We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is large and a little like those old style communist hotels however the rooms are large clean with english tv the staff very friendly for the price it offers a very convenient option breafast was not great so I suspect the resturant is not up to much but the town has many pleasent little eateries walking distance from the hotel

Room Tip: higher floors as the is no air con so you can get a cool breeze from the window if stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    247
    215
    84
    52
See reviews for
143
336
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is fine, we had a nice very clean room with a view over the sea/ harbour from the 9th floor, the lift has a glass wall and is very quick.
Nice pool - salt water but not as salty as the sea.
we had bed and breakfast which was a wide selction of the usual stuff. most other guests were all inclusive.
the town is small and very clean, with an artificial beach and a small protected bit of sea to swim in although many local people swim in the sea off the rocky shore - there are jetties and steps into the water which is clear and clean. The airport is just round the cliff so planes zoom in and out but when we were there in october there weren't too many flights so not a problem.

Room Tip: ask for sea view as the other side of this 10 floor hotel is a cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hotel was an adequate 3* - clean (rooms cleaned daily, as expected), good quiet location and right on the sea front with a beach very close. The pool was also clean and the pool area kept tidy. Pool towels/mats are available for free.

Limited food and beverages - not ideal for an AI resort.

Activities/animation (aqua aerobics etc) seemed none existent, but not a problem for us. Advertised activities such as kayaking, bicycles, sailing are no longer available - a suggestion would be to update the internal advertising.

The staff were not social and slow at clearing tables and taking drink orders during meals. I tried my very limited Portuguese at the Pool Bar and got a barrage of very fast-spoken Portuguese back. I had no idea what they were saying but there were no smiles on their faces... Also the reception staff did not seem very eager to assist - I felt as though I was interrupting them whenever I asked for assistance. We had to find out all hotel information (meal times, pool and general information) ourselves as, at check in, the receptionist said barely a word - no greeting speech whatsoever.

The food was ok - a lot of garlic was used with all the fish. A good enough choice.

Machico itself is a great, quiet location. A few nice little bars on the sea front and a very sleepy feel to the town. The bus journey to Funchal was only 30 minutes (on the Express) and 3 Euros - recommended for a day trip if you want a bit more variety during the day.

Will definitely return to Madeira but will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms and higher will give you a great view of the bay - marina, beach and promenade - pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyP360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Baía Hotel and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

Thus it is crucial for us to know these standards have measured up to your expectations.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely,



Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Good break, VERY clean hotel, fantastic panoramic views, very efficient, but in the whole week of our stay not one member of the hotels staff acknowledged us with any form of greeting morning or night in the restauarant, bar or at reception, at the pool bar and inside bar all the staff were off hand and semed either tired or over worked and really did not want to be there, one bar person was very rude to a guest, but because of the language barrier the guest luckily for them! did not respond, the attitude of the staff was that the guests were getting their food and drinks for free, that was the only drawback, Machico was delightful, really good, use the local transport to get around, good restuarants close by, good beach, do not go if you are looking for fast food and the trappings of the English high street, or night life, although you will find it in Funchal 40mins away, entertainment in the hotel is quite old fashioned but quite nice, it does advertise a lot of activities though, that are not available.

Room Tip: have a room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Baía Hotel and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely,



Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celle, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I know that the recession has hit places hard but when you pay 4 Star in Europe you would expect better than this.
The selection of food was poor, childrens entertainment didn't exist, the room was small and in a state of disrepair, service at the bars was cold and slow at best, our 'rep' was more interested in our children than explaining the island- apparantly there is nothing to do, the scuba diving school didnt exist and the all inclusive drinks tasted like the dregs of a dingy pub drip trays- dont even think about getting 'cocktails'.
When I say the selection of food was poor breakfast consisted of two items of cooked food.. boiled eggs and mini hot dogs for example. To be fair the selection of cold foods were adequate, the usual continental spread. Lunch and evening meals were basically repeats, two choice of meats either a sea food or tough red meat- I actually enjoyed the sea food but my wife and 2 year old son did not which left whatever red meat was on offer or the standard vegetarian cold selection- which was the same each day.
The childrens entertainment was beyond a joke, the room designated for them did not open once during our stay. The 'animation' team would have been more adequately named the 'animation?' team, again not once during our stay did they become animated instead sat in the shade sporadically throughout the day and disappeared . The childrens pool was not heated, my youngest of five months could only go in for ten minutes at most before being treated for mild hypothermia, which is a shame because she is a natural water baby. The main pool was actually not bad, cold but it was a salt water pool so it was to be expected.
The room was much smaller than explained on teletext and on the hotels website, we were provided only one cot for two babies as there were no others in the hotel. So until day four our two year old slept on one single whilst me in and my wife slept on another. We had to push the cots against the rooms ventilation system, which didn't work, because it was coming away from the wall through lack of screws.
Well enough ranting, at least it had the bonus of me now looking forward to getting back to work.
Happy Holidays.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shammy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Machico hotels

UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Dom Pedro Baia in Machico for 10 days at the beginning of August. Myself and my partner and our 3 children 17, 14 and 10. What a great hotel! The staff are all so friendly and made you feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and very spacious and the food was excellent. I don't think that we ate the same thing twice in the whole 10 days. The hotel is very close to the airport. We didnt get any noise in our room, but our kids were across the corridor and they got some plane noise, which wasnt really disturbing as it only lasted about 15 seconds before the planes banked out to sea. The town of Machico is lovely and it is very easy to get the local bus to Funchal. All in all a great place, we all loved it and will be going back one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEATHER030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Madam,

We thank you for choosing the Dom Pedro Baía, and for sharing your kind opinions with us concerning our staffs and service. We were so pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time at our Hotel.

Machico is indeed a magnificent City and we thank you for your high praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Dom Pedro Baía Club, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on three or four occassions and would love to go back again. What we really like is the ease with which you can stroll in to the lovely town of Machico in the evenings and ahave a drink or snack.

We never eat in the hotel in the evenings, but often used the "Family Restaurant" opposite which is excellent.

The pool is very nice and kept clean.

Room Tip: Try to get the family rooms in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebble60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Sr,
Thank you for choosing the Dom Pedro Baia Hotel, and for sharing your kind opinion., I was delighted to hear you had an en enjoyable time at our Hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you again sson.

Sincerely,

Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels - Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
2.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Monte Mar Palace
Monte Mar Palace
#1 of 1 in Ponta Delgada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
11.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club

Property: Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club
Address: Estrada De Sao Roque, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2004 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club Madeira/Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing