We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply gorgeous.”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The view is amazing. You overlook all of Porto. The staff is very competent and all at least bilingual and very accommodating.
With a Michelin star you can imagine how good the food is. I had pigeon.
A must visit if you are in Porto, even if it is just for a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1910Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear 1910Traveler,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you found our hotel to be ‘simply gorgeous’. It fills us with pride and helps us, above all, to measure our facilities so that we can keep track and adjust service, wherever necessary.

We warmly welcome our in-house guests, as well as guests who just wish to visit our gastronomic restaurant, or to come to The Yeatman to enjoy a meal or a drink in Dick’s Bar, where you can choose from one of our 82 seasonal wines by the glass.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for your support.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This very well appointed hotel has great facilities for travellers looking to explore inner Porto. Set amongst the Port warehouses nestled up to the Douro River you are only minutes away from all the action of the old part of town. This very elegant hotel has excellent Dining facilities, fantastic buffet breakfast which was hard to beat. Rooms very well appointed and roomy, fantastic view! Very generous common areas and lobbies, this place is certainly something special and well worth a visit I think it would be hard to be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Paul H,

We would like to thank you for your highly positive review of The Yeatman.

It is truly an honour to know that you enjoyed your stay, from our prime location in the historic Port wine district close to the cellars; to our proximity with the old town of Porto, Unesco World Heritage; to our comfortable and spacious facilities.

Our aim is to provide an all-round experience for our guests, with excellent wine and dining facilities, so we were delighted that you were able to appreciate this in your time with us.

We hope that you may have the opportunity to return to visit us again sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the best hotel Porto has to offer! The view is spectacular on any day (sunny and rainy had their own individual beauty), the service is unbeatable and the wine selection is amazing! To top it all off, the majority of port houses are a 10-minute walk away.

One thing that we did not enjoy as much was the food. It was more of an "us" thing as we are not big fans of Portuguese cuisine or fish in general. They will, however, make you a nice and simple off-menu meal if you ask politely.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and we will be back to visit should we have a week to spare.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Porto and are away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear MarkM,

Thank you for your review of The Yeatman. Our guests’ feedback helps us to keep track of our level of service and our customers’ experience.

In this respect we were delighted to hear that you loved your time at The Yeatman, from the views on ‘all-weather’ days to our service and wine selection.

Our location is often complimented and we feel that being in the Port wine district is a great plus for visiting the various different cellars.

Our Michelin star restaurant is frequently complimented and it is usually possible to speak to the staff and request something that may be off menu.

Besides our gastronomic restaurant, Chef Ricardo Costa also has two informal menus, one in Dick’s Bar and one in the Pool Restaurant (Dick’s being open all year round; the Pool restaurant from May until September). Both offer delicious and more casual style food.

Thank you again for your positive feedback. We hope we may have the pleasure of your company again soon!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the best Hotel in Portugal. The breakfast is perfect, nice view and the rooms are simply the best! The Spa and swimming pool are great and the view is realy unbelievable. Probably is the best hotel I ever stayed in my life. Strong recomendation.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Rodrigo T,

Thank you for your excellent review of The Yeatman.

We are extremely pleased that you considered your stay at The Yeatman to be ‘unbelievable’ and to give us such a strong recommendation.

We strive on a daily basis through professionalism and dedication, to provide the best service possible for our guests and our greatest compensation is in knowing that we succeeded in creating a wonderful experience.

Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to return to visit us in the near future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our stop in Porto was short, and we wished it was longer. The Yeatman was a perfect hotel. They treat you so well -- very nice, very helpful, personal touch. The rooms were lovely. Views were spectacular. It's the perfect location. Of all the places we stayed on our trip (we had 6 different hotels -- all 5 start hotels), this was the best, by far. I highly recommend this hotel and spot. It's perfect.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say here. I thought the hotel was really quiet, and learned later that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheStriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear TheStriders,

Thank you for your very positive comments about The Yeatman and for taking the time to write.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay at our hotel, from our perfect location and views to our helpful and friendly staff.

Our primary concern is our guest’s satisfaction and their overall experience and so we are extremely happy to know that you felt you had found the ‘perfect spot’!

We really hope that you can come back and visit us again soon and thank you again.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wow! This hotel sets benchmarks for quality, service, amenities and overall experience. We stayed three nights and I cannot find a single flaw with our experience. I would rate this as one of, if not the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

Every member of the staff we had contact with had a "can do" attitude and no request was too small to be handled to perfection. Even at check out (we had a very early morning flight) they had fresh orange juice and coffee for us though it was hours before breakfast service. The concierge (Catarina) should be teaching a course in the profession instead of laboring at it. She is a supremely pleasant individual with an answer or suggestion for evey request we had.

Our room was immaculate, spacious, quiet and, as others have indicated, looked out on a marvelous view of the City of Porto.

We attended one of the hotel's wine dinners and it was fantastic. The food was excellent as were the wines. We shared our table with others including the hotel's sommelier who is knowledgeable, patient with those still learning and seemed eager to raise the awareness level of Portuguese wine. She exemplifies the hotels attention to detail in all areas of its operation.

And Dick's Bar! We were pleasantly surprised to find an amazing selection of wines by the glass which is almost unheard of anywhere in Europe. More than 80 selections by the glass allows you to sample wines from all over Portugal. To wine lovers this is both an educational benefit and an opportunity to try many superb wines. The staff at Dick's were great as well.

This is a hotel (and Porto is a destination) you should not miss. And if you are a wine lover, move Porto and the Yeatman higher up your list of must see places to visit.

Room Tip: Every room at the Yeatman is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SantaFeFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear SantaFeFF,

Thank you for taking the time to write an in-depth report about your stay with us at The Yeatman.

It is an honour for us that your experience was highly appreciated. There is no greater compliment than to hear this and to know that our service surpassed your every wish.

Much thought and creativity went into designing The Yeatman and your comments have highlighted many of our main characteristics, such as the wine concept, the attention to detail and educational aspect.

Thank you again for your appreciation and feedback.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in May and this is one of the finest hotels we've experienced anywhere. It combines every modern amenity with an ambience that is somehow traditional (and oriented to wine). The views of Porto from the "superior double" room and its large terrace were breathtaking. Every room and every public place (bar, pool, restaurant, etc.) had the same incredible views. In fact, we decided that since Porto up-close was rather shabby and disappointing, that the best way to see it was from the hotel, especially at night, when it looked fairytale lovely.
The best thing about the hotel, though was the service. From the moment we walked through the front door, every employee just went way out of their way to make sure our every need was fulfilled and that we felt welcomed and pampered.
The beds were fabulous, the sheets felt like silk (best quality Egyptian cotton, we think) and the pillows--oh my--you just wanted to stay in bed all day.
A tip--if you don't want to eat in the Michelin star restaurant, the "bar" by the disappearing-edge infinity pool serves wonderful meals at a more reasonable price, with to die for views. And the service and personal interaction from Carlos, the head waiter, made our experience so delightful we came back for the second night dinner as well.
This is truly a 5-star hotel, as opposed to some that claim to be, and worth every penny you spend.

Room Tip: Every room has the same stunning views, as the hotel was built cascading down the hill like the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGBGSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear GGBGSanDiego,

Thank you for posting a review about The Yeatman.

We are honoured that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel. The views are indeed very special and the view of Porto at night is particularly magical.

Much thought went into providing a comfortable, traditional, classic ambiance at The Yeatman. Our main objective, however, is to make our guests feel at home and to provide the five star ‘plus’ service that you deserve, so it is a huge compliment for the Management and staff to know that our service surpassed your expectations.

Our Pool Restaurant opens from May until September and our Michelin star Chef Ricardo Costa provides a more informal menu at lunchtime and in the evenings, with the backdrop of the beautiful Decanter pool and the proximity of Porto from this viewpoint.

Thank you again and we do hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon at The Yeatman.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £179 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing