We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Yorker reviews Yorgo's”

Yorgo's Bageldashery
Ranked #63 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Yorker reviews Yorgo's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very pedestrian bagel place
Prices are high
Bagels are not special
There is no art in this place, they just slap it together
Unimpressed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petronius X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Just meh. If you've ever been to a bagelry in NYC or Boston these bagels are a poor runner up. The atmosphere was fine and the service exemplary. The food was just very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goosergoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Looked all over for a breakfast place and though this seemed crowded, service was quick. All the food had flavor and a nice selection of vegetarian and vegan specials. Will definately go back everytime I visit Norfolk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGirl78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vegan/Bagel Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This place is addictive. Delicious bagels and fantastic/plenty of vegan options! The vegan breakfast burrito is spicy and delicious. There are so many cream cheese choices - all are delicious, the scallion is mouth watering. I love the cold case with plenty of to-go vegan options of chicken salad, potato salad, egg salad, and desserts - their lemon bar is incredible; I could eat a barrel of them and never be satisfied. The everything bagel is my favorite. There are so many bagel, cream cheese, and sandwich/wrap options that I will be back regularly to try out everything. The wait for hot sandwiches is pretty short. The inside is cute with plenty of tables to eat in, or take a seat while they make your food. The location is pretty good on the outskirts of Ghent/pretty nice crowd. However, the parking is limited/tricky. There is parking in front, which means if you pull in, you'll have to cross your fingers/inch out into the busy street to get out. There is also side street parking & some additional parking in the back. I will be spending a lot more time and some $$$ (a tad pricy, but not too bad - you definitely get what you pay for - delicious eats) at Yorgo's from now on - it's just a few blocks from where I work so I might end up there every day!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ucstefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I love coming here. Whenever I am in Ghent on a weekend, I try to stop here. They make terrific bagel sandwiches! The bagels are definitely NY style. Just as a warning- if you order an egg and cheese, they aren't mixed together- they just put a piece of cheese on the eggs.

Their lunch sandwiches are great too-pretty much any combination you'd want. They charge extra for cheese, but not for extra veggies.

Service is quick, even when there is a line!

It's got a great feel and if I come to pick up a breakfast sandwich, I'll get a lunch one as well!

My only gripe- I wish it was open all day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gambatte Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yorgo's Bageldashery also viewed

 

Been to Yorgo's Bageldashery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing