We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at The Yeatman again this year for two interspersed weeks in July. Loved the experience. Besides the view which leaves you speechless and the general architecture of the hotel which could not have been more adequate, the rooms are comfortable as none others. Excellent service, at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seamless check-in and out.
Only small criticisms that merit no decrease in rating as the finest hotel in Porto and environs, are that the sunbeds in the pool area are insufficient and takes too long for used towels to be removed by guests who have left the pool, there were a couple of days in which the turn down service was missed, when the weather is not just "perfect" but still nice outside the cushions are put out a bit late in the morning. Otherwise, faultless.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Pedro G,

Thank you very much for leaving your very helpful review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had a successful repeat stay with us at The Yeatman and that you loved the experience once again, from the architecture to our views, the comfortable rooms and service.

We are sorry to hear about the insufficient sunbeds and a couple of other small lapses in the cushion and turn down service; your points have been noted and these will be corrected. Indeed we are increasing the number of sunbeds we have available at the moment, providing some additional ones on our garden level.

Thank you again for your invaluable comments and support and we very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    172
    38
    9
    11
See reviews for
262
868
38
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent a long weekend in Porto and was fortunate enough to have picked The Yeatman to stay in,.

It's by far the swankiest hotel in Porto and has prices to match but, in my opinion, the price is justified as the hotel is worthy of it's five star status.

The rooms are very generous in size, well equipped (with free wifI) and each one overlooks the river with stunning views of the city of Porto.

The staff are very attentive - sometimes language was a problem but with a little patience we managed to get our requests seen to.

The location is literally across the road from Taylors and Offley - very convenient but the hotel is at the top of a hill so whilst you can enjoy the walk into town you have to walk uphill for a 5 minutes at the end of the day - not a big deal but some people may be perturbed at this especially after some Port tastings! Don't let this put you off though as you can simply grab a cab - there are lots about.

The Michelin starred restaurant was ok but I've been lucky enough to have dined in many fine dining establishments and this was not up there with them - I found the menu a bit confusing and not very expansive in choice. However the other restaurants in the bar and by the pool were great - although it was a bit frustrating not being allowed to choose from the Pool menu at the bar and vice versa - you would expect this to be not a problem at a 5 star hotel (esp given the proximity of the bar to the pool.

As the views are amazing we spent a lot of time just sitting on the terrace soaking up the sun and the views without feeling any guilt that we were missing out on experiencing Porto. (saying that we found there wasn't that much to do in Porto anyway during the evening but maybe thats because we are spoilt living in London)

Summary: if you find yourself visiting Porto try and stay here, the location alone is unmatched and justifies the premium they charge. If you cannot afford it then at least visit the bar for a drink and/or meal to see the views of Porto - just stunning.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river but try and get one that is not too close to the pool - don't want pryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Jay_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear J_Jay_London,

It was a pleasure to receive your feedback about your stay at The Yeatman. Our customers’ opinion is really important to us and it’s very helpful in order to keep track of our service.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the excellent, panoramic views over Porto and special location. It is natural that in order to have this special position, the downside for some can be the five minute walk up the hill, however, as you say, it is very easy to reach the hotel by taxi, car, train and metro. The hotel is also practical for visiting the old part of Porto and all the Port wine cellars, from which there are many to choose, and our guests usually find it is a peaceful retreat within the city.

Thank you again for all your kind comments and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon to The Yeatman!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a classical 5 stat hotel with a twist for wine. The rooms are wide and have a great view over the river and Porto. The rooms are comfortable.
Worth a visit to the hotel cellar and learn what are the 82 types of wines available by the glass.
the pool scene is perfectly located and some rooms have direct access via the balcony. Several bars in the hotel provide a perfect space for a a snack at any time of the day. The hotel staff is perfect: nice, discrete and they manage to discover our needs and tastes very fast.
PS: the principal restaurant is a 1 Michelin star restaurant, also a place to go and enjoy the gourmet menu

Definitely a place to go !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Afonso_TheHague,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback, further to your stay with us at The Yeatman.

We are always very grateful to guests who write a review on TripAdvisor or who give us feedback during their stay.

The staff work very hard to provide the level of service which our clients deserve and to help them feel comfortable and at home, so to learn that you really enjoyed the experience is to us the biggest compliment of all.

We are pleased you appreciated the different menus we have available in our 2 restaurants as well as the informal menu in Dick’s Bar.

Thank you again and we hope we may have the pleasure of your stay with us in the future.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel really has got the wow factor, we stayed for 4 nights in July and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Our room was very spacious with its own terrace with great views overlooking the Douro river and the city of Porto.

Although we did not use the pool or the Spa they all looked lovely. Breakfast was fantastic. It was nice early evening having a drink of the terrace watching the sun set and taking in the views.

The staff were all very friendly & helpful

The hotel in at the top of the hill near many of the port houses. Its only a short walk down the hill across the river into the centre of Porto.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear KarinKidd,

Thank you so much for such positive comments and feedback further to your stay at The Yeatman.

We feel honoured to know that so many things were to your liking and that you found the standard very pleasing, including the service.

It is true that much thought went into the planning of The Yeatman to heighten guest experience, encompassing the terrific views over Porto and the Douro river, the close proximity to the Port wine cellars, the spacious and comfortable rooms, to the extensive terraces. We were glad you were able to take advantage of the sunsets from our terraces and perhaps enjoyed one of our 82 wines by the glass available in Dick´s Bar, as well as from your own bedroom terrace.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Best wishes,

The Yeatman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was just an excellent experience throughout! The hotel is elegant, staff is exceptionally friendly and supportive, rooms are spacious with their own terrace and great view of Porto. The restaurant in the hotel offers excellent food and service, and the breakfast was varied and rich. The hotel is on the other side of the Douro river where all the port lodges are situated, so it was possible just to walk to one of them for port wine tasting. It was just an enjoyable stay and if we come back to Porto, this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franziska300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Franziska300,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Yeatman. It is very useful for us to receive feedback from our guests.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects including our decoration, spacious rooms, views, staff and food.

Our location is practical for visiting the Port wine lodges and there are many different ones to see within close range of the hotel and we always recommend visiting more than one whilst in Porto, to get a good idea of the styles and their production.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Yeatman.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spend only 2 days in Porto (we will return!), but didn't see any other place I'd rather stay. Overlooking the Duero River and the city of Porto from Villa de Gaia -- where all of the port lodges are located -- this is an elegant, bright, intelligently designed property that works in every way. Dining on the patio is quite and experience, although I cannot say it was the best meal we had in Portugal, it was a pleasure, and the wine selections made for us were perfect. It is a short walk across the river to Porto, and after all the wine and food, much needed! All the rooms have a view and all (appear to be) great.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had easy access to pool and wonderful patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for contributing your highly complimentary review to TripAdvisor following your stay with us at The Yeatman.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and that you would like to return!

We have several menus available to guests, all created by Chef Ricardo Costa, from the Michelin star gastronomic restaurant, to our Outdoor Pool restaurant (open from May until October for lunch and dinner), to a more informal menu in our Wine Bar. Weather permitting, one can eat on the terraces with panoramic views and one can also enjoy a meal from one’s own bedroom terrace with the same varied wine selection.

We would be delighted to have you return to visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagsvaerd, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights in July at Yeatman Hotel in Porto. An excellent experience in every way, a warm welcome by friendly doormen and reception

A marvelleous view of Porto and Douro river from the room and terrasse

Great attention at breakfast buffet that offered even caviar and champagne.
We shall never forget the warm and friendly atmosphere and service. We have been at many top class hotels around the World, but never experienced anything like this. We will be back.
Torben Holm, Copenhagen, Denmark

Room Tip: Prøv at få et værelse med udsigt over by og flod
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Gerente de relações públicas at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Torben H,

Thank you so much for your highly complimentary review of your long stay with us at The Yeatman.

Feedback from our guests on TripAdvisor helps us to keep track of our offer and service.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great holiday at The Yeatman, enjoying many aspects that you describe such as an excellent overall experience, the friendly welcome, our extensive buffet breakfast and our warm and friendly service.

We have been fortunate to have won many awards since opening, however, the greatest award to the staff is to know that our guests felt that they were well taken care of and that they really appreciated the facilities and service.

We would be absolutely delighted to have the pleasure of your company again with us in the future and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing