We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not eat or drink here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Pedro Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Pedro Madeira
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Burnham on sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do not eat or drink here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back from a weeks all inclusive the food is bad,and everything is cheap brand also the drink and it is un drinkable we had to pay for meals out and buy our own drink.We drink Bacardi and what they were serving was gut rot stuff. I complained but got no where just a shrug of the shoulders from the management .The hotel is clean but do not stay here it is 20 miles from Funchal and the local resaurants did not fair much better
We love Madeira but will never return to the Dom Pedro it is a dump

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmilyBurnhamonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    261
    222
    87
    52
See reviews for
151
347
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just back from a weeks stay at this lovely, friendly hotel.staff very helpful and courteous.
Rooms kept clean, beds comfy.Spacious areas within hotel,outdoor pool cleaned daily.Food varied and copious

Room Tip: view over the prom/sea/hillside good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Excellent location. Minutes from the airport. Panoramic views from hotel. Beautiful, friendly local village with quaint churches, bars and restaurants all dressed up for xmas.Piped music in the street.Eating out very good. 10 euros for 14% proof bottle red wine. Gala meals at hotel great, then all a bit downhill after that. So we ate out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just back after 1 week's stay. The hotel was clean and the room adequate, however the hot food was awful both for choice and taste. There was no atmosphere although there was entertainment each evening but other guests did not support it. First time in Madeira but would not return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Machico hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel (and our room) overlooks Machico Bay and has easy access to the airport ( we walked the 2 km) and to the myriad of small restaurants in the adjacent cobbled streets. It is about 1 km to the bus station, which has a huge supermarket next door. It is obviously a 1970's package holiday hotel but it has aged well and offered us excellent value. The lounge area has great sea views and fast WiFi. Buffet breakfast is good and service friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Denise0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel offers a great value holiday. The only let down of the holiday is occasionally the food - although you certainly would never go hungry. For walking the location is superb - armed with the Madeira Sunflower guide you can access plenty of walks by bus, and there is always a taxi at the end to whisk you back to the hotel.
The hotel is not much changed from the last time we stayed there 14 years ago. Machico has expanded - but for the better. It now has a promenade along the front, and plenty of shops. The character of the place hasn't been spoilt

Room Tip: High room. facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The staff were lovely, the rooms were ok but the food wasnt great. For a 4 star you would expect more. Id say it was more a 3 star. My husband and I are in our late twenties and we were yhe youngest guests by far. Average age over 50. Entertainment poor and not great facilities. Overall we were very disappointed. There wasn't much choice with the food. The online pictures were very misleading. They made the pool look massive but its not its tiny. Location good, by sea front but there isnt much to do there. There is a tiny man made beach, the pictures make it look big but its actually so smakl. No good for kids here, only the elderly or people who just want to relax and do nothing...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisasimpson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machico
5.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#9 of 14 in Canico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
15.3 mi away
Monte Mar Palace
Monte Mar Palace
#1 of 1 in Ponta Delgada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Madeira

Property: Dom Pedro Madeira
Address: Estrada De Sao Roque, Machico, Madeira 9200-126, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Machico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Machico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Pedro Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Madeira Ocean Beach Hotel Located on the east coast of the Madeira Island, at Machico Bay, with a stunning view over the sea, Ilhas Desertas and Ponta de São Lourenço. Only 50 meters from one of the few Madeira’s white sandy beach, the hotel features a large salt water pool with a view of Machico Bay, a diving center, tennis and volleyball court. The hotel has a buffet restaurant, serving regional and international cuisine and two bars, where the famous Madeira beverage "poncha" and the unique “bolo do caco” cake are served. To ensure your holiday is worry-free, the Dom Pedro Machico hotel also offers an All-Inclusive option: with meals, drinks and activities included. To make your holiday a unique experience Machico is a peaceful town with a variety of traditional restaurants and bars. This Island is the perfect destination for nature lovers, walk along the most beautiful “levadas” and paths of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia
Dom Pedro Madeira Machico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing