We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Page House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Page House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in quite a few B&B's but this is by far the most beautiful! Service was wonderful and breakfast was cooked made to order and outstanding. We stayed in the bathe suite and it was well worth the money. We will be going back!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenzylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    3
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
52
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

When I stay at a B&B, the innkeeper usually is all about sweetness and light, providing a calm, pleasant, gracious, relaxing presence. They provide the first impression and are the source of local information, travel tips, and of course food and hospitality. That was not quite the experience we had at the Page House Inn.
The house itself is stunningly beautiful, and well located for a visit to the waterfront area, the Ghent District, or Old Dominion University. It is meticulously decorated, filled with history and charm, and has all the little touches - port in the parlor, sherry in the living room, cookies and chocolates and treats on every end table. Glasses, wine bottle openers, refrigerators, and many other conveniences are available.
Our room was just as lovingly decorated, on the third floor (Master Percy). It had two twin beds converted to a king that was quite comfortable. My only issues with the room were the somewhat cramped shower, and the huge skylight right over the bed that made it impossible to sleep in - no way to hide from the light!
Breakfast was well done - not the best B&B breakfast I have ever had, but well done, and if anything, it was nice to not have a huge over the top meal.
However, our experience would have been a little better if our hostess had dialed back the acerbic, snarky, sharp-tongued humor. I don't consider stories about rude guests, complaints about being tired, or other grousing to be appropriate to ensuring a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Maybe I just have a different idea of Southern hospitality?
Again, the house itself was gorgeous and all in all we had a terrific stay in Norfolk.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there is a skylight or any other windows that cannot be covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerinva801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 1 night in this inn. It was everything I would want in a bed and breakfast. The room was spacious, the bathroom up to date and the innkeeper was extremely friendly. When we checked in, she took us on a tour of the facility. Not only was she friendly, but she was very professional. Breakfast was very good and in addition, there was afternoon lemonade and cocktails in the early evening. We would definitely return

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

After visiting the unforgettable Page House Inn as a child, I knew that I needed to bring my finace back to experience the elegant home. It was perfect for a weekend getaay to the Hampton Roads area. The Innkeepers are amazing and the atmosphere would make anyone feel right at home. The house features truely unique rooms, each offering something different be it a claw foot tub, a quaint adjoining study or a private jacuzzi bath. I recommend this Inn to anyone traveling through Norfolk as it is one of a kind!

Room Tip: The first and second floor rooms are much more luxurious for a romantic getaway or relaxing escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ByLandSeaAirBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Page house in the Ghent district of Norfolk was exactly what we were lookng for. Walkng distance to our destinations,comfortable and freindly.

The bedrooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. Two parlors and other sitting areas have snacks, soft drinks, water, and fruit.

Off sreeet parking rounds out the conveniences that this B&B offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have stayed in B&Bs around the world and this is the best.The location is excellent- delightful neighborhood and close to the wonderful Chrysler Museum. The grounds are beautifully manicured and perfectly frame the charming and impressive brick home. Debbi welcomes you and makes you feel as if you are her favorite guest-ever! Tea, lemonade, cookies, and sherry in the afternoon. Fruit, cold drinks and chocolates always available. A snack basket in the room and a breakfast spread-worth waking up for! Loved the French toast and mini cinnamon rolls. Large, well appointed room with comfortable, king size bed. Great front porch with potted ferns and flowering pots-lovely spot to enjoy a 5 o'clock glass of sherry and unwind from the day's activities. Simply the best of the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trejustcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

the owner, who formerly worked in the place, is a piece of art. never been welcomed like this : it feels like you are old friends coming back after a few years at her place, really really warm, spontaneous. the inside is wonderfull, breakfast is great and as she welcoms you this way, other guests behave as old friends too. conversation is fluent, natural, simple.....
best B and B experience of this trip. she can listen to what you are looking for to send you to the places we really enjoy. we'd really to go back in this area just to spend more time there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Page House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Page House Inn

Property: Page House Inn
Address: 323 Fairfax Ave, Norfolk, VA 23507-2215
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing