We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain”
Review of White Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Waters Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Bargain”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just got back from a week in this marvellous hotel. Cannot fault it. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis yet the food was so good we ate opposite the first night then at the Hotel the second night and the rest of the week. Owners and staff cannot be faulted either. They are polite and friendly and make you feel like a proper valued guest. Machico is a lovely town with few tourists just mainly locals and therefore very cheap. A euro for a beer, around 50 to 60 cents for coffee, one euro 20 cents for wine, one euro 50 cents for a ham baguette and 2 euros 20 cents for 20 cigarettes - JPS. Food was also reasonably priced and very high quality. Consider going here instead of Funchal although lovely it's a bit more expensive and touristy plus you can easily get a public bus (the ride is like a roller coaster!) into Funchal from the nearby bus stop and do yourself a favour and book this great Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BadgerEssexboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    52
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
106
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights when visiting family in Machico. Spotless hotel with great staff and helpful friendly owners. Perfect postion in the centre of town, right by the promenade and beach. Breakfast is continental with delicious portuguese rolls, cheese, ham etc. Will definitley be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MGHeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Very comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and breakfast nice. Would recommend. A little aircraft noise at times if I was really picky.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Clean rooms, helpuful staff, fair rate... a great place to sleep the night before we left Madeira. Once there, we recommend a dinner in Piquinho, if you like brazilian churrasco (barbecue).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vologda, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Family friendly hotel near the airport of Madeira. Clean rooms, friendly staff. An ideal place to stay at Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Hotel has to be one of the best family run hotels we have visited The location is perfect, in the centre of town if you require to visit Funchal there is a good bus service within 5 mins walk, The owners & staff are friendly and extremely helpful, The hotel is spotlessly clean & the food is excellent,each room has a balcony A visit is strongly recommended

Room Tip: contact via E.mail address
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank getcharlie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed here for week from 9th March. Expected a pleasant stay (having read reviews) and was not disappointed. Friendly staff, good restaurant, clean modern facilities & good location & all at a reasonable cost. There was a little noise from the nightclub nearby but this was brief & only heard on one night. The only impediment to a fine holiday was the wet weather but we still had a good time, in no small part to "White Waters"! Would definitely return..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
2.9 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#27 of 156 in Madeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
10.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Hotel

Property: White Waters Hotel
Address: Praceta 25 de Abril, Machico, Madeira 9200-084, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters is a small family run 3 star hotel. It is located in the very heart of Machico, a small town that has retained its very unique feel of the old, and together with the new, it has a very unique appeal. It is in this setting that White Waters is found. All our rooms are equipped with modern amenities, and all have balconies facing the sea. Our restaurant offers our guests both local and internacional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your White Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Waters
White Waters Machico
White Waters Hotel Madeira/Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing