We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residencial Familia
Ranked #2 of 4 Machico B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for one week at Residencial Familia, booked through Booking.com. We were given room no 8, absolutely lovely views over the bay from the balcony. This was obviously the best room in the place.
The owner (Antonio) is very keen to provide good value accommodation which this certainly is. We do not know about the other rooms. Machico is idealy suited to expeditions on the eastern side of Madeira with very good road links to Funchal and Santana. Fabulous walking all within a few minutes driving.
Residencial Familia is literally outside the Dom Pedro (only big hotel in Machico) on the south side of the town. It has an excellent attached restaurant serving local dishes. My wife ate esparda (fish) twice and I had their steak twice, very good and excellent value, 15% discount for residents.
Downsides:
No kettle or cups, very compact bathroom + bath (a larger person may find it claustrophopic). No hairdrier in the room (but we did not ask for one). Bed linen not changed in the whole week. Regrettably the bed mattress has seen better days - a long time ago, it brought a new meaning to spring. A rather unwelcoming girl on reception at our arrival.
Upside:
Very clean and the room was serviced every day.
Good breakfasts with yogurt, fruit, fresh bread, ham and cheese and various cooked egg.
3 minute walk into the centre of Machico. Easy free parking close to hotel.
Tip:
Try the food at O Gala on the town square, just as good as Residecial Familia and slightly cheaper. Tomato and onion soup and sardines are truly out of this world.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morawel_Fishguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just come back from spending a wonderful week in Machico made all the better by staying at Residencial Familia. A comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay. The breakfasts are an easy way to spend an hour, eating fresh bread and rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurts and copious amounts of steaming hot coffee and tea. The Madeira cake served with honey was something to enjoy!
The staff could not do enough to help, the rooms were exceptionally clean and seeing the way the housekeeper worked and the hours she put in polishing and dusting is certainly a credit to the hotel.
A fantastic week and one we will be repeating at our earliest opportunity!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've just come back from two weeks here. It's located 10 minutes by car from the airport (but there's no noise from planes), five minutes from the sandy beach in Machico, three minutes from the Anthia diving centre, and two minutes from the via rapida, which leads you to the rest of Madeira. Clean rooms, good food in the adjoining restaurant, friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Number 2 is bigger, with a small double bed and a single, a balcony and a view of Machico Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in residencia familial on our first night in Madeira. It was an easy 8 euro taxi from the airport and a good base for the walk to Baia D abra, as the bus station is only a few minutes walk into town. Comfortable and welcoming, the room had everything we needed, and a good view of the bay. The bar and restaurant were cheap and cheerful. Management are friendly and attentive. Watch out for predatory taxi drivers outside (probably best to say you have a car if you don't want a taxi!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Spotless large room at the top of the first staircase with large ensuite . Nicely furnished.
Reception rarely staffed but owner Manager can always be found in the adjoining bar restaurant
which belongs to the hotel , but is often frequented by locals . Good atmosphere.
Breakfast was substantial and in addition to ham cheese , bread rolls etc , fried eggs were also
available freshly cooked.Freshly brewed coffee from the bar .
Situated two minutes walk from the promenade , next to Dom Pedro Baia hotel which unfortunately overshadows it .
Very good value , would stay there again . recommended.

Room Tip: Room on right at top of stairs . there is a sitting room outside of room which is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The room and bathroom where very clean and we also had fantastic sea views.I feel very comfortable without spending too much money and the position in machico is excellent. The continental breakfast is good, too. 100% recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limodresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We loved our stay! The room was very comfortable and clean, and the residential is very close to the beach and other amenities (few minutes on foot). The owner and all the staff are lovely and very helpful. Make us feel at home!
We suggest the residential's restaurant for dinner. It serves a delicious typical dish "filetes espada com banana frita e molho de maracujá".
We certainly will return to Madeira and, of course, we will choose to stay at residencial Família!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria_HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Machico hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Waters Hotel
White Waters Hotel
#2 of 2 in Machico
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Amparo
Residencial Amparo
#1 of 4 in Machico
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residencial Prisma
Residencial Prisma
#4 of 4 in Machico
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perola de Machico
Perola de Machico
#2 of 3 in Machico
11 reviews
0 mi away
Vila Gama
Vila Gama
#3 of 3 in Machico
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Familia

Address: Sitio Pe da Ladeira | Caminho de S Roque 23 e 24, Machico, Madeira 9200-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Machico
Price Range: £33 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Familia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Residencial Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Familia Madeira/Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing