

Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Norfolk area.

At your service,
Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and son, with his friend stayed here for a night while they attended a nearby soccer tournament. They had a blast. Denzel was a huge help and told them where a nearby skate park was. He even skated with my son and his friend! The boys played pool in the evening and loved it. Great room and close to everything with a good breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate your comments greatly. We have celebrated your comments with Denzel (Our Skating Star) whom you have so graciously highlighted. It is great to know that your experience with us was a great one and that your family had a wonderful time. We strive to be your only choice for lodging while in the Norfolk Area and we look forward to having you come back "HOME',

At your service,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

From a sign at the front desk of new furniture and carpeting, it seems a renovation is about to happen at this property. That's good, because our room was pretty well worn...carpets were tattered, pulling up from the floor, and had cigarette burns in the room we got. Furniture was fairly well worn and stained. Linens did not cover the box spring on the beds and those were stained as well. We didn't complain as the room rate was in line for a hotel that is due to be renovated, but it was substandard for what I expect from a Marriott property as a frequent Marriott traveler (gold level).

The lobby was in much better shape, with a nice gas fireplace. Billiards table and quiet reading room are just off lobby.

The swimming pool was somewhat gross. Water was cloudy. Did not appear to have been cleaned for a couple of days as there things like hair bands sitting on the bottom of the pool. Temperature could not have been anywhere close to the posted 82 degrees, which made me wonder when that info was posted and if the posted Ph levels were correct. Jets in the whirlpool did not work. Just appeared to be a neglected area in terms of maintenance. Plenty of towels, though.

One BR suite was large, but furniture was awkwardly placed. This was a problem in the bedroom, where a bed was in the path of the bedroom door. We couldn't close the door without shoving the bed over a couple of inches.

On the plus side, the shower in our room was excellent. Great water pressure, probably the best of any hotel I've stayed at, and the hot water was instant. The hot breakfast buffet was very, very good. I am a Hilton Hhonors convert and the Residence Inn breakfast is far superior to what the Hampton Inn chain usually offers. Breakfast staff was extremely friendly with all guests, and frequently asked people if there was anything they needed (then got it for them if asked).

Convenient location to get to nearby highways, but there is nothing in walking distance if you want to get a meal nearby...you'll have to drive.

Extremely friendly check in staff, I think I had the Denzel dude everybody is raving about below.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear DCA,

Thank you so very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Norfolk Airport! It is very important to all of us here at the Residence Inn to hear about our guest experiences. We are very much in the middle of a major renovation which includes; New Carpet, Wallpaper, New Art Work, New Lighting, New Drapes and much more for our Guest Rooms, Our Public areas will have New Lobby Furniture, Fitness Center will have New Equipment and much, much more that I am proud to say will be Phenominal! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that all the Associates made a lasting impression.

We strive to be your ONLY choice for lodging while in our area. I will share your great comments with the Associates and we hope to see you back "HOME" again and hopefully see all the wonderful changes once our renovations are complete.

Thank you for being a valued guest,

Rachel Cadet
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
5.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Airport

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Address: 1590 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn, an extended stay hotel that is pet friendly and provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). We have weekly social receptions to mingle with other guests or have a leisurely one on one basketball game on our court. We are only a few miles from the Virginia Beach Oceanfront family friendly activities, Farm Bureau Amphitheater, and downtown Norfolk's corporate district. Spacious suites with fully equipped kitchenettes and separate bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing