We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Porto Gaia
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$107
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Black Tulip(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$52
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$171
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$631
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
331
599
145
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
599
145
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolkept clean and tidythe rivernice poolx boxstar qualityfamily roompublic transportsuperior rooma short taxi ridebreakfast buffet was goodchess boardcable careasy accesscentral positionhot and cold foodgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After spending a week 100 miles up the Douro which has no infrastructure at all for tourism (unless you are on a 200 bedroom hotel boat...soul-less) we were delighted with the Novotel. Ok so it's 5 euros in a taxi to get to the city but by crikey what value for money this place is.We paid about 70 euros for a superior room for 3 with breakfast worth at least 30 of those euros,. Staff at desk superb. In bar a little slow but just go hunting for them and then you'll get nice service. if you sit on your [--] perhaps not. Not at all dear for a 4 star hotel and to sit by the pool on a city break is a real treat. I looked today and a double room in March 2014 is 40 euros a night with breakfast!!! 20 euros from airport in a taxi...great place for a city break i think.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrT1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two days.
The room was nice. There was a double bed and a sofa. Shower and good services and clean.
Nearby the hotel has beautiful views of the Douro River entering the ocean.
Rich breakfast and nice staff.
The hotel has a large garden with a nice pool.
The only problem, the location of the hotel is such that requires use public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Great for families. Beds are getting outdated, but rooms overall are excellent. The hotel location and facilities are also very good. Usually front desk staff is nice. Sometimes you'll encounter someone who probably isn't happy about his/her life and it shows (:-)). Worth booking rooms on last floor: 4th. I have stayed in 408 and 412. Great views of the Foz do Douro.

Note: I have come back to this particular hotel every year for the last 3 years.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodolfo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My dad took me here with the idea of two nights here and then two nights in the city centre at the Mercure. It took 20-30 minutes drive from the airport then you need taxis to get to the city as it's NOT central and has nothing of apparent interest nearby. I had a beautiful sea view in my huge room. We luckily enjoyed 30 degree sunshine so sat outside for much of our stay, the huge electric pylon in the garden slightly off putting but otherwise perfectly acceptable. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was entirely standard fare, lunch had some excellent prawns and mussels. When we left we had spent almost €200 between us which seemed steep for 2 nights but we did spend an evening enjoying Cointreau and vodka at the bar prior to going out and on coming back. The bill was a little unclear on checking and I don't think we were charged for lunch? Service ranged from very friendly and helpful to one guy at the bar who acted as if I was a downright inconvenience. They need a bell on the bar as you tend to stand there for ages before anyone noticed. Dad was more impressed with this than the swanky upmarket Mercure in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a pleasant hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia, across the Douro river from Oporto. Although it is difficult to find even with a GPS (it is off the Arrabida bridge), it is surprisingly pleasant for a short stay (ours was just one night so there were facilities we didn't use).
Staff at reception were nice and professional; our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, a sofa-bed, modular furniture and modern bathroom. There was free wi-fi.
Dogs are accepted for a fee.
Private parking is free; that is good because you need a car (or taxi) to go anywhere.
The pool area is pleasant and there are facilities for children to play in.
Breakfast was expensive so we didn't have it. There is a bar and restaurant but we went out for meals.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms have a nice view over the pool and towards the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews