We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I did stayed around 10 nights in this hotel in December, 2012, visiting relatives nearby. It was a very nice experience, the room is confortable and not small and the breakfast is excellent! Very friendly and helpfull staff - they make guests feel very confortable. The lounge is cozy, have a computer with high speed internet and a small bar with enough drinks, fruits and coffee. There are also magazines and tv.
I recommend it, it's good value for money. Very close to shopping mall El Corte Ingles and MTR.
Isabel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 818Isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    237
    84
    11
    2
See reviews for
115
201
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Perfect location for traveling in Porto. 60 meters or so to the Joao de Deus metro station. About 60 meter to El Cort Ingles, the biggest shopping center in Porto. The people who work in Clip hotel is always helpful and nice. The breakfast is not the best, but for the price it's really wort the money. Same thing with the bed, it's hard as rock, but this way you vake up early to see the wonderful city of Porto. I know I will stay at this hotel the next time I visit Porto.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogernilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing ClipHotel and for the time spent writing your review.
Our guests opinions are essential to improve the quality of our service.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards from all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I had great expectations for this place as it has great reviews and looks superb from outside. The rooms at a first glance look cosy and clean and you get a good feel about the place. That is until you try sleeping! The bed was so hard that I may as well have slept on the floor! The pillow was just as hard and felt like it was filled with sand. If you like a hard bed then this will suit you down to the ground unless of course I am in the minority in liking feathers beneath my head when I sleep or even something similar. The bathroom was cramped with no room to move about although the shower itself gave you a good hot soaking which you will need to loosen up your neck muscles in the morning. The breakfast was a self service buffet and the food was fresh. Don´t expect an English breakfast though. It´s basically croissants, ham, cheese and fruit. Fresh juice and coffee etc. If you are claustrophobic stay away from the lift, it´s like a coffin! The B&B in the centre is a better hotel and is closer to the tourist spots so I would recommend that place instead!

Room Tip: Try another hotel or ask for a softer pillow if one is available. Somethin I wish I had tried but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatsallthatabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing ClipHotel.
We would also like to thank you for the time spent writing this review. Our guests feedback is essential so we can improve the quality of our services.
Please accept our apologies for not having responded to your expectations. We also inform that the matter of the matresses and pillows is already being solved as we have bought new ones and we are waiting them to be delivered in a few days.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at ClipHotel.

Kind regards,

Sara Amado
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed at the Cliphotel for 9 nights while on vacation in Porto. This hotel was wonderful! The staff was attentive and helpful with every need that we had. The rooms were extremely clean and very functional. I will be back to this hotel sometime in the future after this experience. I also recommend this hotel as a must for anyone that is staying in Porto. The hotel is located about one block from the metro and from a big mall/supermarket. We did not make use of the breakfast at the hotel, but I heard from family that was also staying at the Clip that the breakfast was very good. This hotel has it all, location, cleanliness, and a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 706. This room was one of the bigger rooms. This room even had a full bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

In advance we would like to thank you for choosing ClipHotel and for the time spent writing this review.

Your opinion is very important so we can keep up the good working. Everyday we make our best effort to get our guests satisfied.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at ClipHotel.

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for two nights with our children in the 2-bedrooms family suite: great! The Metro passes just in front to the center, the rooms are clean and spacious. The staff speaks English and most of them Spanish and French. All of them are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is various and healthy: freshly made orange juice, different breads, cornflakes, eggs, fruits, yoghurts...we loved it. All in all: great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranzSprosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you fof choosing Cliphotel.
Your satisfaction makes us really proud and encourages us to work even harder to make our guests happy!

We look forward to welcome you again at ClipHotel.

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Muito bom! Great place to stay with easy access to rail network just 50m away, giving access to beaches like Espinho etc. The tram stops right outside for trips into Porto and Vila Nova da Gaia for the Port Cellars and river trips up the Douro. Shopping is a 100m away at Corte Ingles. Most enjoyable place to sat. I have been there several times.

Room Tip: Use the tram to access the city, rail is across the road for seaside (Espinho) etc. Corte Ingles for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are very pleased with your happiness as we make our best effoert to satisfy our guests.
It will be a pleasure to see you again!

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the modern, clean, inexpensive and well located Cliphotel for 3 nights. Excellent buffet breakfast and an easy metro ride to the center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martyperinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time wiriting this review. The satifaction of our guests is our main goal and we will continue the hard working so we can continue to get our guests satisfied.

It will be a pleasure to have you again at ClipHotel.

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vila Nova de Gaia hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
#8 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#10 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliphotel Gaia Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliphotel Gaia Porto

Property: Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Address: Avenida da Republica 1559, Vila Nova de Gaia 4430-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#6 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#6 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliphotel Gaia Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliphotel Gaia Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliphotel Gaia Porto Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Cliphotel Gaia Porto Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing