We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now.....this is how to run a hotel”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We haved thoroughly enjoyed two stays at the Yeatman. It is an ultra stylish 50 room boutique property that is very reasonably priced based on the overwhelming quality of the property and the very highest level of personalized service provided by every staff member from the general manager,Carlos through the entire staff. Special praise is noted for the concierge,Caterina and the entire front desk ,who know each guest by name.
The enormous wine list makes Dick's Bar a treat and the wine shop run by Beatrix is exceptional. We enjoyed a fine dinner at the restaurant which included about a dozen small surprises from the chef.
The fabulous view if Porto and the pool also rate 5 stars

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank sidney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear sidney m,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Yeatman.

It is an honour to know that you stayed with us twice and that you enjoyed so many details, from the decoration and style of our Boutique hotel to the very personalised level of service we aim to provide on a daily basis. The staff feel very proud to learn that you appreciated your stay so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to The Yeatman.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
There are newer reviews for The Yeatman
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just had a three night stay this wonderful hotel. The Michelin Star restaurant Is superb. Neither of us eat fois gras so Chef was more than happy to alter our menu. The on our second night he devised a completely new menu for us!! When my husband wanted to try a different port for his aperitif they knew exactly what he had tasted the night before - what service. We have to find an excuse to go back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heathersandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Heathersandra,

Thank you for your very positive review of your time at The Yeatman.

It is extremely gratifying for the staff to learn that we were able to surpass your expectations during your three night stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Michelin star gastronomic restaurant and the service that we provided.

Please come back to visit The Yeatman in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best wishes,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We visited Vila Nova de Gaia seven years ago and said wouldn't it be fabulous if they created a hotel in amongst the port houses - and then the Yeatman came along and we've been promising ourselves a visit ever since!!!!

We were able to book one of the package (spring) deals which offers very good value as it included room, breakfast, access to the wellbeing area, massage, cocktails and smoothies!

As it was a special occasion, we booked a suite (we asked for and got the Murganheira) which is a corner room - I know a previous reviewer has suggested corner rooms don't have great views but I will leave you with the photo's - you decide!.....Pretty much all the hotel rooms have very private patio's. Arguably the Murganheira is slightly less private in that it directly overlooks the Taylors port house (which means those visiting the port house can see your patio) but we felt it really added to the whole ambience!

Breakfast was very nice with a wide range of options, the wellbeing area is lovely as is the infinity indoor pool (never made it to the outside pool) but the real knock out feature are the staff who are extremely charming and helpful.

Being exceptionally British, we were surprised that there aren't tea making facilities in the room (my husband wants tea intravenously if possible at all times!) but they kindly provided a hospitality tray.

Despite it's location, so close to Porto city and in Vila Nova de Gaia - it is a really quiet location (there is a train line behind but you rarely notice this).

If we had one suggestion, it would be for a throw to be added to the settee, so on those slightly cooler evenings, you can sit out on the patio and keep warm!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Roodeberglodge,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Yeatman on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us including so many different aspects of the hotel, from the Murganheira Suite, to our buffet breakfast, the indoor pool, spa, wellbeing area and the peace and tranquillity.

The Management and staff are proud to hear that you appreciated all our facilities and the Spring Programme which you found to be very good value.

Our staff work hard to ensure our guests feel welcome and at home and therefore we are honoured we were able to make your stay a special one.

Thank you for your suggestions which have been passed on to the Management.

Please do come back to visit us again soon, it would be our pleasure.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is built from the top down. It is like a giant staircase built into the hillside. Every room has a wonderful terrace and view of Porto across the river. Lobby bar is best deal around. Food was very good.... can't say that for the Michelin rated restaurant (flat tire in my book) that was over priced and over rated in my book. Ate much better down on the harbor front for far less. As for rooms, friends had a corner. Not a great view. Our room was a few over and had a great view. Surprised no bidet in the bathroom, especially for a top rated European hotel. Had a tub/shower in our room. Very difficult to shower in. Almost slipped... which is the last thing one has to do on vacation a few thousand miles from home. Excellent breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear tedb548,

Thank you for contributing to Trip Advisor with your review of The Yeatman.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed, in particular, the view and private terraces, The Yeatman buffet breakfast as well as the wine list and Chef Ricardo's menu in Dick’s Bar.

We’re sorry we didn’t correspond to your expectations in all areas but are pleased we were able to contribute with a positive experience overall to your stay in Porto.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just back after 4 days at the Yeatman. Everything was perfect (expect slippery tiles around the indoor swimming pool). Extremely friendly and helpful staff - good value compared to the service and standard and a stunning location. Porto is a great place to visit - this hotel provides the perfect setting. We also had a very good experience in the Michelin starred restaurant and attended a very friendly and informative complimentary wine tasting.

Room Tip: Should think all rooms are good as they all face Porto with a terrace and should have a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Christian H,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Yeatman with the Trip Advisor community.

It is a pleasure to know that nearly everything was perfect, including our staff and standards, location, restaurant and Thursday afternoon wine tasting.

We agree that Porto has a lot to offer and are honoured that The Yeatman was able to contribute so positively to your experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

With our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked three suites for two nights for a family weekend. We were very impressed by the hotel in general, its gorgeous views over the city and the service. We were warmly welcomed by the duty manager who is very knowledgeable about the city and the property's history. The suites were huge, each of them with a different atmosphere but consistent style. Lovely complimentary cakes and drinks in the room. We also booked treatments at the spa, which were truly fabulous. I am still wondering if it is reasonable that the spa comes at an extra charge for guests not having booked any treatment...

Downsides: the housekeeping enters the room without knocking at the door - quite inconvenient when exiting the shower...
F&B: the restaurant experience in the evening was a catastrophe - and the reason why I did not rate this property as "excellent". We were wondering if the chef was absent that night: mistakes with the order, 45 minutes waiting between each dish (and there are many of them), they served beef instead of the ordered pork - without informing us (beef was not even on the menu), rude staff, bad tastes and unwelcoming plates... Extremely disappointing compared to the great service (bravo!) and delicacies served at the breakfast. We were also greatly disappointed by the fact that no gesture was made whatsoever after mentioning this experience to the manager in charge.

Still, highly recommended hotel for a weekend escape and true relaxation at the spa.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Oeilaguise,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Yeatman. It is very good for us to receive this kind of feedback so that we can measure our service and clients’ satisfaction.

We were delighted to know that so many aspects were to your liking including our suites, service, treatments in the spa and overall services.

We were disappointed to hear that your experience in our gastronomic restaurant was not up to our usual high standard for which we would like to apologise. Please know that your contributing remarks have been passed to the management for analysis. Usually, our restaurant is highly recommended for its level of creativity, cuisine and service. We are sorry that this was not your case and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again to surpass your experience in the restaurant next time.

Thank you again for your candid remarks and, on the whole, positive review.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Oh that view! Absolutely spectacular and there to be enjoyed from every room, each with its own private terrace, large enough to lounge on. That same lovely view from the bar, the breakfast room, pools and dining room. (Though not the spa, which is mostly underground.)

The rooms are spacious, very traditional in style, but thoughtfully planned. Bookshelves fully stocked with books about wine, Portugal, food and drink, and even a little paperback by a Yeatman. Bed too soft for our tastes, but quite comfortable nonetheless. Desk with plenty of outlets, ample closet and dresser space. Nice bathroom, with louvered windows so the view could be enjoyed from the tub. Amenities of good quality, but limited.

Nice touches were the naming of rooms after different Portuguese wine labels, the different exhibitions on each floor, the imaginative and unique decor of each elevator and the surprisingly interesting exhibit on cork production and use.

Although mostly subterranean, spa was very nice and restful. Even if one doesn't choose to have the extensive (though a bit overpriced) treatments, guests can still enjoy the Roman bath, Turkish bath, sauna, foot baths and "shower experience"---all quite enjoyable and relaxing. Our only quibble was the very limited hours: 1-8pm. We'd planned to start and end our days at the spa, but instead enjoying it meant either limiting afternoon sightseeing or eating an early rushed dinner.

Good gym, both indoor and outdoor infinity pools, though indoor pool closed rather early at 9pm. Nice, large grounds, with attention paid to sustainability.

The breakfast buffet was good and in a lovely room, but exactly the same thing every day (perhaps one different cheese or fruit, but that's it). Fine for a day or two, but by day 3 we were very bored. As others have mentioned, breakfast service was spotty. Single cup coffee service works with a very attentive, well-trained staff, but is terribly frustrating if they aren't. And here some servers were welcoming and attentive, while some seemingly avoided looking at tables. For a hotel of this type, I expect more.

The service overall was mixed, not quite up to expectations. Very slow check-in process, door people not always there to open the door, and once we had to wait quite a while to get front desk attention. Also the website doesn't allow one to make changes to bookings. On the positive side, the concierge was friendly, gave good advice about getting around and was helpful with unusual requests. The doorman was also wonderful, always so friendly and gave excellent driving directions and advice for even the most complicated or vague itinerary.

Excellent wine list but not as great a variety of ports by the glass as I'd hoped for. The menu at the restaurant looked so dull, we didn't try it. For that price range, I expect some imagination and adventure.

The stunning view does come at a cost: the hotel is a bit isolated and out of the way, and the walk back is entirely up a steep cobblestone hill. I'd not realized that the port lodges which are the major attraction in Vila Nova de Gaia all close at 6pm (why so early?) or might have thought twice about booking on this side of the river. But then one sees the view again, and nothing else matters.

This place is very close to five stars, really just needs a little work around the edges.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YMuchoMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear YMuchoMas,

Thank you for your thorough review of your stay at The Yeatman.

It is very important to us when our guests leave reviews as it helps us to keep track of the response to our service and facilities and our guests’ satisfaction is our primary concern.

We are sorry you did not find the Port selection to your liking. We actually have many wonderful Ports which can be found in our Wine Journal, Wine Book and cellar from a wide range of Port houses and vintages. In total we have 18 different Ports by the glass and more than 130 different Ports in our wine cellar available by the bottle.

Our Spa offers a mix of natural light, for example in the spa lounge entrance area, in some of the treatment rooms, in the indoor pool, the relaxation room and the barrel bath room, you can find natural light and views. The ‘wellbeing area’ with Roman bath, sauna and hammam, was designed to be warm and cosy with a dimly lit environment to aid relaxation.

We apologise you did not receive the service you expected in the breakfast room and your comments are being addressed.

We are delighted, however, that you listed so many other aspects that you enjoyed including the view, the rooms, books, terraces, wine partner details and decoration.

We hope that we may have the pleasure of your company again in the near future to surpass your experience next time. It would be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £183 - £586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing