We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel,but not fantastic”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice hotel,but not fantastic”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel,well decorated,with spacious light,pretty rooms,very good view,nice terrace overlooking the Douro.Accepts dogs for a small charge.Good hotel parking.All good points.Our room was quite a walking distance from the lifts.The room was well equipped with a good sized en-suite ,all good value for money until you order room service,all priced as one would expect in a 5 star hotel with michelin stared restaurant,in a big city,this granted,I really don't see the need to charge an additional €10 room service charge even on a cup of tea!!!!! a big let down on principle! I expect to pay more for a listed room service item,( which you do),but that is all!!Please rethink the "tacky"€10 room service charge,really I don't know how much it was for a cup of tea ,but €10 on top ???.....and every time you order something????
It's just not right!!
As for the restaurant,we had a very large tasting menu,which was quite disappointing really with the exception of two out of the many courses,nothing at all special,and certainly not the best michelin stared restaurant I've eaten in by far,nor would i rush back to,unlike my favourites,that i cannot keep away from!the wine however was excellent,i say excellent,the first wine suggested for our first course was the wine i drink every day and my favourite so no surprise there,nevertheless superb wine!The staff were ok,not very friendly,in fact,quite stuffy and cold,certainly didn't smile!!( with the exception of the sommelier.These days,modern michelin stared restaurant staff are talented enough to make you feel at ease and comfortable while maintaing professionalism and meeting your every need.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chiccadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear chiccadaluz,

Thank you for taking the time to write in about your stay. It is incredibly important to us to receive guest reviews as it helps us to keep track of any part of our service which may not be at its usual high standard.

Thank you also for highlighting two areas which did not meet your expectations. Your comments with regard to room service have been passed on to Senior management for review. With regard to our staff, we are usually complimented on their level of professionalism and friendliness, so we apologise if this was not the case in your experience.

Should you stay with us in the future, we would very much welcome any comments you have about our service during your stay so we can try to help resolve any issues immediately. Our primary objective is our guests’ satisfaction and in providing a high quality experience.

We thank you for your visit and hope you will return to The Yeatman one day so that we may surpass your experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    177
    40
    9
    11
See reviews for
273
894
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We spent the last weekend in Nov staying with friends in Porto. Whilst there we visited the Christmas Wine Fair at The Yeatman, a beautifully designed hotel with magnificent facilities in a fantastic location overlooking the Douro river and old town. Dining in the Michelin 1* restaurant is one of those experiences in life not to be missed. The food is truly sublime - unquestionably the best I have ever tasted. We had the tasting menu with wine which is most highly recommended. The waiters are charming, informative and suitably attentive, and the sommelier has a selection of 82 wines by the glass with which she will challenge any palate. The tables have a wonderful view of the river and afterwards one can relax in Dick's bar. The next time we visit we will check in for the Thursday night dinner where one meets a local producer and tastes their wines.
The Christmas wine fair was a wine lovers heaven. We parked in the car park under The Yeatman and walked right into a large airy hall where most of the wine producers from all over Portugal were gathered at individual stands with examples of their oldest and newest wines to taste. A buffet lunch with wine on Sunday was a delicious and fitting end to a magnificent weekend visiting The Yeatman.
The key stand out features of The Yeatman are its impressive food, quality and attention to detail in all areas, relaxed attentive service, wonderful location and views from each room, easy walking to town and easy access to local Port cellars for tours.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Philippa1403,

Thank you for your totally positive review about The Yeatman.

Our biggest objective is to ensure the satisfaction of our guests during their stay and giving them an unforgettable experience. We are therefore delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects and details that go into making our hotel special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Yeatman in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Anything that I write will not be enough to describe the excellent experience we had at The Yeatman. We stayed for two nights on a vacation trip and from the moment we checked in till our check out, we felt totally pampered.
Service was impeccable. Staff was ready to answer to any demand and always treated us with professionalism and courtesy. Room was very big and very well decorated, and counted on a very comfortable bed. Bathroom had an excellent size too and was supplied with very good amenities. Our room had a fantastic view to Oporto, as the hotel is located on the other side of the bridge. Breakfast (17 euros) was superb. Everything was delicious. I also recommend the hotel restaurant. We had dinner there one night and we had a memorable meal. Do not even consider staying anywhere else during your stay in Oporto.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazilian_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear brazilian_tourist,

Thank you for your review of your time at The Yeatman which is gratifying for all our staff.

Our main objective is our guests’ comfort and satisfaction, and more than that, we wish to provide an exciting experience which is why so many special details have gone into the design and concept of our hotel. High quality service, excellent food and wine, as well as the leisure, comfort and relaxation aspects, are all very important to us.

Thank you again for staying at The Yeatman and we hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A really beautiful hotel, extremely comfortable room with best views, and also value for money. Pity we could not get a booking to eat in the restaurant either of the two nights we stayed. It is close to nearby restaurants and bars and tourist attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally situated and all have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Carol A,
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you were unable to book a table at our gastronomic restaurant during your stay. It does get booked up and we recommend our guests book in advance because of this. As an alternative, we do have a more informal menu created by Chef Ricardo Costa served in Dick’s Bar and lounge. We hope you have the opportunity to return to visit us again, it would be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

By far the best hotel in the Porto / Gaia area. The best views in town, accompanied by the best service and food. Don't miss the interior swimming pool with views over Porto and the river - it's quite special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonyPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear SimonyPortugal,
Thank you for your ‘to the point’ review of what you liked about our hotel and your stay at The Yeatman. It is an honour for us to know that you really enjoyed staying here and we do hope to welcome you back in the future, possibly for a leisure stay next time, with more time for visiting and relaxation. It would be our pleasure. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We really loved this hotel. It is new, but old school. An interesting take on European elegance. A bit stuffy, but I kind of like that sometimes.

I would not eat dinner in the hotel. It was crazy expensive and not that good. The pool is beautiful, overlooking all the port warehouses and old Porto. There is an attendant to bring drinks or snacks. We ordered room service every morning instead of going to the buffet breakfast upstairs. We pulled the table out onto our private patio and enjoyed a quiet private breakfast overlooking the whole city. It was pretty magical.

The room was huge for European standards with a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom. In my opinion the best parts of the hotel are the spa (stunning) and drinks on the patio at sunset. Their bar patio is one of those places you could just stay forever.

The most important thing for urbanites is that this hotel is not really walk-able. The fastest way is to walk down the long cobbles roads to the sky tram that takes you to the top of the bridge, then walk across the bridge and then up another big hill into the main area of town. Not close.

Out front of the hotel is an extremely old olive tree that is worth a visit. A river tour of the bridges is a must to go see some of the ruins up river and big old houses.

Porto is beautiful but very eery. Lively and bustling by the river and up in the city, but then entire sections of town in between seemily deserted. Gorgeous pre-war apartments, boarded up.

Definitely bring comfortable walking shoes as all the streets are cobble and it’s a lot of up and down hills.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure all the rooms have the same private terrace and gorgeous unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Niki B,
Thank you for taking the time to write in with everything you liked about The Yeatman. Our objective is always the comfort and enjoyment of our guests and it’s a priority to help make our guests feel welcome and at home, with the service they need to benefit from a true 5 star luxury stay with us. We were pleased to hear you liked the decoration as well as our breakfast, spacious terraces and luxurious Spa. We appreciate your comments about our location as it does take 5 minutes by car or taxi into town or a leisurely walk across into the old city, but the advantage of this is the space, gardens and views at The Yeatman. Another upside is our position in the historic Port Wine cellar district which means it’s very easy to visit several Port lodges which we know our guests appreciate. Porto itself is nestled on the banks of the river Douro and on both sides of the river, the roads can be steep to climb. With a visitors’ sightseeing bus, trams, cable car, taxi, metro and train all close by, there are several transport methods available and we always recommend comfortable shoes for visiting for this reason. Thank you again for your positive review and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of your stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The Yeatman is a true luxury hotel - a rarity in Portugal. Rooms are large, whimsically named, with large balconies facing the Douro river and with spectacular views of the Porto city. It is a true pleasure and indulgence to sit on the balcony and watch the activities on either side of the river. The sunsets left us speechless - that alone makes this place totally worth it!

Breakfast is served in the spacious restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seating. The offering is exactly the same everyday. We stayed for 4 days and very hoping some change but alas none. The staff is very friendly but inexperienced - if you order eggs be prepared to wait a long time. Coffee is horrible - choose tea or take some instant coffee with you.

The pool and spa services are great - do take the time to enjoy it.

Nearby wine houses - Taylor, sandman etc all offer wine tours - take advantage of that as well - do one - after that marginal value declines rapidly.

The location of the hotel is a challenge - there is no public transportation. Getting to the closest public transportation is a real hike - the climb up back to the hotel is not for the faint hearted. Make sure that you are fully healthy and have no issues before you book this hotel. While private transportation is an option it does not help you much since Porto is best accessed by public transportation. The joy of the city is walking in the narrow and undulating cobble stone streets. It seems a fairly easy thing to fix to add a shuttle service to Porto - the Yeatman should do that at the earliest to not mar the otherwise excellent experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Wings_Wheels,
Thank you so much for you in-depth report about your stay which helps us see what our guests enjoyed and understand other areas which may not have been working to our usual high standard. For us there is no greater honour than to please our guests and make them feel special and at home. We apologise if some aspects did not meet all your requirements. We receive many compliments on the quality and variety of food and drinks available at breakfast, however, we would encourage our guests to let us know if there is anything they would like that is not provided. With regard to our location, to deliver some of the advantages we provide, such as the space and amazing views over Porto, the 2000 m2 spa and the 3,5 acres of gardens, it does mean that there is a 5 minute taxi ride away from the centre of Porto or a 20 minute leisurely walk into town. However, our location in the heart of the Port wine cellar district is also very handy for visiting the cellars and as you say, it is lovely to wander through the cobbled stone streets and discover the mystery and beauty of Porto. There is also a sightseeing hop-on, hop-off bus which stops very close by to The Yeatman and our staff are always happy and prepared to provide our guests with detailed sightseeing information as well as information about Portuguese wine, and The Yeatman itself. We know that our guests also understand this and appreciate the many qualities the hotel has to offer, as you indeed did, and we would like to thank you for equating our hotel with true luxury and an excellent experience. We do hope we may have the pleasure of your company with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing