We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dirty Buffalo

The Dirty Buffalo
Ranked #59 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A place with a fun atmosphere, chrome and music, serving (among other things) many flavors of chicken wings and fries, including crispy boneless wings with garlic and parmesan, spicy crispy coated fries, barbecue boneless wings, onion rings, and more. Everything's also available to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The wings are amazing!! Best I've had in the 757 area.
The only downside was the service was quite slow, but that could have been a one time thing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h3rbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Insanely great wings and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I don't even really like chicken wings but wanted to try something different. We read about this place online and the reviews were accurate. Don't let the outside fool you. Looks like a total dive. But inside is clean and the wings are great. So are the fries. Great service. We will be back for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dirty Dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went with a couple of friends from work. They both ordered hamburgers and loved them. The onion rings were also very good. I ordered the Dirty Dog plate. It was a bed of home fries and macaroni salad covered with hot dog chili and two all beef hot dogs. I enjoyed this strange combination. Their hot dog chili is excellent and while many might not like the sight, the taste was excellent. I have seen these plates offered in dinners and called "garbage" plates. The place is known for wings and maybe next time I will get them. There was a number of sailors that picked up wing orders while I was there (so it must be worth trying).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tramples all wing joints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you want to go where locals go for wings then here it is. The owner is straight from Buffalo, NY and his staff put out tasty wings with a multitude of sauces. The wing slingers are constantly experimenting with new sauce flavors and spices. Dirty Buffalo is a place that will respect your budget yet deliver great food. Besides their wings the 'Dirty' plates they concoct always please my children and have a signature unique to Norfolk.

Wednesday is typically half price wing night.

When Old Dominion University is in session you may want to bring extra money to spend on drinks while you wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MFxIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dirty Buffalo also viewed

 

Been to The Dirty Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing