We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spa I've Found!”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed at the Yeatman on three different occasions and each time I was blown away by the gorgeous rooms, the incredible view of the Douro River, and the impressive service.

The Caudalie Spa and the staff at the spa are hands-down the best element of this hotel. During my last visit (January 2013) I was lucky enough to do a 3-day "cure" at the spa, and the entire experience was out of this world. I have since recommended both the spa and the hotel to any of my friends who want to visit Portugal.

I've also had amazing experiences at the restaurant. The food is absolutely divine, the wait staff very attentive, and regardless of how many courses I ordered, the "gifts" from the chef were the best part! Though the menu doesn't indicate it, the wait staff is more than willing to do wine pairings with any of the courses...and I loved experiencing local wines.

One note...if you're renting a car, always, always get the extra insurance! The roads near this hotel are insane and the risk of going without insurance is just not worth it.

Thank you to the Yeatman, which I always claim as the best hotel I've found anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the spring, ask for a room on the highest possible floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear eabarber

Many thanks for your kind comments!
We are pleased to read your impressions as our repeated Guest regarding the wonderful view from our rooms over Oporto and the Douro River, the Michelin starred The Restaurant and The Caudalie Vinothérapie® Spa at The Yeatman.
The rest of the team will be very pleased to hear your compliments since the quality of our service and guests’ satisfaction is of utmost importance to us.
We would be pleased in welcoming you back to The Yeatman during your next visit to Oporto. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance prior to your visit.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

My friends and I stayed at The Yeatman for a few days and absolutely loved it. The service was impeccable (especially Ms. Yennifer at the front desk who went above and beyond), the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the wine bar (and view of Oporto from the wine bar) was perfect. The hotel felt elegant and cozy at the same time. The type of place where you could relax and lounge in a comfortable sofa with a delicious glass of wine and then head to dinner at a Michelin star restaurant.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the great view of Oporto so you can't go wrong. I liked my ground floor (floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reneed586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Reneed586,

What a delight to read about the experience of your stay at The Yeatman. We are pleased that our staff provided an attentive and professional service and your kind compliments are much appreciated by all of us.
Thank you for your kind feedback and for recommending our Hotel. We look forward to The Yeatman to remain a fantastic experience to remember for long.
Please do let us know if there is anything we can do to assist prior to your next visit to our Hotel.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We arrived at the Yeatman a day early because our previous hotel was so bad. What a wonderful place! The staff are over-the-top attentive and warm. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed and the bathroom so comfortable. Lovely breakfast and delicious one-star Michelin dinner. The only complaint is that one might we ate in the bar and the food and service were not good. Can't recommend this hotel enough1

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Nannysuef,

Thank you for sharing your very kind comments about your recent stay at The Yeatman.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our breakfast served in The Orangerie and your Michelin star dinner at The Restaurant. I am delighted to pass your kind compliments to our team!We look forward to welcoming you soon again next time you visit Porto.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I just can't say enough wonderful things about The Yeatman and it amazing staff. The hotel is gorgeous, with thoughtful and unexpected touches (like walking through the wine cellar to get to our room, to the heated bathroom floors, to the croquet lawn outside our terrace, and on and on and on). Our room was spacious and spotless and beautifully decorated. The Michelin-starred restaurant had exceptional food and service which we thoroughly enjoyed. The views across the river into Porto and stunning. Having said all that, what really sets The Yeatman apart is its staff. Thoroughly professional but incredibly caring and kind and patient. Vaida in the bar was a delight as she presented us with a series of delicious Portuguese wines to learn about on several occasions. Yennifer who spent an hour with us orienting us to Porto and Gaia and the various places and attractions we should see. Sergio who took care of our every need with a smile and a tip of his bowler hat. Ricardo who told us great stories about the Port wine families and the trade. If you're ever in Porto, this is the place you HAVE to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Wayne K.,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Yeatman.
We are pleased to read that during your stay our staff provided an attentive service contributing to your best experience during your visit to Oporto.
I am delighted to pass your kind compliments to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you to The Yeatman again in the future. Please do contact us prior to your next visit and we will be pleased to look after of all your requests.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and spent 2 nights at the Yeatman. Our room was beautiful with stunning views across the river and historic Porto (all the rooms have this view). We even had our own private terrace. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful without exception - definitely 5 star service without any of the snobbish attitude you can get with that. The Michelin starred restaurant was fantastic too and again staff were very helpful - I was newly pregnant so needed a few tweaks to some of the dishes. The spa is beautiful, pristine and again super friendly staff. The hotel'sposition up on the hill opposite the old town of Porto gives it fantastic views but does mean a steep walk down into town and back - no more than 15 mins though. Yes, it's an expensive hotel but quite honestly we found it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading, but all rooms have a terrific view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear LuceH,

Thank you for sharing your kind recommendation of The Yeatman. I will be very pleased to share your kind comments with the rest of the team.
I am pleased to read about your whole experience in our Hotel, from The Restaurant to the Caudalie Vinothérapie® Spa at The Yeatman, the stunning views and the priviledged position so close to the Historic Porto area.
We look forward to welcome you back to The Yeatman again in the future!

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was my second stay in Yeatman which is one of the most outstanding hotels in the world. Rooms are perfect,spacious. Staff very helpful, you don't see them but they are there if you need them. Spa is wonderfull and wine list absolutely adorable. View from the rooms is perfect. Food excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Damir H,

We are pleased to read your postivie experience as repeated guest at The Yeatman! Thank you for your kind feedback. We aim to provide an attentive and warm atmosphere to our guests always looking to keep the highest standard of service. I am delighted to pass your kind compliments to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Yeatman again in the future. Please do contact us if there is anything we can assist with prior to your next visit to Porto.

Kind regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Beautiful view of the city, the staff was great, at the hotel and at the spa.
For a short or long break, every room has a private balcony, with orange trees.
You can feel the calm, it is like a cocoon but with a large space.
The theme of the wine is everywhere, nothing bling, but lots of taste, I will definelty go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Guest Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Manuela777,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Yeatman. It is a delight to read your kind comments and I am very pleased to share them with the rest of our team.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Yeatman on your next visit to Oporto.

Best regards,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £182 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing