We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel with welcoming host”
Review of Alegre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alegre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel with welcoming host”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at hotel Alegre for two nights in August, during a road trip around Portugal, and it was one of the best hotels we stayed at - and certainly the best one for value for money! The manager, a lovely old gentleman, did not speak much English but spoke impeccable French, which I do, and went out of his way to advise us on places to visit and where to eat. There was a nice garden at the back, with a small swimming pool, by which we enjoyed relaxing after our long walks in the woods. Our room, like the rest of the hotel, was beautiful, with lovely antique furniture, and very clean. The breakfast buffet offered basic but nice food. For 50 Euros a night, we couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Madam

We are glad that you were pleased with our hotel and we thank you for your generous evaluation. We hope to have you again has our guests in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    75
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
429 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We just wanted a quiet place to relax after 2 weeks touring through Portugal. One of the best places ... even if rated with 2 stars only, this hotel was a very nice surprise, from friendly and helpful staff (old-fashioned, but still agile hotel owner), to great rooms & breakfast, a wonderful swimming pool, close by the village and the Bussaco Forrest. I would only add a bar in the lobby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegreHotel, Manager at Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Sirs

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations and hope to have you again, as our guests, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is a VERY special hotel. It remains true to it's heritage as a traditional spa hotel. For me it brings home old memories but I'm not old enough to have been there in the 40-50's. Mind you, all this means the infrastructure shows the weight of many years (even some of the patrons...) but the staff make up for less modern comforts with much sympathy and warmth. The pool is very agreeable and the Luso spa is a few hundred meters below. While in Luso DO NOT miss out on the wine and gourmet shop Magna Casta, next to the tourism office.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ric_melo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The three generations of owners of the Alegre have maintained this hotel in top condition, and have maintained a delightful atmosphere with antique furnishings. Through a short cut beside the hotel it's a ten minute walk to an entrance to Busaco.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I was here with my mother & partner in a triple room and we had a perfect stay. It's in the perfect location, set on the hill above a beautiful small village (Luso), walking distance from the Palace and Forest of Bussaco (absolute must-see attractions) and a short bus or train ride to Coimbra. The hotel has fantastic old-world charm, from the vine-covered gazebo in the back garden to the elegant rooms, and it has been run by the same family for three generations. Facilities were excellent, including a pool, café/bar, wifi (though it didn't work well inside the room) & reasonable breakfast. Staff were very helpful with any requests. The only negative thing I have to say about the whole experience is don't get your laundry done here - they charged us €19 for 1 load!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

An old hotel in a good location. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ameliaandtoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I had a pleasure to spent 5 days in the Alegre Hotel in Luso in autumn 2006. The hotel overlooks the town and the surroundings from a hill which ascends further up to the magnificent Bussaco forest. The building is impressive and well kept, the wooden furniture and decorations adds a special feeling about the rooms. There is a small garden with a pool in the backyard, though it was already too cold to swim when I was there, there is another small garden with some fruit trees near the building. The place is quiet and little bit melancholic, may be because the town was semi-deserted in the off-season time.

Is is possible to walk up to the Bussaco forest, though riding a car would be a better option due to a steep ascent. The hotel has a private parking.

I had very nice recollection about the breakfast, being a fan of that type of black coffee which was served in the hotel. The fruits were available, in addition to cereals, fresh bread, cheese and ham. A lunch and a dinner are also available at the restaurant in the hotel, though I found that I generally dislike portuguese cuisine except for soups, fish and desserts so I wasn't frequent in this restaurant - but it was worth trying!

The room was spacious, with large bathroom, very clean and featured a view over the town.

The town, Luso is located in the very middle of the northern part of Portugal which makes it possible to have a daily car trips to almost every major touristic location returning back in the evening, instead of changing hotel in different cities each day. The Bussaco forest with the park and the palace are very impressive and full of spiritual energy, I spent many hours walking the paths there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martinlemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luso
0.8 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
5.3 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quinta dos Tres Pinheiros
0.2 mi away
Inatel Luso
Inatel Luso
#4 of 7 in Luso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Hotel

Property: Alegre Hotel
Address: Rua Emidio Navarro nr 2 | Bussaco, Luso 3050-224, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Luso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Luso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alegre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegre is a delightful, intimate little hotel nestled in exquisite woodlands in Luso, Portugal. The perfect hotel for the guest eager to get away from it all and find a lazy retreat to recharge the batteries! Why not take a drink out to the pool and bask in the sunshine? For those more energetic guests there are a myriad of rambling trails to choose from each benefiting from spectacular scenery emphasized by the nearby Bussaco National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alegre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Hotel Luso
Alegre Hotel Portugal/Luso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing