We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabolous atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastronomic Restaurant The Yeatman

Gastronomic Restaurant The Yeatman
Reserve with
Gastronomic Restaurant The Yeatman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$151
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the classic comfort of The Yeatman restaurant, guests will experience inspired cuisine with the accent on fresh local produce and on the imaginative pairing of food and wine. The pool lounge will provide a relaxed contemporary ambiance in which to enjoy a healthy light meal or gourmet snack while taking in the spectacular panorama of the city. Light dishes and sandwiches are also served in Dick’s Bar with its wide choice of cocktails, wines and Ports.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabolous atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are here on a good day (weather) you will be seated on a beautifull slate-terrasse overlooking Porto lively seaside area. The hotel, and restaurant is grand. Comfy seating, thick tablecloth, nice cuttlery and Riedel glasses for your wine. Lots of space around your table. Friendly, and goodlooking, waitresses/ waiters. For the gourmetmenu the sommelier took the challenge of finding wine that challenged the corses. (Their regular wine is made to "flow with the food). This got us an even more interesting and fun meal as we both tried each others glasses. All portugese wine. The food itself was exellent not to mention all the "compliments de chef" that was comming. The foie gras in white chocolate was fantastic. Thought it was going to be sickening fat and heavy but…wow! The sunset and the awekening nightlife of Porto with its lights and sounds contributed to make this a very special experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    118
    38
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Brilliant food with a great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a renewed restaurant located in the The Yeatman hotel in Gaia with 1 Michelin star.
The gourmet menu is just brilliant! the experience is a must! should definitely go with the wine menu.

With nice weather having the dinner outside is just a perfect combination as the view is great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great, not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

None of the dishes were "over the top." But the presentation and the "compliments of the chef" were imaginative and, along with the fine wine service -- with "by the glass" -- made for a very enjoyable evening. If you're a guest of the hotel, you should try once -- all others, maybe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The. Worst. Dinner.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am giving this two stars because the view is amazing. And, they have a gorgeous terrace so you can see the river, Porto, and the sunset. But, that is where the compliments stop.

We traveled all over Portugal over a 10 day period. We are NOT picky eaters. And, we are used to eating in a huge variety of restaurants. We ate everything from Monkfish on the beach to Vila Joya in the Albufeira (Michelin star, Top 50 restaurants in the world). We had great great great meals in Portugal.

However, my experience at the Yeatman was HORRIBLE. The food was completely inedible. The chef sent "surprises"--and I could not eat a single one of them. We only ordered an entree to split because the "surprises" were so disgusting-- I will say that the entree was decent. But, this is no where neat Michelin quality and I would never ever recommend it or go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank doublej98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This was not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to The Yeatman due to the reviews on this site, as well as the recommendation of friends. The views are stunning! However, that's about all the positive I can say about it. The crab cornet was so fishy tasting that I couldn't eat it and the other amuses were equally questionable. Additionally, I had 2 bones in my monkfish entree, which is definitely not what you would expect at a restaurant of this quality. We literally couldn't get out of there fast enough. I don't think I've ever paid this much for a dinner and been this disappointed by the food. Perhaps it was the Chef's vacation week when we there, as no one we told of our experience could believe it was this bad!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SanDMo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gastronomic Restaurant The Yeatman also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Gastronomic Restaurant The Yeatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing