We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Gaia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Gaia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Yeatman hotel is one the best hotels I have been in my life. The people is very pleasant, the scenery over the Douro River is one of the most beautiful I have seen. Each room has its own decoration, and it refers to a different wine. The wine cellar is excellent.

Room Tip: You need to know this hotel in Gaia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGuimaraes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear MGuimaraes150

Thank you for contributing with your opinion about The Yeatman to Tripadvisor.

We feel proud and happy to know that The Yeatman was one of the best hotels you’ve stayed in.

Our location is in the heart of the historic Port wine cellar district in Gaia, just across the bridge from Porto and a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away. The Yeatman is surrounded by Port wine lodges and its position is indeed privileged and provides a spectacular view.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll return to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    167
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
256
843
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived and greeted by very friendly staff. Had the tour.. the hotel is upside down with the reception at the top and rooms below. The views are stunning of Porto city and the famous iron bridge. Lunch was great overlooking the city. The room was a Superior class with direct access to the garden. Lovely room very sophisticated décor. Huge bathroom, great bath and soft bed. We attended the summer party which we sampled lots of different wines, foods and met the uber riche local Porto people. Great atmosphere. The dinner in the Michelin starred restaurant was very good. We had the tasting menu. (Small main course - the only issue). The hotel is within close walking distance to all the main Port wine houses...

The service was very good. Remembered our names. On the final night had a drink in the bar and had live jazz music. Very good...

Infinity pool is stunning with views of Porto and the river... Will definitely come back... We had the CROFT room. Big and bright. Only negative is that its a room for a disabled person access so the shower had a seat in it. Not a huge problem though. The bath is big but be careful of people walking past whilst you are undressed!!!

Room Tip: Garden room! You have access to the huge garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Steve222_11

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at The Yeatman.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed, in particular, our friendly staff, the views, the meals in our restaurants and the comfort and decoration of our bedrooms.

Glad to hear also that you attended our Summer Wine Party. The Yeatman hosts several parties a year that are open to guests and the general public, from Sunset Wine Parties in the warmer months, to our Christmas Wine Experience event which takes place on the first weekend in December. The parties are a good way to experience our chef’s cuisine in an informal way, as well as to try some delicious Portuguese wines.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place is amazing. You enter at the top of the Hotel and work your way down. We had a garden superior room. The views are breathtaking. Also attended the summer wine party and met the uber riche locals. Lots of wines, great food and company. Service is very good at this place. Also felt very welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was good. (Almost excellent). The views are the best in town! Its super expensive but for a treat! The infinity pool is gorgeous. We spend the next day touring Braga and the surroundings which are very close by if you have a car.

Room Tip: Garden room... you have access to the huge garden with amazing views of the city and bridge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for your nice comments about The Yeatman and your stay.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed many aspects of being with us, including the hotel’s facilities, design, views, food, gardens and pools.

We are also delighted to hear that you took advantage of our Summer Wine Party and that you had a good time, particularly enjoying the food and wine.

We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Yeatman for a few days in August 2014. From arrival the hotel surpassed all expectations. The staff are friendly and courteous - in fact, they interact with you like you've been staying there for ages!

After a brief tour of the hotel, we were taken to our room on floor 0 with direct access to the garden. The room was luxuriously appointed, flawless in every way - what a view, and what a bed!

We ate in the restaurant on the second night, which was very good, and we attended the hotel's summer wine party - we were lucky we visited when this was on as it was really fun!

The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, eat outside if you can to take in the view.

We loved this hotel - absolute understated luxury - we will be back! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room, although all rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesA045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear JamesA045,

Thank you for such positive feedback about your stay with us at The Yeatman!

We are truly honoured to hear that we made you feel at home with our attentive service and care and that we were able to surpass your expectations. Your comments will be passed on to the staff.

We’re also delighted that you could take advantage of our Summer Wine Party and that you really enjoyed yourselves. You may wish to consult our Facebook page and website for further information about other upcoming parties and events which we organize and are open to hotel guests and the general public. Coming up soon is our October Wine Fest and in December, the Christmas Wine Experience with informal dining where you can get to try many different wines and meet the wine producers.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel was as close to perfection as I have experienced. I stayed here for 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. The room was spacious and tasteful, the hotel was beautiful and everything was spotlessly clean. It was the view, facilities and service that made this hotel so special though.

The view: When we arrived we were shown to our rooms and the porter made sure we went to the balcony overlooking the lights twinkling in Porto, pointing out the sights. The hotel is designed to make the most of it, with fantastic views from the balcony at breakfast and from both the infinity pool and the indoor pool.

Food & Drink: Breakfast included an epic cheeseboard, caviar and fizz, at night in the bar the barman carefully chose local wines and ports to our recommendation which arrived with lots of nibbles. The Michelin star restaurant was great but a bit pricey and not up to the standard I've experienced in London. The poolside bar lets them down - very overpriced for the food but the chance to have a nice glass of white by the amazing pool shouldn't be missed. We were also brought a plate of complimentary chocolates and petit fours to our room one day - a lovely surprise.

Spa & Pool: I keep on mentioning the pool and that is because it was wonderful, really refreshing and a memorable treat. The spa was beautiful and I had one of the best massages ever.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Map83,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about The Yeatman.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

The hotel was designed to provide excellence, so we are happy that you appreciated everything.

We are fortunate to have won many awards since opening, such as Best International Hotel, Food & Travel Reader awards, Best of Wine Tourism, 2014 and Best Hotel Spa Europe 2013, but our greatest achievement is in knowing that we pleased our guests and that we contributed to a memorable stay.

We sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the future.

With thanks and best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Looking at the pictures you're preparing for something special but you remind yourself not to get too excited just incase something is misleading in the pictures. Believe me there's nothing misleading, this place is incredible, to see it and the views in person is, like most things, just that bit better, it doesn't disappoint on any level.... from the warm genuine welcome at reception, to the sheer opulence you encounter in every corridor and common area, let alone the room with a gigantic bed and your own balcony, then of course there's the view, what an amazing view (which you see plenty of as the whole hotel is etched into the steep hill-face), this really is a special place. Everything is constructed with a touch of class, clearly with no expense spared or corner cut in any way. Places like this just don't exist in major cities, at least this is the first we've come across, and for a relatively reasonable budget considering what you're getting, it's worth every cent. Do the tasting menu in the restaurant (think we counted 15 courses including all the 'surprises' between what I think was supposed to be a 6-7 course menu), eat breakfast on the terrace (bring sunglasses, the white of the table cloths are blinding in the sunlight), get a massage in the spa, stroll down to the port cellars. Really incredible place, would return to Porto just to stay here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTheReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear JohnTheReviewer,

Thank you for your comments contributed to TripAdvisor, following your stay at The Yeatman.

We are very grateful when our guests give us feedback regarding their stay, so that we can measure our progress and keep track of our levels of service.

Thank you for your complimentary remarks about our service; the staff will be pleased to hear that you felt warmly welcomed and at home.

We are glad you liked the view, decoration, the comfort of your rooms, private terrace, food in the gastronomic restaurant and your spa treatment.

We do hope that you will return to stay with us again, it would be our pleasure.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent rooms, food, service, and spa, and possibly one of the best views in Portugal from the rooms and the restaurant. Very relaxed and romantic. We loved the gastronomic restaurant and enjoyed reading the hotel-provided books on the terrace of our room withthe view over Porto and river Douro.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ilyaa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear ilyaa57,

Thank you for your succinct and positive review about The Yeatman that you kindly provided for the TripAdvisor community.

We are grateful for your feedback and delighted to know that you really appreciated your stay with us, from the rooms, service, spa and views, to our gastronomic restaurant. Very pleased that you enjoyed the books in the room and the relaxing, romantic atmosphere.

Do please come back, it would be our pleasure to welcome you once again.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing