We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Yeatman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yeatman
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Best hotel in Porto area and best view in the region. The food was incredible, and the service is 5 stars all the way. The pool is awesome and Dick's bar is a great place to relax for a cocktail before hitting the town. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Taylor L,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at The Yeatman.

We are delighted to know that your evaluation was so positive and that you had an outstanding time with us!

It’s wonderful that you enjoyed the food and we are very pleased to hear the service provided was up to the excellent standards that you deserve.

Our thanks again for providing us with your feedback and we hope that you will return to visit us again soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    181
    44
    9
    11
See reviews for
282
928
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

There are a few hotels that would draw you back to a city for another holiday. The Yeatman is one.
Superb service and views from every room that put you in the best of moods. This is just a lovely place.
The bed is huge and the linen amazing. Everything is of a high standard.
Dinner at Taylors next door shares the same stunning view and is quite good. Certainly better than the rip off restaurants by the river below which are worth gazing at but not sampling.
Porto itself is wonderful, especially a tour of the Casa Musica

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear john28London,

Thank you for writing to Tripadvisor with your review of your stay at The Yeatman. It is very useful for us to receive feedback from our guests, as a way of measuring our offer and service.

The views are indeed inspiring from The Yeatman and it’s interesting that you say that they help to put one in the best of moods!

There is a lot of space which provides additional comfort and helps to promote relaxation, and services and facilities are designed to operate at a very high standard.

How wonderful that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay at The Yeatman and your visit to Porto. We sincerely hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Yeatman hotel is one the best hotels I have been in my life. The people is very pleasant, the scenery over the Douro River is one of the most beautiful I have seen. Each room has its own decoration, and it refers to a different wine. The wine cellar is excellent.

Room Tip: You need to know this hotel in Gaia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGuimaraes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear MGuimaraes150

Thank you for contributing with your opinion about The Yeatman to Tripadvisor.

We feel proud and happy to know that The Yeatman was one of the best hotels you’ve stayed in.

Our location is in the heart of the historic Port wine cellar district in Gaia, just across the bridge from Porto and a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away. The Yeatman is surrounded by Port wine lodges and its position is indeed privileged and provides a spectacular view.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll return to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived and greeted by very friendly staff. Had the tour.. the hotel is upside down with the reception at the top and rooms below. The views are stunning of Porto city and the famous iron bridge. Lunch was great overlooking the city. The room was a Superior class with direct access to the garden. Lovely room very sophisticated décor. Huge bathroom, great bath and soft bed. We attended the summer party which we sampled lots of different wines, foods and met the uber riche local Porto people. Great atmosphere. The dinner in the Michelin starred restaurant was very good. We had the tasting menu. (Small main course - the only issue). The hotel is within close walking distance to all the main Port wine houses...

The service was very good. Remembered our names. On the final night had a drink in the bar and had live jazz music. Very good...

Infinity pool is stunning with views of Porto and the river... Will definitely come back... We had the CROFT room. Big and bright. Only negative is that its a room for a disabled person access so the shower had a seat in it. Not a huge problem though. The bath is big but be careful of people walking past whilst you are undressed!!!

Room Tip: Garden room! You have access to the huge garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Steve222_11

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at The Yeatman.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed, in particular, our friendly staff, the views, the meals in our restaurants and the comfort and decoration of our bedrooms.

Glad to hear also that you attended our Summer Wine Party. The Yeatman hosts several parties a year that are open to guests and the general public, from Sunset Wine Parties in the warmer months, to our Christmas Wine Experience event which takes place on the first weekend in December. The parties are a good way to experience our chef’s cuisine in an informal way, as well as to try some delicious Portuguese wines.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place is amazing. You enter at the top of the Hotel and work your way down. We had a garden superior room. The views are breathtaking. Also attended the summer wine party and met the uber riche locals. Lots of wines, great food and company. Service is very good at this place. Also felt very welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was good. (Almost excellent). The views are the best in town! Its super expensive but for a treat! The infinity pool is gorgeous. We spend the next day touring Braga and the surroundings which are very close by if you have a car.

Room Tip: Garden room... you have access to the huge garden with amazing views of the city and bridge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for your nice comments about The Yeatman and your stay.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed many aspects of being with us, including the hotel’s facilities, design, views, food, gardens and pools.

We are also delighted to hear that you took advantage of our Summer Wine Party and that you had a good time, particularly enjoying the food and wine.

We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Yeatman for a few days in August 2014. From arrival the hotel surpassed all expectations. The staff are friendly and courteous - in fact, they interact with you like you've been staying there for ages!

After a brief tour of the hotel, we were taken to our room on floor 0 with direct access to the garden. The room was luxuriously appointed, flawless in every way - what a view, and what a bed!

We ate in the restaurant on the second night, which was very good, and we attended the hotel's summer wine party - we were lucky we visited when this was on as it was really fun!

The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, eat outside if you can to take in the view.

We loved this hotel - absolute understated luxury - we will be back! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room, although all rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesA045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear JamesA045,

Thank you for such positive feedback about your stay with us at The Yeatman!

We are truly honoured to hear that we made you feel at home with our attentive service and care and that we were able to surpass your expectations. Your comments will be passed on to the staff.

We’re also delighted that you could take advantage of our Summer Wine Party and that you really enjoyed yourselves. You may wish to consult our Facebook page and website for further information about other upcoming parties and events which we organize and are open to hotel guests and the general public. Coming up soon is our October Wine Fest and in December, the Christmas Wine Experience with informal dining where you can get to try many different wines and meet the wine producers.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel was as close to perfection as I have experienced. I stayed here for 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. The room was spacious and tasteful, the hotel was beautiful and everything was spotlessly clean. It was the view, facilities and service that made this hotel so special though.

The view: When we arrived we were shown to our rooms and the porter made sure we went to the balcony overlooking the lights twinkling in Porto, pointing out the sights. The hotel is designed to make the most of it, with fantastic views from the balcony at breakfast and from both the infinity pool and the indoor pool.

Food & Drink: Breakfast included an epic cheeseboard, caviar and fizz, at night in the bar the barman carefully chose local wines and ports to our recommendation which arrived with lots of nibbles. The Michelin star restaurant was great but a bit pricey and not up to the standard I've experienced in London. The poolside bar lets them down - very overpriced for the food but the chance to have a nice glass of white by the amazing pool shouldn't be missed. We were also brought a plate of complimentary chocolates and petit fours to our room one day - a lovely surprise.

Spa & Pool: I keep on mentioning the pool and that is because it was wonderful, really refreshing and a memorable treat. The spa was beautiful and I had one of the best massages ever.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR_The_Yeatman, Public Relations Manager at The Yeatman, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Map83,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about The Yeatman.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

The hotel was designed to provide excellence, so we are happy that you appreciated everything.

We are fortunate to have won many awards since opening, such as Best International Hotel, Food & Travel Reader awards, Best of Wine Tourism, 2014 and Best Hotel Spa Europe 2013, but our greatest achievement is in knowing that we pleased our guests and that we contributed to a memorable stay.

We sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the future.

With thanks and best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.1 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yeatman

Property: The Yeatman
Address: Rua de Choupelo, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-088, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Yeatman 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yeatman is a luxury wine Hotel and Spa in Porto, Portugal, set amidst the Port wine lodges in the beautiful historic district of Vila Nova de Gaia. The Yeatman nestles on a hill, with panoramic views overlooking Porto and the River Douro. The Yeatman's 82 spacious bedrooms (4 Master Suites, 8 Suites and 70 bedrooms) all face the view of Porto and the river offering a high level of comfort and a private, spacious terrace. The Michelin star restaurant provides a creative fine dining experience where local ingredients are privileged and presented with contemporary flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yeatman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yeatman Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
The Yeatman Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing