We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Porto Gaia
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oh! Porto(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$541
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
211
296
54
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
296
54
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa big shopping mallnice hotelprivilege roomlarge breakfast roombusiness tripwine appreciationthe rivera short taxi riderecommend this hotelluis bridgegreat place to stayby foottea and coffeerental carcomfy bedexcellent breakfasteasy access
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed 4 nights here in May 2013. Chose the hotel for its non-centro location, as we had a car, and reasonable price. There was also abundant free parking outside the hotel.
The hotel is located wthin a maze of roads and motorway on/off-ramps, so it is certainly a challenge getting to and from the hotel by car. Walking anywhere from the hotel did not seem possible. We used Apple Maps on the iPhone 5 so navigation was made a lot easier. It is right next to a shopping mall with a large grocery store which was handy. Our room faced a large courtyard looking towards the shopping centre, so it was quiet but lacked views of the Douros.
Check-in was inefficient, as we were first given a double bed (requested twin), then were moved to a twin smoking room (requested non-smoking), and finally to our correct room. Only a simple apology was given (should have recieved an upgrade for that effort!!).
The lobby/reception of the hotel is typical Mercure, clean, modern but not over-stated, however beyond there, the hotel seems overdue for a makeover, with an abundance of tired red carpet and wooden wall panels. The room was reasonably spacious, comfortable beds, TV with numerous English channels, and one of those annoying mini-bars that charge items automatically (some items fall over easily and trigger a charge - be sure to challenge any false charges!). Basic maintenance seems to be overlooked here, such as a leaking shower, and loose screws in power sockets and towel rails.
If you have a GPS this hotel is good value and provides a base for exploring Porto and surrounds. If you don't have a GPS - forget it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the shopping centre are likely to be quieter as the hotel is surrounded by chaotic motorways and roads!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weary_Traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

A modern Mercure that always looks as if it had just opened its doors! Clean, efficient and quiet. This is a very well run comfortable hotel, great for business travellers.
It's only downside is that you have to use either bus, taxi or car to get out, it's not possible to walk! But in a short taxi ride you can be among a wealth of restaurants and activities of Gaia waterfront

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JSS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall, the lobby of the hotel is spacious with a bar, small dinning area and a large breakfast room. Check in was quick, staff very friendly and willing to answer any and all questions. Room was on the 1st floor, so not much of a view, except of the freeway which was ok, because I did not intend to spend much time in the room. The room was very nice, large with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv, free wifi, and a mini bar, The window did not open as there was no handle attached, they had been taken away for safety but if you wanted to open the window for fresh air, you could request a handle. The rooms have excellent soundproofing and I did not hear any noise from the outside. Breakfast was not included and IMO was a bit expensive 11euro's the breakfast had a nice variety but not worth the price. There is a large grocery store in the mall so one could purchase some breakfast items and keep them in the mini bar as there is a room for some personal items. Be aware however, there is a notice on the inside of them mini bar that any items removed will be immediately charged to the room, this is done electronically so don't move any of the items around or take them out to look at them unless you want to be charged for this. The hotel is not close to he city center/old town, there is public transportation very close by, but will not go into detail about it. If you are considering this hotel email me and I will give you directions. I did ask at the front desk but they seemed to discourage me from taking it, I think they wanted to sell the tours and taxi's, but then that is the business they are in. Again a nice hotel for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

From check in through advise on Port Wine at the bar, quality of breakfast, availibility of newspapers, or an umbrella on a rainy day .... all staff , reception, bar, restaurant or house keeping, staff are always friendly and efficient ... just perfect!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JorgeEnriqueInMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed for three weeks in business and was been a great stay. The room is really modern ans comfortable, the breakfast was really nice! All the staff really friendly. There are a huge shopping center connected to the hotel! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xfparreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews