We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe All The Other Reviews - GREAT Hotel”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just stayed as a family at the Yeatman for two wonderful nights. From the moment we were picked up at the train station by the car service arranged by the hotel to the moment we were dropped off at the airport by another car service arrange by the hotel every moment we spent at the Yeatman was extraordinary. We would put the Yeatman a step above a Four Seasons and on par with the Aman Resorts this hotel very much deserves its association with Relais and Chateaux.

Each and every staff member had the perfect balance of being helpful without being annoying. The hotel is physically perfect with interesting spaces, the entire facility is well laid-out, the rooms are spacious with beautiful views.

The food in each establishment is excellent and the food at “The Restaurant” was a meal that our family will remember for a long time. Our daughter’s gluten allergy was carefully and attentively addressed by the restaurant. Her meal was identical to ours with only the most minor of alterations. In nearly every review we have ever submitted to Trip Advisor there has always been something to complain about. However, for the Yeatman everything about it was perfect. Well, o.k. we will give one complaint, the city of Porto is beautiful to look at from across the river at the Yeatman but the city itself once you get into it is a bit of a run-down uninteresting city. Though the port houses on the Yeatman side of the river are all a delight, especially Grahams.

To the staff and owners of the Yeatman – Thank you for sharing us with an absolutely wonderful place to visit.

A final note, even the cost of the Yeatman seems to be a bargain in comparison with other R&C establishments and in comparison with the other hotels we stayed at in Portugal (Lisbon and Algarve).

Room Tip: We had two Superior Rooms, both spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Nefo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about The Yeatman on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to hear that your stay with us was very positive and enjoyable and that we contributed to making your stay a special one in Porto.

It is very important for us that our guests are made to feel welcome and at home and it is always useful for the staff to receive this positive feedback from guests.

Thank you again and do please return to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

On arrival you are greeted with a friendly smile and impeccable service. The decor and ambience add to the surroundings and the Gastronomic restaurant although expensive is a must. Porto is a fantastic place to visit for a couple of days and the hotels location is perfect.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Keith A,

Thank you for leaving your opinion of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. It is very useful for us to receive feedback from our guests following their stay at The Yeatman.

In this respect, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the service, our gastronomic restaurant, the decoration and ambiance of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this magnificent hotel. All the rooms have spectacular views of the river. We specifically requested a room on a higher floor because of the added privacy, and the hotel graciously accommodated this request. Carlos Trindade, the duty manager, was very helpful and understood our needs. This hotel is simply amazing. Mr. Trindade provided a private tour of the premises, and explained the themes that govern the decoration and naming of the rooms (all related to wines in the Douro region). The views of Porto from everywhere in the hotel are gorgeous. The hotel concept is palpably British. The main public rooms and the decor are reminiscent of British clubs, though it is not at all stuffy. Overall, this is a first-rate hotel that I would give the highest possible recommendation. Muito obrigado, Yeatman!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yorg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Yorg30,

Thank you for very much for leaving your comments about your stay at The Yeatman.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and your stay.

Our aim is to showcase the wealth of excellent Portuguese wines and share some of the culture of one of the great wine capitals of the world.

Do come back to visit us again, it would be our pleasure.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I went there for a week-end. The view of Porto is exceptional and every room has a perfect version of it; this is an advantage of being in Vila Nova de Gaia and not Porto itself: you have a picture perfect view of the city. Walking to Porto itself is easy but bring sensible shoes. The rooms are very well appointed and there is plenty of space in the hotel so it never feels crowded (it was 100% occupied during our week-end); but the most important element is the staff! They are extremely helpful, friendly, consistent and efficient. Breakfast is very good and the tasting menu at the originally named restaurant "The Restaurant" is very very good, do not miss it. The Spa is also one not to miss. We had one of these treatments that you remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Luis W,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your stay at The Yeatman.

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us, especially your experience at our restaurant and Spa.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our service which will be passed on.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come and stay with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay with my husband. Absolutely loved the hotel! Staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. All rooms face out onto the river and overlook Porto. The views were amazing. Breakfast was very good. All wines are offered by the glass which means you can taste a few without having to buy a few bottles. Rooms were bright, spacious and clean. Location was convenient to the Port houses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shepardess2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Shepardess2011,

Thank you for contributing your comments about your stay at The Yeatman on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that our facilities and staff helped to make your stay a special one.

We are indeed privileged in our location, set within the historic Port wine cellar district and with incredible views over Porto. It is practical and fun to be able to visit many different Port wine lodges in the area, to get a really good feel and taste for Port and the different styles and houses which exist.

The Yeatman’s wine concept allows us to have 82 seasonal wines by the glass kept in optimum conditions and a huge breadth of choice among Portuguese wine producers. Our cellar holds 27,000 bottles and 1300 different wine references, from Ports to table wines, making our award winning wine list the most comprehensive of Portuguese wines in the world.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return in the future to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with my wife, wonderful hotel, spacious rooms with the best view of Porto, great pools and spa, excellent staff superb food and wines plus the port houses, value for money at this level. Will be visiting again, order the chauffeur pick ups it's worth it.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Davischance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Davischance,

Thank you very much for your succinct, complimentary review of your stay with us at The Yeatman.

TripAdvisor is a useful barometer for us to measure our service and our guests’ satisfaction.

We were delighted to hear your positive comments and enjoyment of your time spent with us, from the hotel and its location, to the rooms, views, pools and spa, food, wine and service.

Thank you again and please do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Went with 3 friends end of May - two twin rooms. fantastic stay. Beautiful hotel, with great rooms - fantastic views. wonderful breakfasts and the staff at breakfast were very helpful and remembered on the second morning the table where we wished to sit for breakfast. We had long leisurely breakfasts and the staff were very attentive and kept bringing us lots of tea and checking we had everything we needed. An extra special thanks to the reception team who went out of their way to locate my sunglasses that were lost on the last day in a taxi from hotel to town. They rang the taxi company and located the glasses and the taxi company returned them to the hotel - amazing!! Very special service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazyturtle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lazyturtle48,

Thank you for your complimentary review of your time at The Yeatman.

We were delighted that we were able to make your stay a special one and that your opinion of The Yeatman and its facilities matched the service that you were enjoying and experiencing.

The Yeatman was planned with many details to provide heightened guest experience, including very comfortable rest and relaxation facilities and many other ideas that went into designing the hotel. These include the wine concept, attention to detail and impeccable service, which all staff strive to achieve on a daily basis.

In this respect we feel honoured to know that you appreciated the service and this will be passed to the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £176 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing