We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliphotel Gaia Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Lagoa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

3 stars hotel, 50 mts from El Corte Inglês and Subway. Excelente choice if you want to visit Oporto Caves and Ribeira. Rooms are small but very clean. Wellcome drink is always avaiable for guests and WiFi too.

Room Tip: Higher floors got better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    227
    82
    11
    2
See reviews for
111
193
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in the Clip, which is what it statess a nice clean modern hotel, no frills, bit more like the Residencia it used to be. But clean and comfortable nice touch with free coffee and soft drinks in Reception, very polite staff who spoke good English. the Air conditioning was very welcome also as it was a very hot week-end. all in all i would recommend this hotel to coupes and travelers looking for a good spot in Vila Nova de Gaia. we would stay there again,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank paulnsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This used to be an albergaria and has been renovated and rebranded. It's clean, modern and reasonably priced. We were offered drinks/fruit in reception area on arrival. Nice touch. The breakfast was good; cereals, breads, cakes, croissants, cold meats/cheeses, fresh fruit even oranges and a juicer for really fresh OJ. The aircon was a god send as it's been blisteringly hot all week. We were only here for a weekend celebration and not to do too much touristy stuff, so the cool room was heaven. It's close to the metro (not too noisy though) so easy to get into Porto, if it's not too hot you can walk to the bridge in 30 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zookro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with ClipHotel.
Your opinion is extremely important for the improvement our our services.
Our guests satisfaction is our main goal

We look forward to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed as 2 couples and we were very impressed.
We were welcomed as we booked in and told about the lounge area with fresh fruit, tea and some cold drinks available free for guests, coffee at a very reasonable price.
The breakfast was terrific, fresh tasty fruit and plenty of choice.
Our rooms had space, we could actually move comfortably around in them (a rare thing in Europe). They were clean, simple and comfortable. The WiFi was excellent, it worked in our rooms and had good signal strength.
The location was perfect, and an easy walk, following the tram tacks to the river. Right next door we found a snack bar/restaurant that had beautiful Portuguese food that was incredible value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebert46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing ClipHotel and for spending your time sharing your opinion.

We are very pleased with your satisfaction and we hope we can welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards from all our staff

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed there in September of 2011. Just needed a decent affordable place to spend a couple days in the area. The rooms were simple but VERY clean. Staff was very professional. The hotel is just steps away from public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us.
Our guests feedback is essential for us to improve our services.
We are very pleased with your experience and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards from all our staff

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here as a family for 4 nights in May. The location next to the metro is quite convenient for getting about in Vila Nova de Gaia and Porto. It's also close to the high-way for those with a car wanting to go further afield.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not very big, but are cheerfully furnished very clean. For breakfast there is a reasonable selection buffet which is kept well-stocked till the end.
All in all a very good experience

Room Tip: Low-numbered rooms are on the front of the building and get a bit more noise form the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eelco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent writing this review.
Your opinion is essential for the improvement of our services. All our guests opinions and suggestions are very welcome.

We look forward to receiving you in a near future.

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Everything you need for a city stay. The rooms are basic but very clean, staff were helpful. Adequate breakfast with good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Well positioned with metro 2 minutes walk away but it is easy to walk into Porto over the bridge which has spectacular views from it!
We would stay here again.
Only downside to staying in Gaia is the lack of restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was on the eight floor so we had good views, lifts are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClipHotel, Sales Executive at Cliphotel Gaia Porto, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing ClipHotel and for sharing your opinion.
Our guests feedback it extremely important so we can improve the quality of our services.

It was a pleasure to receive you and we hope we can welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

ClipHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vila Nova de Gaia hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
#8 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#10 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliphotel Gaia Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliphotel Gaia Porto

Property: Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Address: Avenida da Republica 1559, Vila Nova de Gaia 4430-205, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#6 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#6 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliphotel Gaia Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Cliphotel Gaia Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliphotel Gaia Porto Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Cliphotel Gaia Porto Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing