We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable "postcard" view and an exclusive service”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Unforgettable "postcard" view and an exclusive service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is the perfect choice to celebrate a special occasion or just for a romantic break. The view from the bedrooms, restaurant and pool is absolutely beautiful and the staff extremely attentive. The room is very spacious with a spectacular terrace facing the Douro river. The breakfast selection is good but we felt there could be a wider selection, and even though the staff was very nice, we felt the service could be slightly quicker especially when ordering something that was not part of the buffet.
A final note to highlight the performance of staff member Sandra who welcomed us for our checked-in and who was so attentive and proactive in providing us with suggestions for different places to visit and eat throughout our stay. As we wanted to try different places for dinner she immediately gave us several inputs and arranged for reservations. Also, very well done to the young gentleman at the wine store, extremely friendly, very good knowledge of the product selection and excellent customer service skills.
We are looking forward to enjoy a stay in this fabulous hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgataM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear AgataM79,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your report about The Yeatman on Trip Advisor.

It is so important for us to receive guest feedback which is always analysed and acted upon as a result of these reviews.

We were delighted to hear that you loved your experience of our hotel, from your praise of our staff and service, to the views, the bedrooms and terraces and our Reception/concierge staff.

We were pleased that you enjoyed breakfast, although sorry to hear that the service was not always as quick as it should have been and up to our usual high standard.

It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and our aim is to provide the highest quality service in all areas.

We look forward to your next visit to The Yeatman!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    180
    43
    9
    11
See reviews for
275
913
38
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner and I had something very special to celebrate and we are extremely happy with the choice we made: the restaurant of the Yeatman is absolutely outstanding, with an important number of tasteful courses being brought to us in the nicest of atmospheres. Moreover, the choice of 5 wines was great, while having the luxury of two sommeliers, the local boss and a temporary one from Madeira.
It's not cheap, but it is a memorable experience which we can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GauthierduMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear GauthierduMarais,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your dinner at The Yeatman. We are thrilled that we were able to surpass your expectations at your celebratory meal in our gastronomic restaurant.

Chef Ricardo Costa’s cuisine is appreciated for his creative flair and contrasting flavours, paired with delicious wines chosen by our Wine Director, Beatriz Machado, from our award winning cellar.

Our staff will be delighted to know that their service made a difference and contributed to your memorable evening with us.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return and stay at The Yeatman on a future visit to Porto.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

It's too bad The Yeatman is not listed as a Porto hotel (instead of Vila de Gaia) -- because it is clearly the best hotel in the Porto area! EVERY room has a terrific view and the staff could not be more attentive. Excellent breakfast buffet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear santagaryfe,

Thank you for your complimentary review of your stay at The Yeatman.

Receiving our guests’ feedback is very helpful so that we can keep track of our service and guests’ satisfaction.

We are delighted that you enjoyed The Yeatman and honoured that the staff were able to make you feel welcome and provide the five star service you deserve.

Please do come back for another visit, it would be our pleasure to host you again.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If the incredible view of O Porto, Portugal, isn't enough, this beautiful hotel pampers you with luxurious facilities, great service and food beyond comparison. Theonly thing missing would be a lift to take you across the river in a few minutes, into the old city:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ronaldo G,

Thank you for your positive review of The Yeatman and your stay with us.

It is truly an honour to hear that you loved everything from our views and facilities, to our service and food. The Yeatman was designed from the outset with many special features to bring comfort and enjoyment to our guests’ experience and we are delighted that this came across.

It was a pleasure to host you and we hope we will be able to take care of you again on a future stay in Porto.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed on a Spring Break package for 7 nights. The experience was excellent throughout. The service, staff, ambience, decor, rooms, restaurant and wines, spa area and pool are exceptional and that view over the port warehouses in Gaia and river to old Porto city is superb.

It is always difficult to single out particular staff as our experience was that all worked so hard to provide such a high standard of service.

We ate four times in the Michelin starred restaurant and maitre d' adjusted tasting menus and chef's 'surprises' to ensure we had different dishes. The wine pairing dinner on the Thursday evening was virtually the full tasting menu with wine; the quality and value was excellent. Dick's Bar wine flight with cheese and meat platters was well worth trying to explore more wine by the glass options.

We arrived back at the hotel after 6.00pm being the closing time for wine cellar visits and queried whether a visit might be possible as we were leaving the next day. It was arranged without fuss and Marco gave us a very informative visit. This we found was typical of the staff's wish to go beyond expectation.

Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the third floor. Great space with seating and private terrace. Bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear PASP123,

Thank you for your extensive review of The Yeatman.

We have been open for 3 and a half years and are very fortunate to have won many awards, for our accommodation and facilities, including our wine cellar, wine list, gastronomic restaurant and Spa; which are all a great source of pride to the staff, of course.

However, our greatest motivation of all is our guests’ enjoyment and satisfaction in providing an inspiring guest experience. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the decoration and ambiance, to the food, wine and our staff, and that we were able to make such a positive contribution to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Yeatman. It would be our pleasure.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an amazing conference dinner here, and it truly made me wish we had held the entire conference in this facility. From the entrance to the all-Portuguses buffet dinner, the selection of Port wine vintages served, and the detailed service and attention. We just had to tour a room and see. Next time we're in Porto, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldfishingfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear worldfishingfreak,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman, following your conference dinner at our hotel.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, from the decoration to the extensive buffet dinner prepared by Chef Ricardo Costa and the wines chosen and paired with your meal from our award winning wine cellar.

We aim to provide a special experience to all our guests be they with us for an evening, like yourself, or a number of days and, in this respect, we were very happy to know that we made a difference and that your conference dinner was a success.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future trip to Porto to stay with us.

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful and luxurious hotel in a fantastic location. Staff go above and beyond the expected. The best service we have ever experienced in all our travels. Excellent food in all of the restaurants but especially the main restaurant. Staff knew it was my wifes birthday and arranged free cocktail and birthday cake.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caledonia_purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear caledonia_purple,

Thank you for your positive comments about The Yeatman.

We are always extremely grateful for feedback that our clients can give us, as it helps us keep track of guest experience and, of course, our service.

We are honoured that you loved the hotel from its design, to our location and the food and, above all, that you found the staff to be very attentive. Our objective is to make all our guests feel at home and well looked after.

We hope you will return in the future so that we may have the pleasure of your stay with us once again.

The Yeatman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing