We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For once I'm writing in response to a few other reviews.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bussaco Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bussaco Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Los Altos, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For once I'm writing in response to a few other reviews.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Those who give this hotel poor or terrible reviews show much about themselves, little about the hotel.

It's beautiful, the food is SUPERB, the staff is wonderful.

Yeah, it's a step into the past. What do you want from Europe, Nashville?

There are still ugly Americans around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    219
    128
    61
    30
See reviews for
127
399
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Bussaco was a dream. My friend and I stayed there for one night, and loved every minute. The hotel is stunning, the food and wine delicious, the staff friendly. Only complaint would be that it was quite warm in the room - but that's Europe. The hotel is off-the-beaten-path, but well worth the travel. Enjoy a relaxing visit, hike, and evening at Bussaco, and try their own wine!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place takes you back in time. The decor, tha flavours and smells, everything takes you back in time. The rooms are huge - as well as the the bathrooms all in marble. But, the bed, well.. It's not that confortable, and, in my room, the heater was too warm. The room also hasn't a cable TV. It's a nice experience, but you have to have on your mind that you are not going to be on hotel of this age.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Magnificent location, in a wooded national park, near the site of a famous battlefield of the Peninsular War. Secluded, with a beautiful garden. Adjoining a former Carmelite convent.
Built in "neo-manuelino" style, the Portuguese version of neo-gothic.
Grand drawing and dining rooms. Guest rooms vary in style and size.
Shabby chic, and quite magical with it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Reached by a long twisting road, the palace and grounds are beautiful. The site is a national park, a gorgeous forested area with a landscaped garden surrounding the buildings. Take time to see the Convento museum on the property. The hotel has an impressive and beautifully tiled lobby, rooms are dated and weird, but comfortable and very quiet. The service and style of the restaurant are very old world, wonderfully homemade touches and lots of care in the presentation.
Nice highlights include a welcome glass of bubbly in the restaurant and a bottle of local red brought to the room!!
Food so so, which seemed odd given all the other great features of the place. A definite worthwhile detour to give you a new perspective on the area.

Room Tip: lovely views from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, our group only stayed one night at the Bussaco Palace so we didn't get to stroll the forested grounds. We did enjoy the spacious room, the restaurant and the gardens! Felt like we were in a fairy tale.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mags52vancouverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The driveway to the front was thrilling, it's like Vampire movie setting which totally exceeded my imagination. The palace itself is magnificent, it's worth the trip even just to see that piece of property. We got the basic room when we visited. small room but huge bathroom. Btw I loved the water, the local town produces the best mineral water I have ever had, even the bathroom water feels like mineral water. You can't expect it to be an actual 5 star standard resort though. Dinner was not bad, although the dining room is so beautiful and it feels like you live in an old movie. The whole place is more about the atmosphere and the history behind it.
Do rent a car to explore Portugal. It's very easy to drive in Portugal, and gives you access to places like this. I actually love the fact that it's not easily accessible by public transportation so the palace remains an unspoiled gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenjiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
0.9 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
6.1 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
12.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alegre Hotel
Alegre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Luso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
23.4 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel
Melia Ria Hotel
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bussaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bussaco Palace Hotel

Property: Bussaco Palace Hotel
Address: Mata do Bussaco, Luso 3050-261, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Bussaco Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Bussaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussaco Palace Luso
Hotel Bussaco Palace
Bussaco Palace Hotel Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing