We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Elegance there if you use your imagination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bussaco Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 and this is the state of the palace at that time.

In January 2013 a tornado went through taking out huge trees which now still block some of the walking trails and remain fallen on buildings, some of them damaging and allowing rain and the elements into valuable historical treasurers. In the main palace we noticed panes missing in the stained glass window. As far as our room goes, we had a spectacular view but the bed was uncomfortable, 10" tv was not usable and no music available, no internet in room, bathroom clean but just adequate, room not sound proof (you can hear everything in the hallways). Our meal was tasty, expensive, but left me still hungry (I'm small and not a huge eater). It was nice to see and say we stayed there but it is roughing it in a run down old-world has been and very obvious that not enough funds are being spent to maintain it's star rating. Save the money and do a day visit. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The palace is splendid and is something that you always dream to sleep in. The garden and the forest are very nice too. Inside everything keeps up to the palace atmosphere, nice furniture and tiles. There is an elevator, so no need to stay on the ground floor. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The room is small but functional. I have to say that for a 5 star hotel I was disappointed not to find slippers, pen and shoe horn. There was no wifi in the room (was supposed to be everywhere!) and the telephone gave the busy tone all the time. When I complained at the reception, the concierge that was there gave me some feeble reply that things should work, but made no attempt to try and fix things. Those things spoiled the general expectations from the 5 star hotel. The price was very fair though, so would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lidguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

with a history dating back to 1094, this hotel is a must for history buffs. It takes you to the time of the great universities of antiquity, Coimbra... it sits on the same mountain range. originally a royal hunting lodge, its architecture is neo-Manueline, a distinctive style originating from King Manuel's time. while the formal gardens, the ancient 100ha arboretum and the nice views to the atlantic bring great character to this hotel, don't expect modern chic rooms. you're here not for a modern hotel.

I loved the old lift, and the restaurant and public rooms. having breakfast here is alone worth the visit. I walked the gardens, full of little surprises around every corner, and if you've got a guide, the place comes to life.

the church of the holy cross, built by the first Carmelite monks, is a gem. note the use of cork oak in its construction.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the formal gardens are especially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldCitizenMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have looking to visit Hotel Bussaco for many year and to stay on this palace was a great thing on this visit to Portugal was simple great!
The rooms are ok not that big. It is funny the bathroom is the same size of the bedroom.
I was very impressed with hallways and the living rooms and the front desk were great size and beautiful.
The gardens are fantastic, you are in a national park. the last thing the breakfast was great quality and the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife, our children, her mother and sister, (I know- was I crazy!) ate dinner here 25 years ago out on the veranda overlooking the gardens on a beautiful May evening and the experience was like a fairy tale. I have wanted to return if we ever traveled to Portugal again. Well we did and we did - return this time to stay overnight and eat dinner and breakfast. The ole girl has suffer mightily since that time but is still a charming place for the right price. Being February this time it rained nearly constantly but we did get in an afternoon hike. And the room rate was good. It's an incredible building that is in need of repair in places. The rooms might seem dated but are large and comfortable. The grounds (surrounding park land) have suffered even more due to a storm in 2013 and 2014. Some of the trails are blocked due to fallen trees. The restaurant is still in nice shape as is the lounge. The food is good, nicely presented and the service excellent - "old school" one might say. Staying there is a unique experience if you are willing to make the effort to get to Luso.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Palace Hotel is impressive to look at. From all angles, one cannot fail to take a lot of photos of this confection of a place. Unfortuately, the bedrooms don't live up to the overall elegance of the surroundings. Our room was dated, drapes were threadbare, there was mould and mildew in the bathroom. If they put some effort into improving/ maintaining the bedrooms, this would be a real gem of a palace.

The consequences of having such a huge place, we suppose, is that costs have to be cut to maintain the hotel. So, while service in the dining room and at the reception area was fantastic, the staffing in the bar was woefully inadequate. There was only one waiter, who was quite frazzled, had to deal with a large tour group and also hotel guests on his own.

Staying at the hotel gives you free reign at the premises as well as the adjacent forest park. This is definitely worthwhile to fully experience the place. However, it also means you're a long way from town and cannot easily walk to dining or other attractions.

Breakfast was included and was excellent. A very well provided buffet, served in a fantastic dining room, with views to the garden. We got an excellent price for this hotel (low season) which made this stay very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Girls (8 of us) trip to Europe and Bussaco was our first stay, we visited Bussaco, Luso, Coimbra & Lisbon, Portugal.
It was quite a journey to get here and one of the van broke down on the hwy but they came about an 1.5hrs later after we had dinner. It was very hard to find this palace in the dark, both taxi drivers got lost but thank goodness, we finally found it!
We came just in time before they closed down for the evening and even had a bottle of wine in the lobby area.
It's an OLD monastery but the gardens and surroundings was absolutely breathtaking! We had dinner and breakfast there, food was very expensive but delicious. Their breakfast spread was fabulous.
We also hiked and got lost but it was well worth the hike. Found many neat cave like bldgs. during the hike.
We had a room with 2 twin beds and boy do the floors creak when you walk. No A/C in the room so we slept with the windows cracked open. Felt very safe!
I'm glad we got to experienced this palace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
6.1 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Alegre Hotel Bussaco
0.9 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
23.4 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussaco Palace Hotel

Address: Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Luso
Price Range: £79 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bussaco Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bussaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussaco Palace Luso
Hotel Bussaco Palace
Bussaco Palace Hotel Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing