We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price.”
Review of Novotel Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Porto Gaia
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our way to Algarve because Son wanted to do the Porto stadium tour, and Daughter wanted to do the Lisbon stadium the next day. Location was excellent for driving into the city and hotel is very easy to find.
The hotel and grounds were immaculate, and free WiFi throughout the building.
Pool was very clean and welcoming, bar & breakfast service was excellent & very reasonably priced. We have stayed in quite a few Novotels over the years & this was the best.
Would highly recommend for a visit to Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Z1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I expected bog standard / basic Novotel. This otel was good enough to spend a long holiday! Although very compact, it offered everything you could possibly need on your holiday.
Super pool area, great relaxing Bar - I thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Some guests experienced problems with their air con, filters needed cleaning. My room was 100% fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbridgwater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Patuquer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't book accommodation on Porto and drove onto this side of the city. We had trouble finding parking and finding hotels. The GPS led us here and what a find. I'm not a fan of chain hotels but the moment I walked in the door I was greeted by the most pleasant receptionist.
She gave us a great rate for two nights told us about what the ins and outs for the hotel were and gave us a great room overlooking the pool. Dinner in the restaurant was good too the waitstaff very attentive.
We just got a cab up and down the hill and don't cost more than 6-7 euro
The front office staff the whole time were very lovely and we didn't know Spanish and they did their best to help and most spoke great English and if they didn't know would check with someone else to ensure everything was done right
They offer free parking also
Room was very large and bathroom massive felt very comfortable there

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at the novotel for 7 nights in June during the Sao Joao festivities.

Hotel Location: Not easy to reach or find even with a GPS. Definetely not for holidaymakers without a car as walking into Porto is farther than 45 min walking with a steep hill to walk up and down. Very close to Arabida Shopping Center (nor sure how to walk there though with all those highways, bi-ways and off-ramps). Free controled parking is super.

Hotel Building: It is dated and strange enough for a country like Portugal there are no balconies just windows, so in reality you are stuck in your room once you return. The beds were firm and the pillows of very good quality. Housekeeping was ok though not very thorough. There were many channels on TV including an english movie channel and news.

Hotel facilities: The pool was of satisfactory size with a well kept garden. What I did not like was the fact that the pool was fenced off and there were two openinings in the fence to get in. When you were lying on the sunbeds you almost felt as if you were looking at a sealed off construction site.

Hotel Staff: The staff at the reception desk were overall polite but not really knowleadgable about things. When we asked about the festivities of San Joao they couldn't tell us much. When we asked about restaurants the answer was they are all good. When we asked about a trip to Guimaraes again not much to be said. We asked about beaches and the answer was all of Porto's beaches are lovely (I beg to differ!) When we asked for help contacting TAP about a broken suitcase they did so but only after our insistance. On the other hand, the staff at the Breakfast area were great. They were polite and smiling and welcoming. They were quick to help out with any request though it was clear they were overworked and busy.

Hotel Breakfast: Overall it was a good breakfast. There was hot and cold food. My two objections are when things run out it took time for them to be refilled and there was not much variety of cheese, cold meats and bread (Portugal being famous for its bread and rolls!). Also the 7 breakfasts we had were identical, nothing new or different was offered over the duration of our stay.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I found a super duper offer on the internet.

Room Tip: We were in room 127 on the groung floor with a view of the parking lot. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ectoras_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank cl_viper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Comfortable, good hotel. What I missed: there was no body lotion in the bathroom, the room is a writing tool. A breakfast of cold meat and cheese selection was poor and the same every day. Apart from that the hotel we had fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Edit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De G...
#9 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Martir Sao Sebastiao, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-499, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Gaia is a 3 star hotel located in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and renowned wine cellars, 20 km from the airport and 35 km from the Europarque conference centre. Perfect for a business trip or a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 93 airconditioned rooms, including 56 non smoking rooms, five meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, terrace area and playground for children. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Novotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Vila Nova De Gaia Novotel
Novotel Hotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing