We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view over Oporto/ Good service/Food doesnt justify the price”
Review of Barao de Fladgate

Barao de Fladgate
Reserve with
Barao de Fladgate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$84
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Barão Fladgate Restaurant enjoys a spectacular location and atmospheric setting in the grounds of Taylor's Port cellars with magnificent views across the Douro River to the old historic centre of Porto. It offers a contemporary interpretation of traditional cuisine where the accent is on fresh local ingredients and on showcasing the authentic flavours of Portugal. The wine list features a wide variety of labels from the main Portuguese vineyard areas and, as would be expected, a comprehensive choice of both wood-aged and Vintage Ports. In summer, Barão Fladgate opens its al fresco terrace area where guests can enjoy a choice of light dishes while enjoying the spectacular panorama of the old city.
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I live in town and use to come often to this restaurant manly when i receive foreigners, but in the last visits quality of the food doesnt convince; deserts have are visually very nice but tasteless.
This restaurant belong to one of the Oporto Wine Cellar- Taylors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henriquemourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSEC_Management, Gerente at Barao de Fladgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Henrique Mourão,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Every report is very valuable to the team. Rest assured that your remarks were referenced to our team so they improve the necessary procedures in order to meet our quality standards that you are used to.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future
Kind regards
Ana Ferro – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Barao de Fladgate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had reservations for lunch in July 2013 and it ended up being an early lunch so we had the whole place to ourselves. Well worth the money, food was great, service was attentive but not overbearing and the view was amazing. Weather was too windy to sit outside on this trip - next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSEC_Management, Gerente at Barao de Fladgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Chandra,
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback, which we shared with the team.
We were delighted to read that you have fond memories of the moment you had with us.
We do hope that you visit us in a near future and have the opportunity to sit in the terrace.
Kind regards
Ana Ferro – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

For the prices asked for the meal, the quality is just plain average (in absolute terms it is naturally good, but in the league it aims to be it's not more than average).

The view is nice, but the room felt too big and not very cosy.

Thank André R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSEC_Management, Gerente at Barao de Fladgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Aferrazir,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, which is very valuable to us.
Please rest assured that we will take the measures we believe are appropriate to correct the notes mentioned and that we will continue to do our best to improve the quality of our services and standards.
We do look forward to receive you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Ana Ferro – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After the tasting of 40 year old Ports we experienced at TaylorFladgate, we just had to stick around until 7:30pm for a dinner. We had a lovely dinner, very attentive service and excellent wine. Though pricey, the beautiful dining room and view of old Porto made it a memorable night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSEC_Management, Gerente at Barao de Fladgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Joan,
Thank you for your review and your nice compliments to the service.
It was a pleasure for us to read your notes, we were glad to know that you have fond memories of your memento with us.
We do look forward to welcome you again at Barão Fladgate in a near future
Kind regards
Ana Ferro – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Being a vegetarian can be a bit challenging in Portugal and after a week in the north I longed for a proper vegetarian meal when we came to Porto for our last night. Sadly, the (on Tripadvisor) widely praised vegetarian restaurant in Porto was closed that week which we realised just before the taxi that took us there had speeded off and we asked to be taken to our second choice, this delightful port lodge in Vila Nova de Gaia with a stunning view of Porto, at the other end of town - admittedly, I was attracted to it by the mention of a vegetarian dish in our guide book. We arrived just before the restaurant opened for dinner and spent some time outside on the balcony, enjoying the view, before being seated inside. The complimentary white port aperitif was a nice welcome. We had a number of tasty starters (olives and other small dishes, nice bread), followed by my longed-for vegetarian dish, a simple but tasty (if somewhat overpriced for what it is) peasant-style polenta dish with roasted vegetables. My partner enjoyed his fish. Puddings were good but not as outstanding as expected. Service was pleasant if a bit over-attentive (I prefer to pour my own wine). There were two young musicians playing an inoffensive medley of classic and popular tunes, which felt a bit touristy. I really enjoyed my organic port at the end of the meal - somewhat different from what is passed around at Oxbridge dining nights! We spent a very pleasant and enjoyable evening, perfect for the last evening of our holiday. We asked for the bill and a cab and were slightly surprised that the next thing we heard was that the taxi had arrived but no attempt was being made to return the change - we would have preferred to make our own decision how much to tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PilpelAdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barao de Fladgate also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Barao de Fladgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing