We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rodeo

El Rodeo
Ranked #115 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The staff here treat you like family. We try to go here at least once a month and we are always treated well. The food is great. Never had anything that lacked flavor. If unsure of what to order ask the server, you won't go wrong.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food, excellent service and family oriented!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We've been several times with our family, always an enjoyable experience! Chips and salsa are awesome and we always over indulge. The selections are many, each one of tries different dishes and not once have we been disappointed with the taste or portion size. I really enjoyed their margaritas after a long day. We have immensely enjoyed joining our family at this family oriented restaurant when we come to visit on Friday nights.
My grandson is a handful (special needs) and the staff is very good with him. They have been teaching spanish to him when his parents take him once a week.He enjoys learning and looks forward to new words. I was especially pleased to see the waiter greet him like he was one of their own.
The value of the meal was very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quasimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food and attentive service -- good for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Background: This is our third time here. We go with Navy family based in Norfolk and a wonderful "grandmonster" who is autistic and can be a little bit of a challenge at times.

Positives:
(1) Food is very good
(2) Margaritas are excellent (don't get the huge one unless someone else is driving!)
(3) Service is wonderful; servers very attentive and caring for the grandmonster!
(4) Meal for 5 including drinks for $85 -- in my humble opinion, this is very reasonable, especially for the quality and quantity of what you get.
(5) Very clean facilities.
(6) Place is family-owned, not a chain store. They obviously care about what they do.

Negative:
Place is usually crowded, can be noisy, structure looks like it was originally built for a fast food chain. Not for a romantic dinner out.

Bottom line: Highly recommended. We plan to go here again . . . and again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chessplayer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
622 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Food andvFriendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

One of my favorites and more authentic than most. Plenty of parking. OK decor. Friendly staff and plenty of tables. Close to shopping.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick service and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Went for the first time along with co-workers who recommended it. It was in an old Fast Food restaurant so the space was limited but the decor and service was good. They have daily lunch specials but the prices are reasonable anyway. Like most Mexican restaurants in teh area they have a separate vegetarian section, which is nice and helpful! Server had a little language barrier with a co-worker but got her order correct afterall. Would definitely go back for a quick lunch out of the office.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workingclasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing