We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good eats and nice views”

City Dock Restaurant
Ranked #405 of 700 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St. Paul
Transit: Waterside Drive Bus Stop
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good eats and nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The service was very good,we ate outside and had a nice harbor view.The food was above average and we enjoyed a nice relaxing afternoon watching the boats come and go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch are superb... great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

First of all, let me say how warm and friendly the staff at City Dock are. I've been a few times since I'm a local and I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner. I must say the dinner was the least satisfying, but breakfast and lunch were great. I looked at other reviews and must disagree about the 'institutional food'. I had a beautiful mixed greens side salad that had all kinds of fresh vegetables- red peppers, cucumbers and carrots. We had a crab cake sandwich that was wonderful, too for lunch. The breakfast buffet has wonderful healthy choices and enough selection to satisfy your appetite. I just wish it went longer on weekends like until about 2pm. Someone mentioned it's pricey. Well, do a Google search and find a coupon. I think Entertainment Book has one. Oh, and the view? Heavenly....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zumbarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
209 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

All the food I had was extremely 'institutional'. Soup that was obviously canned and loaded with sodium. A Caesar salad with lettuce that was browning on the edges. Chicken that was clearly not prepared especially for my order, but had been previously cooked and reheated.

Not good. Servers are very nice. Food is not so nice. Go somewhere else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't eat the fish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I had two bites of the fish and couldn't stand the overwhelming metallic taste. The only other flavor I could detect was the distinct frozen fish taste. Everyone was friendly, but I won't risk bad fish.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had brunch a couple of times, food was good, great views of water, a bit pricey but expected because in hotel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Dock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to City Dock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing