We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury haven for wine lovers with the best views!”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Yeatman palatial hotel in July 2012 for 4 nights. This is the best hotel to stay if you want to enjoy jaw dropping views of the Old Town of Oporto. We stayed in a superior room, all the rooms are extremely spacious and luxurious with beautiful views of the Porto and Douro riverside. The hotel has a magnificent bar and a Michelin starred restaurant and is just a stone's throw from the best wine cellars and Mr. Sandeman :-)
No need to rave about their excellent wine! breakfast was amazing too. Porto and Oporto are so charming and beautiful you cant get enough of strolling there. Make sure to visit Lello Library in the old town which was classified by Lonely Planet as the third best bookstore in the world. This is a luxurious hotel that you cant fault. Its simply perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadineKaddoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear NadineKaddoura,

Thank you for writing in with praise for your stay with us at The Yeatman. It is important for us to receive feedback and we are very grateful for your time and analysis.

We aim to provide an exciting experience for all our guests, ensuring their comfort whilst with us and a high standard of service, therefore helping to contribute to wonderful holiday memories.

We are considered ambassadors for Portuguese wine and have been fortunate to win many awards, including recently, Best of Wine Tourism 2014, global winner in accommodation out of 9 of the best wine capitals in the world.

However we are not complacent and we continue to strive daily to provide the best service which would not be possible without our wonderful guests.

Your words about Porto are timely since Porto also just won a prize – Best European Destination 2014!

Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at The Yeatman in June 2013. This is a relatively new hotel and unfortunately when we stayed it didn't feel like it had quite found it's feet.

The negatives
- Slow check-in, staff friendly but didn't seem to understand all the hotels processes, how to deal with a large influx of guests
- Unfortunate sewage smells. The property itself was still bedding in and after waiting an extra hour to be allocated a room, the first room we were given had an overpowering sewage smell coming from the bathroom. After multiple calls and an engineer coming to look at it twice, we were eventually moved rooms
- Lack of communication between staff regarding requests/enquiries. I think this was mainly due to lack of experience rather than an unwillingness to help

The positives
- Beautiful property with a great pool, spa and wonderful views over Porto.
- Lovely bright, spacious rooms with decent size terraces
- Attractive public areas that are oppluent and have the 'wow' factor
- The staff want to be good. Although a day late, when the manager heard about our room issues he found us at breakfast to apologise and later that day a bottle of champagne was sent to our room. A lovely gesture and much appreciated.

Overall I would reccommend this hotel, particularly if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear London20142014,

Thank you for taking the time to write in with your comments about your stay. It is very good for us to receive feedback so we can track our level of service and client satisfaction.

We are sorry you did not have a perfect experience at check in and on arrival to your room. It is unusual for our guests to experience this as our reception staff are usually commended. We have of course passed your information on to the management.

We are pleased you liked many aspects about our hotel including the space, the design and decoration, pools, views and public areas.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future so that we can surpass your opinion of us next time.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Impressive. Despite being close to a railway line you would never know. The top 2 floors (level 4 and 5) are devoted to the entertaining areas, dining area, pool etc while the bedrooms are on the 3 floors below, carved into the hillside, with panoramic views of Porto across the river Douro. I was stunned by the room. Didn't hear the railway once. Enormous bed with beautiful ornaments and pictures. In fact the whole hotel is adorned with glorious pictures and maps. I believe all the rooms have excellent views of the river and ours had a small terrace. Breakfast finished at 1030am but the staff were polite enough to ask if they could begin laying the tables for lunch as we were regularly last to get up and often still eating at 11am. Overall the staff could not have been more civil....nothing was too much trouble. We tried the gym and indoor pool (also has wonderful views) but did not go to the spa and it was too wet and cold for the outdoor pool. We had a bed and breakfast arrangement so never did try the food here as it appeared to be quite expensive. Instead we got a table one evening at the O Paparico (booked in the UK) which had excellent food and service and did not charge for a starter (pre set before you sit down) which we did not care for.

Day one kicked off with port tasting at Taylor's (5 euros per head) which is literally next door to the hotel. We had our own personal guide who showed us round their rustic cellars. The remainder of the day was spent site seeing, fuelled by the booze, on the far side of the river in the rain, which can all be done on foot. Porto is very wet in January and February. Day two involved a river cruise (45 minutes and 10 euros per head) which is a good photo opportunity and takes in views of all 6 bridges. The remainder of that day was spent at Graham's, which is a more commercial (less atmosphere) and slicker operation, for more port tasting, but in a group tour. I am not a big drinker but the portions on offer (also at Taylor's) did go straight to my head. Graham's is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Graham's and Taylor's are supposed to be the "premium" port families who trade in quality rather than volume. All the port tasting venues are on the same side of the river as the Yeatman Hotel.

Walking to the hotel from the train station is fine if you know where you are going. A friendly Portuguese girl helped us find the hotel late at night on the way out....would never have happened in London. So decided to return to the airport via taxi (30 euros) rather than return via the train.(under 3 euros per head) Lazy I guess.

Room Tip: Frankly it does not really matter. We were on level 1. Level 2 or 3 will have slightly better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fbl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear fbl1966,

Thank you for your in-depth review of your stay in Porto and at The Yeatman.

It is extremely important for us to receive guests’ feedback and we thank you for taking the time to do so which helps us to evaluate our service and gauge customer satisfaction.

We were pleased that everything went well with your stay and you liked many aspects of our hotel – from the property itself to the decoration, rooms, views and service – and that you were able to take advantage of sightseeing in the area.

It is true that we are well located for visiting many different Port Wine Cellars in the historic Port wine lodge district, where it is possible to try the Port and learn more about their Port production and history. With the river also close by, it is very easy as well to take a river cruise.

Porto, and in particular the UNESCO World Heritage area, is just on the other side of the river over the famous Dom Luis iron bridge, within easy reach on foot, or by transport such as train, metro, sightseeing bus or taxi.

Thank you again for your evaluation and we hope to have the pleasure of your stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Superb hotel in many respects, yet with some drawbacks. It has a great location with views over the City, but it is on the wrong side of the river, with the city on the other side and no easy means of communication. Also it has only one real restaurant, which is gourmet style, and the other restaurants on that side of the river are quite a walk and moderate in quality.
The hotel room was lovely and the service excellent.
Both my wife and I were ill shortly after eating in the Michelin star restaurant, but they refused to acknowledge that this could have had anything to do with the food, even though shellfish and other seafood was a significant part of the menu.
It was a great opportunity to learn about and sample Portuguese wines, which is a speciality of the hotel.

Room Tip: The mini suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197johnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear John V,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. It is very important for us to receive customer feedback as it helps us evaluate our standards of service and gauge customer satisfaction.

We are pleased that you liked many aspects about our hotel including its individuality, our service, bedrooms and location.

Even though we are only a short distance away from Porto, the fact that we are on the opposite side of the river allows us to command the best views over the city, with gardens, spacious bedrooms and terraces all in a tranquil setting of 7 acres. If we were in the heart of the city, it would not be possible to have these assets.

We are very sorry to hear that you and your wife were ill during your stay with us. It is very unfortunate to fall ill when one is travelling. Although we cannot be sure of the source of this incident, we would like to say that we follow strict quality control in the kitchen and we also only work with the freshest of ingredients.

We would always encourage our guests to tell us of these situations when they happen, as you did, so that we can help you and track the origin at the time.

In addition to our gastronomic restaurant, we also have an informal menu in Dick’s Bar and there is a comprehensive room service menu. There are many restaurants of a good and excellent level in our area, and in Porto, just 5 to 10 minutes away, so it is possible to find a wide choice and our staff are always on hand to assist with recommendations and bookings.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed The Yeatman and hope you will come back to stay with us again so that we may surpass your experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The rooms are very nice, all facing the old town overlooking The Douro. The whole building is very spacious. Breakfast is a bit 'hit and miss' with rellacement dishes taking a while, eggs benedict (an a la carte order) were dry and inedible. Dinner in the Restauant was very good. Concierge staff were terrific.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear 1602Bernadette,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback about your stay with us, for which we are extremely grateful. The reviews help us to constantly evaluate our service and guest experience.

We are very glad you enjoyed The Yeatman’s location, surroundings and the space factor. The hotel was built in a privileged position and to architectural and design specifications that maximise the guest experience from every point of view.

We do apologise for the fact that your breakfast was not up to our usual high standards and we will take steps to ensure that this does not happen again. We would strongly urge our clients to always let our staff know when any aspect of our service is not up to the standard of excellence which you deserve and thank you for letting us know through your review.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our gastronomic restaurant and appreciated our service; your comments will be shared with the restaurant staff.

We do hope to have the pleasure of your stay again, so that we can surpass your experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Yeatman, in Gaia, Porto, Portugal, is a Hotel that you cannot miss. You must visit this outstanding hotel and place. Facing Oporto city in a with a breathtaking scenery with an exceptional service and a magnificent spa it's really value for money.
Do you intend to come to Portugal and visit Oporto? Yes? Come and visit Yeatman. You won't regret the money you'll spend.
Congratulatiosn to all staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear jaf1953,

Thank you for your extremely positive comments about your stay at The Yeatman. It is very important for us to know what our guests think of us and it is truly a pleasure to know that you really enjoyed so many aspects including the scenery, spa and service.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon to The Yeatman, be it for one of our events or for another stay. Até breve e muito obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in The Yeatman and the experience was over the top. the Location and the views of the hotel are outstanding. Each room has a unique view over Porto, the Douro River and the Ribeira de Gaia. The staff was amazing and we were upgraded during the check-in. Each room has a balcony and a different deco,related to the wine business partners of the hotel. We stayed in Quinta da Romaneira room that had an splendid collection of all the Quinta da ROmaneira wines. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Hugo S,

Thank you so very much for giving us your feedback about your stay at The Yeatman.

Our clients’ satisfaction is our main objective so it is extremely gratifying to know that you enjoyed the experience.

Our staff work hard to give our guests all the support they need whilst here, and to make them feel welcome and at home and your comments will be shared.

Thank you again and we do hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £182 - £606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing