We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel BUT !”
Review of White Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Waters Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

1 Very new and stylish decor, kept immaculately clean and in a good position
2 No heating in rooms - we took a fan heater as we had read a previous review, even Madeira can be cold in January !
3 In the 6 nights we stayed the water was only luke warm
4 Breakfast was VERY limited with no hot offerings OR TEA !!!!!!
5 Staff were very pleasant and polite
Despite these failings we did enjoy our stay and would recommend for a Summer Holiday when the above would not be an issue

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorchySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for White Waters Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the White Waters. It was spotlessly clean, staff very friendly, rooms very nicely decorated. Took my travel kettle with me as they don't provide tea/coffee tray in the room. Fresh towels and maid service every day. Nothing was too much trouble. Had air con portable units in the rooms which were a god send as it was very hot while we were there. There was a safe in the room, you get a key from reception. Discovered late in the week that they also rent small fridges - will remember that for next time! Our drams were a bit warm!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We found this hotel via TripAdvisor and it was a good decision.
The hotel is located just 5km from the airport (taxi costs about 5 euros) and about 100m from the sea.
The rooms are very nicely decorated and clean.
Room service is very nice, also ladies at the reception desk are very helpful.

Bottle of champagne and a local cake waited for us when we first entered our room.
On the house! :)

Every room has internet access (via cable - wifi available only in the lobby)
On hotel website you can find info that rooms are equipped with air condition - unfortunately this is not true.
There is a music club located near the hotel, so it's impossible to sleep during weekend :/

Hotel is located in Machico - its a good place as a base to drive around the island. (access to the highway)
If you like to spend whole day on the beach - there is a sandy beach about 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Generally speaking: we really liked it and I can recommend it to everyone who doesn't really care about the noise in the night :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spyderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Decour is light and clean, staff very friendly. Had a little trouble finding the place as their website did not include a map ! It is on a small one-way system just past the church near the sea-front.

Parking is limited to 4 places in an adjacent building. On road parking surrounding the hotel is metered between 8am/7pm

Basic continental breakfast in adjoining cafe.

Machico is a pleasant ex-fishing village and has a small artifical sandy beach (one of only two on the island). Although the airport is only 5mins away by car there is no aircraft noise nuisance.

Well situated for Coastal walks and a couple of levadas.

Excellent complimentary internet access for your own PC, ethernetcable required but can be supplied if you don't carry one.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canarytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We spent 12 days and nights in this fine hotel, with its very friendly staff.
It is conveniently located in the center of the formerly fisherman's village Machico. It lacks a swimming pool or sporting facilities, but there is a brandnew beach with yellow sand from the African desert within 500 metres and there is fitness equipment in the park nearby. The hotel has a beautifull roofterrace, but we where the only ones that used it! The rooms are not too spacious, but well equiped and kept spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wubbeBrunssum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel is situated in the very small city of Machico on the beautiful Island of Madeira. There is ample street parking outside the hotel which is situated in a circula plaza near to the sea front.

The hotel looks like an architecht designed building form the outside and the interior is very welcoming and professional.

The rooms are comfortably decorated with a balcony with some stunning views over the sea and the mountains surrounding.

The staff are the friendliest I have come across and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay.

The food in the restaraunt is well worth the money as it was the best food I tasted on the island and the local drink is very strong but interestingly good.

All I can say is I dont think the hotel could be improved.....it was absolutley perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delToroBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I have two complaints about the White Waters Hotel, which for a person as critical as I am, isn't very many at all. The first is the location which is half an hour on the bus outside of the city centre and the hub of the island but in fairness, I was well aware of this prior to booking and took this into consideration of why the hotel was so reasonably priced. What I wasn't so keen on was the fact that when we arrived we were relocated to another nearby hotel due to over booking. As apologetic as the staff were, I wasn't happy about spending my first night in another hotel that was of considerably less quality than the one I had booked and paid for. The fact that we weren't offered anything by way of compensation but apologies didn't soften the blow much either.

The breakfast is fine but nothing special and the lack of air conditioning/heating is also fine considering I was aware of this prior to booking.

Okay, grumbles aside, the positives are that the hotel is IMMACULATE. It helps that it was recently opened of course but it looks more like an ikea catalogue than a hotel which, in my experience can get a bit stuffy and outdated quite easily. None of the photos on this website are misleading or airbrushed to make the hotel seem more appealing than it is, if anything they undersell the quality of the hotel because in reality its much nicer. The staff are extremely friendly and the hotel is very laid back and informal, you immediately feel at home. If you're on a budget and want somewhere nice and comfortable, then you can't go far wrong and I'm sure my experience of the over booking was an isolated case. The only reason I'd give anyone not to book a room here is if they want to be closer to town because after a while, the bus journey there and back everyday got a bit irritating.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Rapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
830 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,078 reviews
2.0 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
6.0 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
772 reviews
2.9 mi away
PortoBay Serra Golf
PortoBay Serra Golf
#26 of 154 in Madeira
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Hotel

Address: Praceta 25 de Abril, Machico, Madeira 9200-084, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters is a small family run 3 star hotel. It is located in the very heart of Machico, a small town that has retained its very unique feel of the old, and together with the new, it has a very unique appeal. It is in this setting that White Waters is found. All our rooms are equipped with modern amenities, and all have balconies facing the sea. Our restaurant offers our guests both local and internacional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Waters
White Waters Machico
White Waters Hotel Madeira/Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing