We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”
Review of Dom Pedro Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dom Pedro Madeira
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel [Feb 2012] on B&B basis.
Large plain and dated exterior but the public rooms are all very pleasant with good views across the bay and town. Bedroom was average size, clean and comfortable, [no kettle]
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Buffet breakfast was OK with both hot and cold choices, lots of fresh fruit.
The pool area was fine with a large unheated pool.
Did not eat supper as lots of local choice in the small town within very short distance.
The hotel is close to the airport and there is a bus service to Funchal.
All in all a good choice for a short stay in this quiet town.

Room Tip: A sea view would be preferable - probably the higher the better - but would have to check for balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    285
    238
    91
    54
See reviews for
158
384
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have just returned from a weeks break at this hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is an easy walk into the town and there is an excellent bus service into Funchal just a few minutes walk away. BUT the food is very poor and extras such as coffee and drinks are not readilt available if you do not know where to go. I spent a week eating cheese salad as the main courses and the majority of the soups were bland and poorly cooked. The Desert table had serveral gateaux to choose from but this choice did not vary all week - as I was All Inclusive this was 14 meals! Breakfasts were not much better althouth there was always fresh apples, oranges and banana's available. Vegetarian options on the menu rarely appeared and when asked for the answer was "it will have to be cooked", I am not veggie but thought the choice might be an improvement on what was on show.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank samsmum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Machico hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have just spent 1 week at this hotel. The hotel is large and the staff very friendly but it is difficult for anyone with walking difficulties as hand rails inside and out are in very short supply. Lifts are available but there are split levels which prove difficult to negotiate. The main complaint is regards the restaurant food. Choice is extremely limited. unimaginative and not plentiful.After speaking to the Mercury Direct rep. I was told to speak to the Chef !! I explained it was her job, and next day the afternoon sandwiches changed from one complete tray of ham (no butter) sandwiches, to a complete tray of cheese.
The following day we had a choice of both, complete with a slice of tomato !! Locals confirm that this Hotel has a bad reputation for its food.







Locals cpnfirm this reputation.
S

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Well where to start, before staying at this hotel I read the reviews, but decided not to make
any snap judgements.

Hotel was clean, nice quiet location, in need of a bit of refurbishment. As per people comments
on the website they were'nt too far out. Food selection was non existent, fish each night,
and one choice of meat. Boiled potates 9 days out of ten, 1 choice of hot vegetable, usual
selection for people from the continent which I understand. Breakfast was the same, scrambled eggs 5 days out of 10. pool snacks were quite good. Staff not very friendly at all. Reception
staff just carried on looking at their key boards when walking up to the desk, only one lady
(did not take here name, about age 40 wore glasses) very helpful.
Entertainment very very poor, different solo singers, singing the same songs each night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is large and a little like those old style communist hotels however the rooms are large clean with english tv the staff very friendly for the price it offers a very convenient option breafast was not great so I suspect the resturant is not up to much but the town has many pleasent little eateries walking distance from the hotel

Room Tip: higher floors as the is no air con so you can get a cool breeze from the window if stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is fine, we had a nice very clean room with a view over the sea/ harbour from the 9th floor, the lift has a glass wall and is very quick.
Nice pool - salt water but not as salty as the sea.
we had bed and breakfast which was a wide selction of the usual stuff. most other guests were all inclusive.
the town is small and very clean, with an artificial beach and a small protected bit of sea to swim in although many local people swim in the sea off the rocky shore - there are jetties and steps into the water which is clear and clean. The airport is just round the cliff so planes zoom in and out but when we were there in october there weren't too many flights so not a problem.

Room Tip: ask for sea view as the other side of this 10 floor hotel is a cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hotel was an adequate 3* - clean (rooms cleaned daily, as expected), good quiet location and right on the sea front with a beach very close. The pool was also clean and the pool area kept tidy. Pool towels/mats are available for free.

Limited food and beverages - not ideal for an AI resort.

Activities/animation (aqua aerobics etc) seemed none existent, but not a problem for us. Advertised activities such as kayaking, bicycles, sailing are no longer available - a suggestion would be to update the internal advertising.

The staff were not social and slow at clearing tables and taking drink orders during meals. I tried my very limited Portuguese at the Pool Bar and got a barrage of very fast-spoken Portuguese back. I had no idea what they were saying but there were no smiles on their faces... Also the reception staff did not seem very eager to assist - I felt as though I was interrupting them whenever I asked for assistance. We had to find out all hotel information (meal times, pool and general information) ourselves as, at check in, the receptionist said barely a word - no greeting speech whatsoever.

The food was ok - a lot of garlic was used with all the fish. A good enough choice.

Machico itself is a great, quiet location. A few nice little bars on the sea front and a very sleepy feel to the town. The bus journey to Funchal was only 30 minutes (on the Express) and 3 Euros - recommended for a day trip if you want a bit more variety during the day.

Will definitely return to Madeira but will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms and higher will give you a great view of the bay - marina, beach and promenade - pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyP360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomPGarajau, General Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

We thank your preference for the Dom Pedro Baía Hotel and remarks about our Hotel which we will use as guide line to improve our service.

Thus it is crucial for us to know these standards have measured up to your expectations.

We assure you your comments have received our fullest attention, and sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely,



Fernando Rito
General Manager
Dom Pedro Hotels Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
2.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,025 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#33 of 86 in Funchal
1,704 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#8 of 13 in Canico
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
1.8 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Madeira

Property: Dom Pedro Madeira
Address: Estrada De Sao Roque, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Madeira Ocean Beach Hotel Located on the east coast of the Madeira Island, at Machico Bay, with a stunning view over the sea, Ilhas Desertas and Ponta de São Lourenço. Only 50 meters from one of the few Madeira’s white sandy beach, the hotel features a large salt water pool with a view of Machico Bay, a diving center, tennis and volleyball court. The hotel has a buffet restaurant, serving regional and international cuisine and two bars, where the famous Madeira beverage "poncha" and the unique “bolo do caco” cake are served. To ensure your holiday is worry-free, the Dom Pedro Machico hotel also offers an All-Inclusive option: with meals, drinks and activities included. To make your holiday a unique experience Machico is a peaceful town with a variety of traditional restaurants and bars. This Island is the perfect destination for nature lovers, walk along the most beautiful “levadas” and paths of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Pedro Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia
Dom Pedro Madeira Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing