We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast spot”

Yorgo's Bageldashery
Ranked #63 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Nowhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I love coming here. Whenever I am in Ghent on a weekend, I try to stop here. They make terrific bagel sandwiches! The bagels are definitely NY style. Just as a warning- if you order an egg and cheese, they aren't mixed together- they just put a piece of cheese on the eggs.

Their lunch sandwiches are great too-pretty much any combination you'd want. They charge extra for cheese, but not for extra veggies.

Service is quick, even when there is a line!

It's got a great feel and if I come to pick up a breakfast sandwich, I'll get a lunch one as well!

My only gripe- I wish it was open all day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gambatte Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Bagel Spot with Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I was in Norfolk, Virginia visiting a friend, and we stopped at this Bageldashery for breakfast one morning and were completely impressed with our experience! The staff were very friendly, greeting us as we walked through the door, and answered all of my (many!) questions about the bagels and sandwiches. The menu was diverse, and the selection of bagel flavors was one of the best I had seen. I had the jalepeno bagel and the salt bagel, both with the low fat cream cheese and it was excellent. I also took a dozen back to Richmond, and put them in my freezer, and they have kept very well. I highly recommend stopping in for breakfast!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best homemade bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Friendly staff and awesome homemade bagels! Yorgo's has a great selection of vegan/vegetarian options if you are not into meat. I eat meat but often opt for one of their veg items because they are really good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shines78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I love bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Yorgos has great food: bagels, bagel sandwiches, wraps, coffee, dessert...

The huge amount of cream cheese is usually oozing over the sides which is fine by me! Their breakfast sandwiches are great and filling (bacon and egg, yum).

Cinnamon coffee always hits the spot although you cannot drink Yorgos coffee for at least 10 minutes. It is piping hot, maybe ask for some ice if you are in a hurry. And then take a bag of beans home with you!

Only have had one lunch item so far, chicken salad wrap. I have had more flavorful chicken salad before but it was not bad.

The location is easy to find, but parking is limited as well as seating. Seating is first come first serve and there are only about 10 tables. If you come at peak time, expect take out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You haven't lived until you've tried their vegan sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

For vegans, it doesn't get much better than this! They have an extensive (and addicting) vegan menu. Be sure to try their vegan BLT or vegan breakfast burrito (even meat eaters love them).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yorgo's Bageldashery also viewed

 

Been to Yorgo's Bageldashery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing