We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, poor quality”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Personally I prefer Hiltons, however a resent trip with extended family I found myself at the SpringHill Suites. If your looking for a lot of space this is the hotel to stay at, however this particular one I would not stay at again. The sheets were like paper, the toilet ran randomly through out the night, and the wallpaper was pealing off the walls in multiple places. Also the price was a little high for the quality. Yet the front desk staff was very friendly. All in all it was a great location but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug8508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    61
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
85
17
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
OBX
Level Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in VA for the Imagine Dragons concert and stayed at the SpringHill Suites. Hotel was very clean. Check-in took a while but we got there at the same time as several other families also there for the concert. Room was nice. Honestly, the rate is a bit high for what you get but it's a great location and worth the price to leave the concert and be back at your room in less than 5 minutes. Will definitely give this place another stay if ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a good hotel for 1-2 nights if you are needing to stay in the Old Dominion University area. It’s very clean and rooms/beds are comfortable. The room temperature was a bit difficult to regulate. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, especially housekeeping. The biggest problem we encountered was the noise from the hall party going on throughout our first night. We discovered a college tennis team was staying on our floor and was celebrating their victory until the wee hours of the morning. They finally quieted down as we were ready to wake up. The second night was quiet, peaceful and comfortable.

There is a parking garage next to the hotel, but you will be charged $5/day to park. If there’s an event at the Ted Constant Center next door, you will most likely have to drive all the way up to the top floor of the deck to find a space. It took us 15 minutes to ascend to the top when we returned to the hotel around 10pm on a basketball game night.

Breakfast is included, and there are a lot of hot and cold options. The food is decent, but it was difficult to find a table. The area was packed.

Overall, our stay was good. I would probably book a room here again when I’m in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Joaquin Valley California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is a nice motel with a decent breakfast . Very nice people behind the counter. There is a bar right next door and also Sushi and Mexican food close by. This motel is right across the street from Old Dominion University. Plenty of parking in parking garage. About 15 minutes from airport depends on traffic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MIZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My stay at this hotel was much better than at other SpringHill Suite locations. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice. Our room was very clean as well. The TV was in a weird spot in the room though and that would be my only complaint about the room. The parking area got full very fast and, at one point, I did not have anywhere to park. That was kind of annoying seeing as though I stayed on a weekend of a home ODU football making parking close to the hotel scarce. The breakfast was well stocked and offered a wide array of breakfast options. I would stay at this hotel again while visiting ODU.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one evening while we visited Old Dominion. It was nice. The people at the front desk were sweet. Although they charge daily for parking, you can come and go without having to pay each time and the garage was across a small street within view of the hotel. The beds were comfy. I slept well. I didnt realize they had an indoor pool or I would have brought my bathing suit! It looked nice! We even went over to the hotel bar at 10:00pm to get some nachos for a late night snack! Oh and it was within 3 miles to mall, town, shops, port. We had fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waysontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We attended a concert at the Ted Constant Convocation Center and chose this hotel because it was right next door; with hotel points it was a free stay for us. We were promptly greeted at check-in with a smiling face and every other staff member was pleasant throughout our stay. Parking was $5.80 daily, in a parking garage that was an easy walk across from the hotel lobby entrance. Our room #503 was a double queen campus view facing Hampton Blvd. The room seemed to be clean with minimal wear to the furnishings. The toilet made a crazy bird call like noise with each non forceful flush. The lighting throughout was far too dim, especially the vanity sink area where putting on makeup was a challenge. Our room was cold upon entering and remained cold throughout our stay, even when bumping up the thermostat to 77 degrees. When the heat cut on, the air blew so hard from the old style unit under the window that the curtains moved the entire time. The bed and pillows were comfy, but if you want a good night’s sleep you may want to ask for a quieter room as the traffic on Hampton Blvd. was quite busy and noisy most of the night and right into the morning. The little market next to the front desk could have used a bigger selection of items. Other than two frozen meal options, a small assortment of chips and candy, Cup of Noodles and some beverages the pickings were very slim. The breakfast available pleased those in our party. The elevators were super slow for only being 5 stories. In the future, if staying in Norfolk, I’d book elsewhere; however, if needing to be near ODU or Ted Constant I’d deal with the few negative issues for location, great staff and decent rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University

Property: SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Address: 4500 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23508-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites at Old Dominion University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing