We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quaint, family-owned hotel with one of the best views of the Douro River.”
Review of Hotel Douro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinhao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Douro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2010

The train from Porto to Pinhao is a wonderful ride along the Douro River arriving in Pinhao's train station where the Hotel Douro is directly across the street, no need for a taxi. The owner and his mother are very friendly hosts, informative and comforting. Mom is a wonderful cook, making us one of the best meals on our entire trip in the hotel's restaurant. The rooms are small but again, some of the best views of the Douro River. The bathroom was very adequate and a really good shower head. Our room was warm enough in a season where it was relatively cold. For the price, which includes a continental-style breakfast of cheeses, fresh bread, coffee, jams, and ham, this place is very worth it. If you are the kind of people who don't depend on ultimate luxury in their hotel and use it more for location, view and decent comfort as well as pleasant guests, then the Hotel Douro is a perfect match!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cotton55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residencialdouro, Gerente at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thanks for the critique.
Our Hotel Douro will ensure that our visitors have a good stay with us.
Best regards

Luis Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Our stay over Easter weekend at Hotel Douro was very pleasant. Luis was
a wonderful host, helping connect us with a personal tour of a private vineyard
and making sure all of our needs were 100% taken care of during our visit. The hotel is well located, right across the street from the Pinhao train station (which is lovely in itself). Next to the train station there is a small wine museum and a tourist information booth. We took a tour of the Douro Valley by train which was both relaxing and provided a great overview of this beautiful valley, its terraces and vineyards.
The rooms are quiet, clean and even though small, have everything one needs for a comfortable stay - including (to my surprise) a bathtub. There was a heater in the room, which came in handy during the evening. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony (overlooking the train station and river) during the day, however, as the temps flucuate quite a bit during spring. One of the highlights of our stay was the traditional Easter dinner of cabrito served in the hotel restaurant. It was unexpectedly delicious and well prepared, and served with potatoes and greens, the Portuguese way. Breakfasts were more than adequate, and included a tasty homemade marmalade for the breakfast roles, as well as meats and cheeses. We were made to feel welcome and well cared for during our stay and would very much recommend this reasonable hotel (50 Euro/night).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residencialdouro, Gerente at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thanks for the critique.
Our Hotel Douro will ensure that our visitors have a good stay with us.
Best regards

Luis Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We spent one night at the Hotel Douro very conveniently located in the center of Pinhao in the heart of the Douro Valley. The hotel is nearing the end of a renovation and things look great. It is located across the street from the train station so no taxi or long walk if that’s how you arrive. If driving, there is parking along the street. The rooms are simple but comfortable and ours was impeccably clean. Our view over the Douro River was fabulous. Breakfast was plentiful, yummy and early enough for us to get a good start on the day. There is not a lot to do in the town of Pinhao but if you are interested in Port or Portuguese wine this is the place to be. The Quintas surround the town and dozens are within easy reach. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and are great resource for town information.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoover2k8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residencialdouro, Gerente at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thanks for the critique.
Our Hotel Douro will ensure that our visitors have a good stay with us.
Best regards

Luis Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Stayed here 12/4/08 for two nights. Room 14. Paid 40 Euro prpn room only. Booked by telephone.

Located in the centre of Pinhao opposite the railway station, (train is the obvious way to arrive here along the attractive Douro Valley line from Porto).

This is a small pensao. We had a simple but pleasant room with a large door/window giving a wonderful view over the river and to the hills beyond. The room had a/c, but on a chilly day in April heating would have been more appropriate (which we appeared not to have).

Occasional noise from the street below, but this is a quiet town.

Breakfast is from 9.00 (at least on Sunday), so we did not have breakfast as we needed to leave early both mornings.

The owner was very pleasant and friendly.

We ate in their restaurant both evenings using the set menu - simple undramatic Portuguese food but well cooked and enjoyable.

Not much to do in Pinhao, but it is a relaxing place and good for travelling up and down the railway and its little branch lines.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residencialdouro, Gerente at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thanks for the critique.
Our Hotel Douro will ensure that our visitors have a good stay with us.
Best regards

Luis Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JÜrgen Georg Wi... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldouro, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Picknickje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldouro, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francisco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldouro, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Douro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinhao
0.1 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
0.2 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
150 reviews
24.7 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
285 reviews
12.7 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Douro

Address: Rua Antonio Manuel Saraiva 39, Pinhao 5085-037, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Pinhao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pinhao
Price Range: £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Douro 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the Pinhao...Pinhao is a village from the Alijo County, located on the right side of the Douro River. This little town is also one of the most beautiful places of Portugal.The peaceful village has an area of about 300 acres.Pinhao is 17 kilometres far from the county seat Alijo and 38 kilometres from the capital of the district, Vila Real. The toponymy of Pinhao is justified by the fact that you can find there the junction of the Pinhao River, which is an affluent of the Douro. Pinhao is located on the very heart of the Upper Douro Region. It`s a village where the astonished landscape is dominated by the mountain, shaped in terraces all along the Douro River. The quality and the good reception of our house make the difference. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing