We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High end, fantastic ambiance, amazing food, wonderful experience”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“High end, fantastic ambiance, amazing food, wonderful experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an amazing conference dinner here, and it truly made me wish we had held the entire conference in this facility. From the entrance to the all-Portuguses buffet dinner, the selection of Port wine vintages served, and the detailed service and attention. We just had to tour a room and see. Next time we're in Porto, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear worldfishingfreak,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman, following your conference dinner at our hotel.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, from the decoration to the extensive buffet dinner prepared by Chef Ricardo Costa and the wines chosen and paired with your meal from our award winning wine cellar.

We aim to provide a special experience to all our guests be they with us for an evening, like yourself, or a number of days and, in this respect, we were very happy to know that we made a difference and that your conference dinner was a success.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future trip to Porto to stay with us.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    177
    40
    9
    12
See reviews for
273
893
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful and luxurious hotel in a fantastic location. Staff go above and beyond the expected. The best service we have ever experienced in all our travels. Excellent food in all of the restaurants but especially the main restaurant. Staff knew it was my wifes birthday and arranged free cocktail and birthday cake.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caledonia_purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear caledonia_purple,

Thank you for your positive comments about The Yeatman.

We are always extremely grateful for feedback that our clients can give us, as it helps us keep track of guest experience and, of course, our service.

We are honoured that you loved the hotel from its design, to our location and the food and, above all, that you found the staff to be very attentive. Our objective is to make all our guests feel at home and well looked after.

We hope you will return in the future so that we may have the pleasure of your stay with us once again.

The Yeatman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed three days (a quick trip from Lisbon and Amsterdam) during our honeymoon. Oporto and the Yeatman were definitely a highlight for us. I was truly blown away at the beauty of the hotel - in design, views and furnishings. Our room and bathroom were huge (especially for NYC standards) and the view from our terrace was breathtaking.

Catarina (hotel's concierge) booked a day for us - arranged a car to take us up the river Douro, had a sailboat waiting for us that gave us a tour of the vineyards, then had a terrific lunch at DOC with the boat taking us back... our captain, Paolo, had learned it was our honeymoon and had sparklng wine and nibbles for us to enjoy as we traveled down the river. The whole day was so magical. Thank you Catarina!

Also a special thanks to Nuno (front desk) who gave us great suggestions for restaurants that weren't too touristy...we went to the same restaurant a few times!

The title of this review "Amaze-balls" - was a word that we used to describe each experience as we were there - somewhat immature, but very succinct. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jun B,

It is wonderful to hear that your honeymoon stay at The Yeatman was a huge success and we are delighted we were able to contribute in so many ways to make your trip so special.

We are grateful for your positive feedback with regard to many different aspects, from the beauty of the hotel, its design and finishings to your terrace view in your comfortable and spacious bedroom.

Thank you for your kind remarks about our Concierge and Guest Relations, Nuno and Catarina.

Many congratulations from The Yeatman and do come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We haved thoroughly enjoyed two stays at the Yeatman. It is an ultra stylish 50 room boutique property that is very reasonably priced based on the overwhelming quality of the property and the very highest level of personalized service provided by every staff member from the general manager,Carlos through the entire staff. Special praise is noted for the concierge,Caterina and the entire front desk ,who know each guest by name.
The enormous wine list makes Dick's Bar a treat and the wine shop run by Beatrix is exceptional. We enjoyed a fine dinner at the restaurant which included about a dozen small surprises from the chef.
The fabulous view if Porto and the pool also rate 5 stars

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sidney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear sidney m,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Yeatman.

It is an honour to know that you stayed with us twice and that you enjoyed so many details, from the decoration and style of our Boutique hotel to the very personalised level of service we aim to provide on a daily basis. The staff feel very proud to learn that you appreciated your stay so much.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to The Yeatman.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just had a three night stay this wonderful hotel. The Michelin Star restaurant Is superb. Neither of us eat fois gras so Chef was more than happy to alter our menu. The on our second night he devised a completely new menu for us!! When my husband wanted to try a different port for his aperitif they knew exactly what he had tasted the night before - what service. We have to find an excuse to go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathersandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Heathersandra,

Thank you for your very positive review of your time at The Yeatman.

It is extremely gratifying for the staff to learn that we were able to surpass your expectations during your three night stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Michelin star gastronomic restaurant and the service that we provided.

Please come back to visit The Yeatman in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We visited Vila Nova de Gaia seven years ago and said wouldn't it be fabulous if they created a hotel in amongst the port houses - and then the Yeatman came along and we've been promising ourselves a visit ever since!!!!

We were able to book one of the package (spring) deals which offers very good value as it included room, breakfast, access to the wellbeing area, massage, cocktails and smoothies!

As it was a special occasion, we booked a suite (we asked for and got the Murganheira) which is a corner room - I know a previous reviewer has suggested corner rooms don't have great views but I will leave you with the photo's - you decide!.....Pretty much all the hotel rooms have very private patio's. Arguably the Murganheira is slightly less private in that it directly overlooks the Taylors port house (which means those visiting the port house can see your patio) but we felt it really added to the whole ambience!

Breakfast was very nice with a wide range of options, the wellbeing area is lovely as is the infinity indoor pool (never made it to the outside pool) but the real knock out feature are the staff who are extremely charming and helpful.

Being exceptionally British, we were surprised that there aren't tea making facilities in the room (my husband wants tea intravenously if possible at all times!) but they kindly provided a hospitality tray.

Despite it's location, so close to Porto city and in Vila Nova de Gaia - it is a really quiet location (there is a train line behind but you rarely notice this).

If we had one suggestion, it would be for a throw to be added to the settee, so on those slightly cooler evenings, you can sit out on the patio and keep warm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Roodeberglodge,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Yeatman on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us including so many different aspects of the hotel, from the Murganheira Suite, to our buffet breakfast, the indoor pool, spa, wellbeing area and the peace and tranquillity.

The Management and staff are proud to hear that you appreciated all our facilities and the Spring Programme which you found to be very good value.

Our staff work hard to ensure our guests feel welcome and at home and therefore we are honoured we were able to make your stay a special one.

Thank you for your suggestions which have been passed on to the Management.

Please do come back to visit us again soon, it would be our pleasure.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
284 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is built from the top down. It is like a giant staircase built into the hillside. Every room has a wonderful terrace and view of Porto across the river. Lobby bar is best deal around. Food was very good.... can't say that for the Michelin rated restaurant (flat tire in my book) that was over priced and over rated in my book. Ate much better down on the harbor front for far less. As for rooms, friends had a corner. Not a great view. Our room was a few over and had a great view. Surprised no bidet in the bathroom, especially for a top rated European hotel. Had a tub/shower in our room. Very difficult to shower in. Almost slipped... which is the last thing one has to do on vacation a few thousand miles from home. Excellent breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear tedb548,

Thank you for contributing to Trip Advisor with your review of The Yeatman.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed, in particular, the view and private terraces, The Yeatman buffet breakfast as well as the wine list and Chef Ricardo's menu in Dick’s Bar.

We’re sorry we didn’t correspond to your expectations in all areas but are pleased we were able to contribute with a positive experience overall to your stay in Porto.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing